We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
27
15
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
15
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish creek ice cream ice truck min drive new york boat rentals restrooms trailer firewood campers sites camping privacy ducks kayaking bundle woods
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here. When you turn off the main road you have to drive through Fish Creek Pond campground to get to Rollins. This is about 2 miles and takes about 20 minutes. Unlike other campgrounds there are no loops, the sites follow the contour of the pond so you are either on the water or across the street.We found out that to get the best experience, it's best to get a site on the pond side of the loop. You can keep your kayaks there, sit in the water, use floating stuff or whatever. Those sites go quick so reserve early. There is no power at the campground and there is one shower house. There is a restroom about every 10 sites and they are old and it's a gamble if there is soap at the sinks. They aren't dirty though nor do they smell bad. The pond is awesome for kayaking and canoeing and there is a place in the campground that rents pretty cheap. If you don't want to leave the park, there is a truck that comes around with ice, firewood and even an ice cream truck. This place allows pets and it got a little annoying with barking sometimes. There was one site that got complaints and the campground responded in reasonable time. Once you are out of the campground it's a short drive to Tupper Lake, Lake Placid or Saranack. Overall I like Rollins, the only thing that bothered me a little was how fast people drove on the narrow road.

Room Tip: For a beach, check out sites 70, 72, 145 or 146.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EddyD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

This was our first time camping at Rollins Pond. Be prepared when you pull off the main road to get to the Campground, you first have to drive thru Fish Creek Campground at site#134 you turn onto the road that leads to Rollins. The speed limit is 15 mph and rangers were along the road with radar guns not that you could go much faster than that with all the kids on bikes along the road in Fish Creek. Both Campgrounds are large, Rollins was much nicer. We were in site#227, it literally took us more than 15- 20 minutes every time we drove out to the main road to go anywhere. You have to drive almost back to Saranac for groceries, gas, etc. In the evening, an tiny ice cream house came thru the campground and in the morning a truck selling ice would come through as well as a truck renting kayaks, canoes.

Our site was nice although our fireplace was right up against the next site, so not much privacy. It was easy to access the lake from this site. Boat rentals are available. The lake is large and clean. Nice kayaking available, we did a long loop leaving the lake at the far end thru a small stream then entering Floodwood Pond then onto Little Square Pond and Cooperas Lake. At the end of Cooperas Lake, there's a canoe carry approx. 1/3 mile to Whey Pond from the far end of Whey Pond there's a short carry across into Rollin's Pond by the boat rental. It was a great day of Kayaking. Loons are abundant as well as ducks.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cjhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

First off let me preface this by saying that we camp 3 or 4 times a summer and have for several years. We always stay at a varying state parks in New York, rarely returning to a previously visited park. So I have some experience with the different parks in the region. With that said I can definitively say that Rollins Pond is an AWESOME campground.
85-90% of the sites are on or very close to the lake as there are only a few sites that are on the opposite side of the road. The campground itself is very wooded with very little to no open lawn anywhere. Most sites are level and have great views of the lake. Some sites are closer together than others. While none that I found offer complete privacy, there are several that are very nicely spaced apart so you don't feel like your right on top of your neighbors.
All sites are tent worthy. Most are camper worthy, though there are no electric sites available.
The lake itself is sweet. No power boats are allowed at the campground. There are some private camps on the lake and they do use some power boats, but we're all very polite and accommodating to kids in canoes.
There are a couple islands located in the lake that are fun to explore too.
While there is only one shower facility, it is large and clean.
The staff is awesome. Particularly helpful when it came to firewood. Being that you can't transport wood over 50 miles in New York to prevent the spread of insects, you are required to purchase wood near your campsite. They do sell wood there that is kiln dried. It is expensive and burns up in no time. The staff actually discourages this and recommends local wood vendors that are not far from the campground. I took their advice and got much better wood for a much more reasonable rate. Awesome staff!
If I had any complaint about the campground it would be this, and it's not even a complaint as it is just something to note. You have to drive through fish creek pond campground to get to it. Once through fish creek it's 2.5 miles to rollins pond. All at 15 mph. Granted we were near the end of rollins, but from our site to the main road leaving fish creek was a 30 min drive.
We had planned on driving to do some hiking, but as the hiking was 40 min from the campground it didnt seem advantageous to drive that far to hike.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank taylorlover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Nearby fish creek seems a little busier and at times crowded together. Was a beautiful lake they're on though!

Rollins pond, gorgeous, quiet as no motorized boats, sites on water, though ours was a little obscured from view some were just gorgeous. Plentiful bathrooms.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank skhill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

If you like space, go to Rollins and not Fish Creek. Actually can't believe some people choose Fish Creek over Rollins. Family of 4 and two Shih Tzu's dogs. Rollins Pond site 123 was a beautiful site with big tall trees that shaded 80% of the site. We brought a 12' trailer that we were able to back down the hill easily. Plenty of room between neighbors. Kayak right from your site. Bathroom right by site, showers you have to drive to. Here are a few pics. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LostDogs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews