We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy small hotel in a beautiful countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cozy small hotel in a beautiful countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed here several occasions over the past few years, something just keeps bringing us back. The rooms are clean, up-to-date, and spacious, and the beds are wonderful. The service is second-to-none, the staff are responsive, courteous, and attentive. It's proximity to the superb Longfellow's restaurant just a few dozen yards away makes this a great romantic retreat. Plus, it's near the cute town of Saratoga, as well as near the famous Saratoga Springs horse racing tracks, as well as the historic Saratoga Springs National Battlefield.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor, it's a tad noisy when people are above you when you are stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    96
    21
    4
    13
See reviews for
79
200
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Took a group of 16 guys for a bachelor party weekend in Saratoga. We had 3 suites and one regular room, which easily accomodated our group. The staff was very helpful throughout the reservation process and during our stay. Rooms were mostly very clean, and the cleaning staff did a great job cleaning up after our big group. The only thing we noticed was in one of the bathrooms, there were spiderwebs/cobwebs in every corner of the bathroom so it seemed as though it hadn't been cleaned thoroughly in quite some time.
The front desk helped us out alot, from setting up taxis to organizing trips into Saratoga in the Longfellows van. Free breakfast each morning was a big hit with the group, much better than most free breakfasts that hotels offer.
Great location, close enough to the track and downtown without paying the premium race season prices. We would all stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bpassineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just there for the first weekend in August 2011. It was the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in for a weekend and we usually get suites wherever we go. It was a king loft, living room setting downstairs and a loft king bed upstairs. We thought it interesting at first. They had a wedding going on Friday night which the king lofts are in the same building as the restaurant. After being accosted by drunks outside smoking from the wedding I listened to them all night long. A couple next to us fought most of the night until about 5 am. Even upstairs in the loft sleeping they were audible. I did not call the front desk. One thing I never heard was anyone's TV's just the loud voices. Screaming coming from people at a party Saturday night as they came through from the restaurant. Saturday I wasn't in my room from 10 am until 11:30 pm. Came back from dinner put my TV on and a matter of 5 minutes the front desk was calling saying my tv was too loud. Which was on level 4 and the level went up to 50. I was totally pissed! I was told that if someone is sleeping in the next room on the sofa bed pullout without any air or heat on, you could hear everything going on in the next room. At $350.00 the walls should be a little better insulated. The mattress was a bed that acted like a trampoline with every spring being felt. No room services and remotes that did not work for the tv's that were traditional tvs. The ice machine was on the first floor and we were on the second and I walk with a cane which was hell. Not enough handicapped parking and it was far from the building. People would open the emergency doors on the 2nd floor and smoke out of them which stunk up the hallways and rooms. No shade for the skylight right over the bed. Save your money and go somewhere else!!! PS Cleaning room staff tips are included on your bill automatically whether they do a good job or not so unless fabulous save your money!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for one night in July 2011, to have a nice "couples" weekend up in Saratoga. While this place is pricy, we loved it. For the area, we expected to pay a bit more than our usual hotel stays, so we weren't surprised by the high price tag. Anyway, the staff were so friendly in both the hotel and the restaurant. Our room was spacious and clean. I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about when they discussed heating and cooling - our room had the high and low setting, but there was also a thermostat to adjust the temperature to whatever you wanted. Our room was cooled to a super comfortable temperature and we had no problems.

The bathroom was huge, and we had a jacuzzi tub that was super relaxing. The shower was great and spacious (room for 2!) and had great water pressure.

The restaurant here is unbelievable - their food was amazing, and the prices weren't that bad. Expect to pay about $50/person if you do drinks, appetizer, main course, and dessert.

The complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning was great! So much better than your typical holiday inn, etc.

Overall, we loved this place! The decor and atmosphere is great, the room was great, and the staff was awesome. We'll be coming back here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geologygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I would only recommend this hotel to individuals who are looking to over pay for sub-par accommodations. We attended a wedding reception in the “Courtyard” at Longfellows. The reception was lovely and the food fantastic, however, our stay in the hotel was horrific. A number of our friends stayed in the rooms attached to the hotel- the decor is outdated, the rooms are dingy and the bathrooms are old and in need of repair. We stayed in the other building which although much newer, was very poorly constructed. The tiles on the bathroom floor popped under your feet as did the shower stall. The caulk around the bathroom was dirty and peeling, the walls were sticky, and the door to the bathroom hit your knees as you sat on the commode- a very poor design. The air conditioning in the room only had a HI/LO setting consequently, we were either freezing or sweating. Moreover, the floor would have been more comfortable than our King size bed. In fact, my Husband and I had such a poor night’s sleep we got up at 7am and checked out to drive home! To add insult to injury, after the hotel charged our credit card for the full stay at the time of booking (90 days before our stay-an almost $400 charge), then they had the audacity to charge our credit card again upon check-in for any “incidental expenses” which we might incur (as opposed to simply settling your bill at check-out). I wouldn’t stay at Longfellows again if you paid me. Next time, I’ll go down the road to the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel, Qc, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great place, fresh air, nice rooms, and what a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Review is based on overnight stay and attendance at a wedding at Longfellows. We came a day early and reserved the lower level suite at the Inn. Rooms were exceptionally clean and large. For $300 a night, we would have expected a few upgrades- two ply toilet paper and a newer mattress. The mattress must be from day one when this place opened. Absolutely no comfort! Don't plan to sleep much since you will hear the guests in the next room and all the mechanical equipment outside. The biggest surprise (or disappointment) was the "deluxe complimentary breakfast" that included coffee/juice and a few muffins. Definately not a bargain for the price paid.

Anyways, the wedding was awesome. Food was very good and service was adequate. Lovely atmosphere and very well maintained.

Would recommend....

Room Tip: Call directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
5.7 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
5.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
5.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
5.0 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Property: Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Address: 500 Union Ave., Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in making the everyday exceptional; providing outstanding service; and offering an experience you will treasure. Located one mile from the Northway, we are nestled on the countryside just minutes from downtown Saratoga and away from the hustle and bustle. We pride ourselves on offering a relaxing, stress-free environment where we get to know our guests by name. We’ll take care of your dinner reservations, shuttle you to and from town and remember your favorite paper. We offer spacious guest rooms, luxurious lofts and executive suites with numerous amenities to provide all the comforts of home. At our adjacent restaurant, you’ll enjoy award-winning cuisine and a wine list that’s earned Wine Spectator’s recognition for over eight years. Please be advised that menu items and prices are subject to change based on market prices and at Chef's discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, Hotel Saratoga Springs
Longfellows Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing