We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean lodging at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I decidec at the last minute to visit my son at Skidmore College and to my delight I found the Downtowner where my room was clean, at a great downtown location and warm, helpful staff.
I look forward to going back.

SR

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've stayed at the Downtowner a few times, now and it is a good value. It's clean and it's in a great location. The amenities are basic, but the place feels well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. There is not enough parking, so be prepared to find parking elsewhere, but we've never had a problem finding a space close by. It was one of the worst showers I've ever experienced, but that was my only real complaint.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Needing to make a quick trip to Saratoga, I was looking for a clean, low rate place to stay in the downtown area. The Saratoga Downtowner was perfect. This is a well maintained motel style facility right in the heart of the city. The rooms, baths, and public areas are clean and offer all of the basic amenities expected for a comfortable stay. The front desk is manned 24 hours and the attendants on duty during my stay were very personable and enthusiastic when answering my questions and providing assistance. They have an informative website ... check it out. I would stay at the Saratoga Downtowner again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We've stayed at the Downtowner every time we visit Saratoga. It's situated right in the heart of the city and a quick stroll to all our favorite spots. The owners are hospitable and make us feel right at home. They share our love of dogs as all in Saratoga do.

Thank you Mary Kay and staff!

Room Tip: We personally like the rooms facing Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I used Hotwire for a one night stay in Saratoga Springs. I had never been to Saratoga Springs, so I didn't know what to expect. I was so pleasantly surprised by this place. It has a great location on the main street, right in the middle of the shops and restaurants. It is not a new, modern glitzy hotel, but it is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff is terrific. I had what I thought was a problem with a lock and when I went to the front desk, someone came with me back to my room. Any question I had was immediately addressed - unlike many hotels I have stayed in, where you could wait forever for someone to help you. There is an indoor pool area with tables so you can bring in food and eat if you choose not to eat in a restaurant. There is a small continental breakfast with pastries, bagels, croissants and really good coffee. If I was staying for a few days, the only thing I wish they had was a small refrigerator in the room and maybe a microwave. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If outside noise bothers you, you might want to request a room that doesn't front the main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsRondette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The rooms were from hunger. This motel smack dab in the middle of Saratoga Springs couldn't have been more convenient, and the staff was very nice, but the rooms were seriously uncomfortable - cheap, uncomfortable mattresses, serious dust behind the beds and nightstand, rusty fixtures in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Downtowner for a family weekend and had a great stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great and affordable way to enjoy a ritzy Saratoga weekend. Our daughter loved the pool too! A nice addition to a cute hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,531 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#16 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
546 reviews
0.7 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
791 reviews
0.5 km away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
75 reviews
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $92 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It plans to reopen in the Spring of 2018. The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitschy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing