We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Definately worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Batcheller Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Beautiful rooms , friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. We would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric12302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
158
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We are locals who take "backyard vacations" at Batcheller Mansion twice a year; once with friends from Boston and once alone. The fact that we have had this tradition going for 3 years is itself a recommendation. We've stayed at perhaps a dozen B&Bs from Virginia to Hawaii and Batcheller Mansion is at the top of our list. The property is architecturally unique having been built to order by George Batchellor in the 1870s. Dan, the innkeeper, and his team will gladly show you around and explain the history of the house and the Batchellor family. They all do seem to love their jobs and the house and that makes for a warm and comfortable visit.

Over several visits, we and our friends have stayed in most of the rooms. Each is fabulous from the smaller rooms to the Grant, which has a full sized pool table. You will find luxurious bedding, pillows, and lots of fluffy towels in all rooms. The common rooms are welcoming and far from a "hands off the antiques" attitude we have experienced at some B&Bs, here the house is meant to be enjoyed. There is even a piano with a sign on it inviting those with the skill to play. The entire house is spotlessly clean (thanks to Michael) and perfectly maintained with period details and modern conveniences. A minor issue reported at breakfast was being addressed before we even finished our meal.

Ah, breakfast! Scones are light, not too sweet, and subtly flavored based on season and presumably Dan's whim. Blueberries are a frequent addition to the scone batter but we enjoyed pineapple coconut on our last visit. Don't miss Dan's blueberry stuffed French Toast: the filling is creamy and the blueberry flavor comes through but the stuffing does not overwhelm. His hot mulled apple cider is a perfect accompaniment. My husband prefers an omelet with everything. Again, Dan hits the mark. All flavors are clear and present but nothing is over the top.

In fact, that is the best way to sum up Batcheller Mansion: subtle elegance that whispers perfection so that you notice nothing but the fabulous relaxing time you are having.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

What a gem - a beautiful mansion in a gorgeous setting. We adored the breakfasts - plenty of choice and Dan was there to cook his specialities. The rooms on the ground floor were perfect for relaxing. Our bedroom was immaculate and so comfortable.
Couldn't fault the service and hospitality. Restaurant recommendations were perfect for us - we walked everywhere so did not have to take the car and could enjoy a bottle of wine with our meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jambobwana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Exquisite! Beautifully furnished and spotlessly kept, with the loveliest innkeepers (Dan and Chelsea) you will ever meet.

Breakfast is divine and the scones are so delicious, they will make you cry.

I highly recommend the tea, tour and book event (held monthly). The history guides, dressed in period attire, tell the fascinating tale of the house and its previous owners. And the tea at the conclusion is scrumptious. Enjoying very many lovely little delectables fireside in the library of this spectacular home was fantasy-fulfilling. (A little Downton Abbey in Saratoga Springs.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolvigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saratoga springs, new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

BEAUTIFUL property right in downtown Saratoga Springs! When I think of B&B's, often I think "creaky furniture and homey"... Not so, Batcheller Mansion. Furnishings were beautiful, bed super comfortable, and lovely linens. Dan, the innkeeper, makes a terrific breakfast and will provide a tour of the whole place with lots of tidbits of history. We will be back...

Room Tip: When we toured the other rooms at the end of our stay, it really seemed like there wasn't a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Batcheller Mansion is everything I love about antiques - beautiful, interesting, and full of history. The front desk clerks are helpful, effient, and knowledgeable - taking the guests on a tour of the facility and providing colorful insights into the history of the mansion. Every room, every piece of art, are unique and interesting. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and inviting. Food, cooked to order, is generous and quite delicious. Definitely my new favorite!

Room Tip: There's no bad one! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kohlerrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Every year my sisters, Mother and I stay at the Batchellor on the evening after Christmas and every year we are again pleased and overly satisfied with the accommodations. We always leave with wonderful memories of our stay and while always enjoying with wonderfully decorated main rooms, salon and bedrooms. Superb service and food! It is by far the best B&B in Saratoga. Absolutely delightful and beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.0 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.3 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Property: Batcheller Mansion Inn
Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing