We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but showing signs of wear and tear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Gables Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you are looking for the Saratoga Springs historical experience this place delivers it. A charming old Victorian big on charm but with some wear and tear you wouldn't find in modern boutique hotels, it's very much a reflection of the town it's in.

It's saying something that even though there were window blinds completely missing on one window in our room and the bathrooms are very dated and not in good way, think 1980's not 1880's the overwelming charm our room, the downstairs with it's two fireplaces that were lit every day and the fresh baked cookies in the evening as well as a nice breakfast in the morning made up for the discomfort.

If you like Victorian charm more than luxury beds and are ok without flatscreens and modern features then this is a great place to stay. .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averagejoe2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Union Gables Mansion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Union Gables is a beautiful place in a prime location, but what makes it truly special are the hosts. I was treated like family from the moment I arrived. The location is perfect for walking to the track and sales grounds. The rooms are are spacious & the huge front porch is an added bonus for relaxing & socializing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Union Gables Boutigue Hotel in beautiful Saratoga. As I approached the sprawling front porch, I noticed a few of my colleagues completely relaxed and taken in by the true majesty of the property and comfort. Naturally i joined them after touring the beautiful first floor. I had the pleasure of staying in the only room on the first floor which was perfect. The room was gorgeous and very large, with a beatuful double roomed bathroom, extra large as well. The room had an Historical touch with all of the modern conveniences needed, one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The continental breakfast was refined and elegant, perfect for a trained palate. I woke up to the smell of fresh baking scones in the kitchen just behind my room, amazing. There were fresh cured meats and artisian cheese, fresh coffee and tea, fresh squeezed juice and delicious ripe fruit. Our Hosts Artie and Dan were truly accomodating, professional and pleasant. I highly recommended this Hotel and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoveWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I were the only guests during our mid-week stay. We were treated like family and made to feel very comfortable by Ardie and Dan. All the rooms are well decorated and the house is reminscient of the early 1900's. We enjoyed our stay in the "Bill" room which has a small balcony attached. My only negative comment was the street noise during the night. Otherwise a great experience. The lovely large wraparound porch with the fountain was quite relaxing as well as the lovely gardens.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want a room towards the back of the house.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRITS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our hosts, Ardy and Dan, keep this old house in wonderful condition. They serve a delicious continental breakfast comprised of French bread, fruit, cheeses, marmalade, hard boiled eggs, etc. served in the spacious living room. The pool table plays true, although I'm not very good at it. All the other guests were very nice, too. I guess they only attract the best of humanity.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronzolizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Union Gables was home-away-from-home as we celebrated the marriage of our daughter on September 17, 2011. The new Inn keepers, Ardie and Dan made our entire family feel comfortable and welcomed. The decor is beautiful, the location is perfect, the continental breakfast was creative and satisfying. Our gracious hosts have us looking forward to another stay in the near future!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

my family and i stayed in saratoga for the last weekend of my children's summer vacation. we stayed in the cindy room which included a lovely personal screened in balcony which was frequently used by us. the breakfast was SUPERB; great healthy, wholesome foods for myself, husband, and daughter...even offered pop-tarts and children's cereal for my 5 year old twin boys. the inn keepers were incredibly accommodating and friendly and really went the extra mile for us- making dinner reservations and recommendations for fun family activities in and around beautiful Saratoga Springs. maid service was awesome as well, every day we came back to a clean bathroom with new towels and freshly made beds. the room was quaint and perfect for the family, providing the perfect amount of privacy for us adults. plus, the family dog was allowed to accompany us this trip because they are pet friendly. WORTH EVERY PENNY. don't bother booking anywhere else, union gables delivers.

Room Tip: cindy room is great for families
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
593 reviews
2.7 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,194 reviews
0.6 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
837 reviews
1.0 km away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,272 reviews
0.6 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Mansion Inn

Address: 55 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $222 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' for the past six years in a row. Beautifully preserved, romantic hidden gem of the past from the Victorian era with modern comforts of gas fireplaces, heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guestrooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and complimentary wine, appetizers and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front porch and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Some pet friendly rooms available, and Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. Inquire about our sister property of Suites at the Alexander House for Track rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Union Gables Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing