We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are already planning for our return trip!”
Review of Union Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our stay at the Union Gables Bed & Breakfast was FANTASTIC! This year it was chosen as the #1 place to stay in Saratoga. Hosts Tom & Barbara have done an excellent job in transforming this 1901 era Victorian mansion into a charming, warm and inviting destination. The property consists of the main house with nicely appointed rooms along with an assortment of other cottages on the property surrounding lush beautiful gardens and water features. We stayed in the POND COTTAGE which had its own private patio situated next to a small pond. It was great to sit and relax while the soothing sounds of bubbling water filled the air.

The breakfast here is perfect. On the weekends, guests are treated to the artistry of local legend "chef Steve" as he personally prepares anything you want. I like to eat light at breakfast and he made a simple egg and cheese sandwich with bacon and sausage extraordinary. His service was second to none!

The location is perfect. We brought our bicycles and pedaled to everything and it is walking distance to both the world class Saratoga Race track and a super vibrant downtown. Saratgoga Springs has it all and when you come to visit you must stay here.

Room Tip: If you have a larger group make sure you ask about the cottages on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Normally, the idea of a B&B is one that intrigues me but also makes me hesitant to stay, since it often feels like I'm intruding upon someone else's home. But, that is NOT something to "worry" about with Union Gables.

Our room was lovely -- it was the Bruce room, which has a great Adirondack feel. And, Union Gables allows dogs, so it was nice to have enough space in the large room for my well-behaved Cairn to enjoy a weekend with us!

The staff at UG is accommodating, welcoming and willing to go above and beyond to ensure your comfort. The breakfasts were full of variety -- eggs, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal and coffee/OJ/milk.

The details of the B&B are Victorian, yet comfortable. The historic beauty of the house is preserved by the owners/staff and the gardens are delightful and beautiful. The location is great for a nice walk and/or short drive to the attractions/restaurants on Broadway and beyond.

My boyfriend and I stayed in the autumn and it was the perfect time to enjoy the crisp fall air, leaves and fresh air. I would highly recommend staying here if you ever find yourself wanting to get away, but not go too far!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay. I don't usually stay at B&B's because I feel like I'm imposing in someone's home, but that issue was mute since myself & 2 friends stayed in a 3 bedroom/3bath cottage on the property. This was very comfortable & only steps away from the main house, a restored grand Victorian treasure.
Care has evidently been lavished on this property as evidenced by the lush, magnificent landscaping. The location was perfect, ~ a mile to midtown & only 3-4 blocks to the racetrack, no need to drive anywhere unless you choose to. Cook to order as well as continental breakfast available, as well as wine & beer throughout the day. Hosts / owners were very friendly without being obtrusive.

Room Tip: Of the 3 bedrooms in the cottage, only the main bedroom is suitable for a couple ( large room, bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is the most beautiful grounds in the area. The main guys running it are very knowledgeable but some of the help was not. Most comfortable bed and warm cookies in the evening. No "made to order breakfast" on weekends. They could upgrade the coffee. Ask about the rooms for longer stays they are not shown online. I would stay again gladly and in2013 they will have a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We rented out the entire mansion for our wedding party and our families for the weekend. Everyone had nothing but great comments about the mansion and about the service. The location is great as well! We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kacie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I used Union Gables as a base to visit my relatives in Albany. It was a great choice. We were able to walk to a great italian restaurant for dinner (Capriccio's), Congress Park, and up to other restaurants and shops on Broadway. The service from Barbara was outstanding and Tom has done an amazing job on the gardens and the surroundings. The only drawback I had was that I like near total silence when sitting on a porch but this is a personal preference. I'm not into people-watching that much. During horse season the front porch would be a great people-watching spot.

We stayed on the 3rd floor in the Jody Room and it was well-appointed, and the bed comfortable (my wife is particularly sensitive about beds so she rated it very good). The Jody Room faces the east side of the house and overlooks the gardens which I found the quietest and the best view. The food was great (we had breakfast-to-order 3 out of 4 days), and the access to and from the interstate was less than 3 minutes. Be aware of the SPAC schedule if you are going to travel outside of town to Albany. The Beach Boys were playing the weekend we stayed and it completely clogged the Northway up before and after the concert.

We will definitely plan another stay. I will move down to the 2nd floor to the Kate Room which is directly below the Jody and a better appointed.

I highly recommend taking the train from Penn Station to Saratoga Springs, having Enterprise meet you at the station with a rental car, and then taking the train out to Albany or NYC when you leave. The train trip up the Hudson was gorgeous... About 4 hours from Penn to Saratoga.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east side of the hotel facing the side yard gardens seem to be the quietest with the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uursamajor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I decided to visit Saratoga for a romantic weekend and thankfully found this charming Inn which was centrally located to SPAC and downtown Saratoga. Upon arrival we were greeted with warm cookies and our host gave us a quick tour of the Inn and guided us to our room. We stayed in the Bill Room which overlooks Union Avenue. Our room was very comfortable, clean and romantic! We took a five minute walk to downtown Saratoga for dinner (loved the walk!) and stopped to see the famous Carousel and do some shopping. The next morning we took a ten minute drive to SPAC, walked the grounds and had a romantic picnic in the park. We look forward to returning this fall!

Room Tip: Each room is unique from the pictures posted on their website. Looking forward to exploring differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
633 reviews
0.6 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
447 reviews
2.7 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
65 reviews
0.6 km away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#22 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
11 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Inn

Address: 55 Union Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $195 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' and Tripadvisor's Award of Excellence. Beautifully preserved, romantic Queen Anne style mansion with in-room fireplaces, heated outdoor pool, complimentary wireless Internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guest rooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Eight designated pet friendly rooms and suites. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front wrap around porch, and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Union Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing