We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We prepaid for a room with one king size bed and, upon arrival, found we had been given a room with two double beds. Were told this was the only room they had, which we knew to be incorrect because we had other members of our party staying there who were given a king bed on their double bed reservation. Rooms were antiquated, particularly the bathrooms. Biggest factor in its favor was that they played the out of town football game! If we revisit Saratoga we'll stay at the Adelphi or another of the Victorian hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    196
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
105
142
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel looks a bit dated from the outside but the Inside is suprisingly nice and updated. The rooms are big and comfortable and clean. Also the food we had was really good.

I stayed at the Hilton last summer and I thought the rooms here were way better.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I travel extensively both on business and pleasure, and have never been treated as rudely as I was last weekend while attending an event at Skidmore College. I had made reservations for two rooms for my family and I. I guaranteed them with my credit card, and when we showed up after a long day, were informed by the lady at the front desk that they didn't have a room for me, and it wasn't there fault. She was unapologetic and not the least bit helpful. When I called the general manager two days later she passed me off to the customer service person, who refused to discuss their mistake, referred me to an 800 number and rudely hung on me.
I have stayed at a number of fine hotels in Saratoga over the past few years, so happily there are lots of alternatives from the Holiday Inn.
Stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSCMarblehead_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Owner at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We disagree with this guest's discription of events. Despite having an issue with his reservations, the guest was accommodated with the 2 rooms he needed. One reservation was given a free upgrade and the other was given a 30% discount. Unfortunately these reservations were made off site and done so incorrectly causing one room to cancel out because the credit card was not attached to it. We make every effort to accommodate guests needs no matter where the error was made and did so in this case as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Arrived during wedding had no available parking. Staff very nice and helpful. Hotel needs updating. Great location but kind of pricey.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

good location!! friendly employees!
Will be back! We had good time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsn024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just returned from this hotel..was up there for a wedding, not at the hotel, but on a farm outside of Saratoga Springs. Many of the out of town guests like myself stayed at this hotel.. I am a Priority Club member.

The hotel is located right on the main street, very convenient to all of the amazing shops and wonderful restaurants in downtonw Saratoga Sprimgs. I was able to walk everywhere.

The rooms in the hotel appear to be recently renovated...it was a pleasant surprise to see such beautiful rooms. The bed was soft and cozy..carpet and furniture all looked new. A small refrigerator and microwave in the room was a nice touch.

The bathroom was very small..wished it would have been bigger. And there was no safe in the room- I always love when there is one. I used the safety deposit box in the main office.

The lobby was OK- clean but nothing fancy. The hallways of the hotel could use a bit of a makeover..they were clean but would have liked some updating like the rooms.

The hotel is not smoke free, but I liked the fact that the smoking rooms were all located on the first floor together, and not spead throughout the hotel.

The indoor and outdoor pool looked very nice, although I didn't use them.

I felt the price of the accomodations was a little high...we received a group rate for the wedding party, and still felt it was high. But there was so much going on in Saratoga this weekend, I guess they can get these rates. I am sure once the cold weather begins, the rates may go down.

The front desk staff was very cordial and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLadyLPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The last week end of the race track, I get it, expensive, but $400+ for a standard room, not even with breakfast, way over the top. At Least include something, robes, more that 3 thin bath towels???? Won't do that again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carold1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.3 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.9 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4253
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel Saratoga Springs is a full service hotel & conference center located in the historic downtown district of Saratoga Springs, a short walk to shopping, great restaurants & entertaining nightspots. We are close to all major attractions and within walking distance to the historic Saratoga Race Course and the Canfield Casino, Saratoga Spring's most popular wedding venue. Bookmakers Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers American cuisine as well as light offerings. Breakfast buffets are available during the summer months, on Sundays & Holidays. Banquet and meeting accommodations are offered for groups of 10 to 800 people in 6 spacious rooms. The historic Congress Park adjoins to the hotel property... ask about a park side room. Our indoor pool and heated outdoor pool complex is a popular favorite for families and sunbathers. Keep fit in our 24-hour exercise facility. Free high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms, Bookmakers Restaurant, all meeting rooms and even the pool areas! Our 24-hour business service center is open for coping, faxing, internet use and all business needs! We offer free courtesy van service within 5 miles of the hotel to our convention center, area businesses & attractions and the Saratoga Amtrak/Bus Station. Enjoy seasonal dining on our Broadway patio complete with firepit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing