We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B and B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Renwick Clifton House
Ranked #5 of 16 Saugerties B&B and Inns
germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class B and B.”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

From the moment Miriam greeted us at the front door, to our final good bye 3 days later our stay at the Renwick Clifton was perfect. The 1812 mansion retained the original charm and beauty and elegance that you would expect from that period of time. The 4 course gourmet breakfast, cooked by Eric, was unique and spectacular everyday. Our breakfast table was set with the finest China and the food was served by Miriam. The back porch view of the Hudson was beautiful. Our stay was quiet and peaceful and this is one location we would plan to return. Our goal was to see an evening play in NYC and visit Ellis Island, taking the nearby Amtrack was the only way to travel. Miriam and Eric are a genuine, down to team that are easy to talk to and offered suggestions about what to do in the area. Complimentary wine and cheese, unlimited coffee and snacks were available 24 hours a day. On the day we left, Miriam and Eric were decorating the front of the mansion for fall, a display worthy of a magazine cover. We plan to return in near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We are heading back to the Renwick Clifton House B&B in about 5 weeks....I am counting down the days. Days I get to spend with my husband, relaxing, taking in the country air, hearing the pretty music that plays in the Miriam's dining room as you enter for breakfast, snacking on Miriam's snack mix that she keeps in the table in the breakfast room, sitting on the back porch, hearing the birds, taking in the autumn scenery, the colors, the smell, the sounds....after a trip to the Renwick, I come home recharged, refreshed, rested and relaxed...sounds inviting, doesn't it?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalineLovesRoadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This mansion is gorgeous... each room is more striking than the next! The view from our room of the river was so nice. But, the best part was breakfast on the huge back porch overlooking the carefully manicured lawn and river in the distance. In the evening wine and hors doeuvres were offered, as well as snacks. Just a very classy place run by nice people!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaUtahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Renwick Clifton House is by far, the BEST B & B that Ulster County has to offer if you want elegance, great views, and authentic Hudson Valley atmosphere. Everything from the decor of the entire property, to the bed linens, to the back patio view of the Hudson, to the delectable breakfast, the owners dotted EVERY "i" and crossed EVERY "t". Each room is decorated with taste that reflects the time period-no gaude, just class. Wine and cheese is served late afternoon, and any wish is your command.
This place says 5 stars with relaxation in mind. Even the bathrooms are luxurious with marble tiles and jacuzzi tubs! Wow!

Room Tip: Stay in the Mary Powell room -the best!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Coming from the South we dont get to see much snow. We arrived in Saugerties during a blizzard. Miriam and Eric greeted us with a much welcomed cup of house made hot chocolate. Waking up at The Renwick Clifton House, after a winter storm, is a spectacular sight. The trees were covered in a fresh blanket of snow and the Hudson River was peacefully still. We even saw a family of deer moving through the woods right from our bedroom window. The gas fireplaces in the library and parlor made for a toasty winter's night and breakfast was a hearty delight.

While the travel was rough our stay at The Renwick Clifton House made it all worth while.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masonjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My husband have gone to the Renwick Clifton house several times now. It's like stepping back in time. Just beautiful! We love the breakfast, the view, the Mary Powell Room and even the owners! It's hard to get up and leave. Whenever we need a break from city life, we book a night or 2 at this B&B. I highly recommend. BTW the BEST scones you'll EVER have.

Mr and Mrs Roe

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinita1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Renwick Clifton house for our 1st anniversary and absolutely enjoyed every moment we were there. Usually I prefer other accomodations over B&Bs but this was Top Notch! Beautifully decorated, great hospitality, delicious food and very clean! The hosts were very attentive to my food allergies when it came to breakfast. We stayed in the Chancellor Livingston room which faces the rear of the house and grounds and was very comfortable. All rooms seemed to be beautifully appointed as we had the opportunity to peek into them since we arrived early. My husband and I spent some time in the cozy library reading and playing board games (they have a well-stocked supply of games and books for guest use). The location worked well for us, its very close to the town of Saugerties and short 10 minute drive to Woodstock. The hosts can recommend restaurants for you, and they also have a clip board with info on restaurants and things to do in the area (the restaurant Lucy's Kitchen was great). We are looking forward to going back when the weather is a bit warmer so that we can enjoy spending time on the deck in the rear of the house with the view of the river and a nice glass of wine!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcannizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.4 km away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
14.8 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
12.0 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renwick Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renwick Clifton House

Property: Renwick Clifton House
Address: 27 Barclay St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1905
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing