We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing during Hurricane Irene!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing during Hurricane Irene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My cousin's wedding was at the Glen Sanders on August 27. Hurricane Irene was due to arrive that night into the following morning so we knew we might run into some weather related issues. Despite this, the wedding was great. The space and grounds are beautiful. Food was really good and everyone had a great time.

A bunch of the family was staying in the apartments behind the mansion. The accommodations were great. Each apartment was a two-bedroom with a full kitchen, living room, lots of closet space, and a balcony.

The power went out the morning after the wedding at about 9am. Then we found out all the roads in the area were closed due to flooding and downed trees. The area behind the mansion was completely inundated and caused a lot of property damage. We were stuck there all day and ended up leaving the following morning.

The staff was AMAZING. I can't say enough about them. They comped our stay for the night we were stuck. The main building was running on backup power and they let us hang out in there so we didn't have to sit in the dark in the apartments. Then they even prepared hot food for everyone while we were waiting out the weather. They didn't have to do any of this. They had other events going on and went out of their way to make our situation more comfortable.

I hope they recover from the damage quickly because it was extensive. I wish them all the best and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    27
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
30
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This Inn is dated and rooms need to be better cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Above expectations in every way. The staff is as nice as can be,very accommodating,and it is absolutely beautiful.





  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daizy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn,NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Let's face it, this is a wedding hall/banquet hall under the guise of being an "Inn". This was the site of our wedding, and where we and our families spent a weekend, so there is much to cover.
Service:
We contracted well in advance, had regular contact throughout with the wedding coordinator. Never during that time were we told she would not be present the day of the actual wedding. We were first informed, when we showed up for the rehearsal/walk through and were introduced to her back up. As it turned out, the fill in coordinator was great, and even more accommodating than the original had been. However, it did create extra unnecessary stress and felt underhanded. People need vacations, however why weren't we told in advance or had previous meetings with the person who would be there when one of the things they were "selling us" was that the coordinator would be our go to person the day of. To go over specifics again the day before is unnecessary.

Service at the Inn-hit or miss, on multiple occasions.
After blocking rooms for our wedding, when I called to make reservations and gave the name, I was told there was no record of the blocking, they suggested I had the wrong date. After assuring them, that being the bride, I was pretty sure I knew the date of my wedding-it turned out, they blocked the rooms under the wrong year!

There are two "suites" at the hotel, so book early as it isn't unusual to have a wedding or reception in the afternoon another in the evening, etc...so multiple events are going on in a weekend. This led to me being unable to secure the suite until noon the day of the wedding, despite arriving the night before. I spent the night before in a below average hotel room that like others have commented on, had light bulbs that were burnt out, looked out on the parking lot, with dusty, blinds and showers that were dank and seemingly falling apart.

Having ya know, payed for a wedding, as well as being responsible for more than half of the rooms being booked at the hotel that weekend, imagine my surprise when I found out that my aunt and uncle had received a free "upgrade" to an open suite...while I was staying in a much less than stellar room. The next day, I had to start getting ready with my bridal party in this dark, broken, unlit room. We delayed the start of photos, so that we could have a better backdrop.

When we got into the suite, the difference was night and day. The place is two rooms, and newly decorated, but the colors are anything but neutral, which should really have been taken into account considering brides wanting "getting ready" photos.

At this point, we suddenly seemed to be payed attention to, after having been ignored till that point. We received wonderful room service of light snacks and drinks.

Disappointingly, we received little help maneuvering our many things out of the room the next day. In the hustle and bustle (and rain) we inadvertently left behind a sentimental hand made, silver necklace and some other belongings. It was realized within the day, and we phoned the hotel. We were assured they would look for it and hold it. Considering the cost of the place, I assumed the best of the staff, and felt confident they would call us back letting us know they had been found. We never received a call. Obviously there is a level of personal responsibility here, but quite frankly, we had just gotten married, and don't live locally, so we needed to carry a lot of things with us. We are avid travelers, and have forgotten items of less value elsewhere, and have always had prompt stellar service of the item being located, and either held, or shipped to us promptly. At Glen Sanders, there was never even a follow up courtesy call, despite us calling back a few times before deciding it was a lost cause.

One of the reasons we chose this place, was because we thought it would be nice to have a place to return on anniversaries. Instead, the service ranged from, "what was contracted for" to impersonable, to poor. We won't likely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

There is a very loud party going on one floor below, so we can't sleep. When we complained, the management said they would have them turn the music down, but nothing noticeable happened, and when I complained again, I was essentially told that I shouldn't be complaining because they supposedly had turned the music down, and that we would have to wait for the party to end.
Other negatives
1) poor room lighting
2) room on first floor facing parking lot offers no privacy when curtains are open. The only curtains are black-out curtains, so this contributes to the drab darkness of the room.
3) low-quality iron and hair dryer
4) very small bathtub
5) no extra outlets for laptop, cell phone charger etc (need to unplug one of the lights, and it's already too dark)
Positives: The hotel lobby is comfortable and attractive. The rooms are decently decorated and have comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Second Floor facing away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merritt4297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

When we were invited recently for a friend's birthday dinner, my wife suggested we stay the night after dinner. That was a great decision! Andrew Strauss, the Innkeeper was fantastic! The room was outstanding with a beautiful view, very clean and furnished quite well. Andrew really made us feel welcome and at home. Before our friends' party we had a couple drinks in the Maquas Lounge. This place is one of the homiest places to dine and have a few drinks that we've ever been to. Then it was onto the dinner party in Angelo's Tavalo. The party was in the Tasting Room. Several walls with wine racks and a warm atmosphere. The food was outstanding and the choice to party here was the right one. We left thismorning having had a great time and quite satified! Although it's only a short drive from where we live, I think we may occasion The Glen Sander's Inn more often.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Me and my husband stayed at a room at Glenn Sanders for our friends wedding on October 29th, 2010! This however, was not the first time we have stayed there, we also stayed in the suite on our wedding night in 2005 and again for our anniversary in 2010. All times our stay met all of our expectations. The room was immaculately clean, the bathroom was gorgeous and accomadating for two people. The room was a descent size where you didn't feel cramped. And the bed was awesome.......King size bed with down comformoter pillows and blanket. It was so comforatable, we got a great night's sleep for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotia
1.8 km away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 13 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.8 km away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#6 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
29.2 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion

Property: The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion
Address: 1 Glen Ave, Scotia, NY 12305
Region: United States > New York > Scotia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to visit for a wedding, family event, business trip or for pleasure, make yourself cozy at the Inn at Glen Sanders Mansion. The Inn at Glen Sanders Mansion is one of the finest hotels in the Schenectady area. Located just minutes from Proctors Theatre and close to all the major attractions in the Capital Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Glen Sanders Mansion Hotel Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing