We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
View of private drive leading to house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of private drive leading to house.
Front porch! Kitchen - fully equipped!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View of private drive leading to house.
Front porch!
Kitchen - fully equipped!
Kitchen and dining - double doors lead to sun room. Dining table expands to seating for 8!
Sunroom with wrap around windows.
Sunroom is a great breakfast nook or family game area.
Board games and toys for family fun!
1st Floor Bedroom
1st Floor Bedroom - spacious and comfortable.
Living Room: wood-burning fire place and cable TV
View of living room from upstairs balcony.
Upstairs hallway leading to open loft area
Loft area with king bed - Can be used as a relaxing reading area or an optional open bedroom!)
View from loft leading towards upstairs bedrooms
Upstairs 1st bedroom (from doorway)
Upstairs 1st bedroom
Upstairs bathroom - soap, shampoo, and all towels provided!
full-sized shower with tub!
Second upstairs bedroom
Lower level bedroom and play area.
Great spot for kids to play or read a book!
Lower level bedroom has Queen bed plus two bunk beds. Double doors lead to outside yard!
Desk and bunk bed area in lower level bedroom.
Mudroom
Backyard and fire pit!
View from yard towards house - badminton!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shandaken, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michaelan...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Cabin was perfect, plenty of room for everyone. Responsiveness of owners was great. Would definitely book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
1 review
“Great gateway in gorgeous cabin.”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Our first impression walking into the cabin was that it looks much better in person than in the online pictures, and it looked great in the pictures. Very cozy. The next thing we did was start to plan a trip here for next
year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbizier
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Family Thanksgiving”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had our family Thanksgiving at the Fox Den and it was perfect! It had ample space for everyone (we are a family of 7 adults and 2 little ones), was fully stocked with everything we needed, and was set in a beautiful quiet spot in the Catskill region. The owner, Sarah, was incredibly accommodating and answered any questions we had. There was even an error with the booking and she worked with FlipKey right away to fix it for us. The cabin is absolutely stunning. It was a real joy to stay here, I would highly recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How much space the place had!
Liked least: There wasn't too much going on the the towns surrounding the area but we did not drive to Kingston which I am sure had more shops/restaurants, etc.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a warm, comfortable, relaxing cabin experience with all the thoughtful touches
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BDeCaro
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Peace and quiet.”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the minute we got to the cabin we were in love. The cabin is absolutely beautiful inside and out. There was nothing we needed, everything was there. We even had a lovely bottle of wine and doggie treats waiting on the kitchen island for us. Nights by the fire pit and fireplace with a glass of wine was total relaxation at it's finest. I will absolutely book this cabin again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane Q
1 review
“Great Family Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a wonderful time in the Catskills at this location. Had all the amenities one would need when traveling away from home with young kids while still being tucked away in the mountains. Great location near a number of year round activities - hiking, fishing, tubing in the spring, summer and fall and close enough to a few great ski locations that a winter stay isn't out of the question either. The house, linens, dishes, etc - all clean and ready to go prior to our arrival. This really is a wonderful location managed by people who get it. I highly recommend Fox Den to anyone looking to slow down and get away from the rush of life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Living_In...
2 reviews
“Idyllic Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This beautifully appointed lodge was the perfect getaway my family was looking for to recharge and relax in the Catskills. This log cabin house was cozy, well-appointed and immaculately clean. There was a full kitchen with numerous amenities, a sunroom with lots of games and some of the most comfortable mattresses we have ever slept on. We have an infant and our hosts, Jack and Sarah, went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They also made sure there was a crib available in advance of our arrival. They were also in touch with us in case we needed any help and we felt like we were being treated like their guests. Jack and Sarah also provided us with a very detailed welcome package upon our arrival which contained a lot of useful information about the house, the surrounding area and local attractions .

We were especially loving the fireplace and the outside fire pit which we used every day. These added so much to our experience in the lodge.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning to the house in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and the comfortable beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing