We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The B&B was very comfortable and reasonably priced. The landlady was very agreeable. We were cycling and were invited to leave our bikes in the garage. Breakfast was great.

The only downside for some people would be that the B&B is a mile or two from the centre of the village of Skaneateles, so transport is needed to get in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plightfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

I had written a detailed review of the inn and typical of modern technology lost internet connection and all my text. So my rewrite in brief: In short, Sabrina was great, the location on the edge of town suited us very well, and was at a lower price than the 'conveniently located' inns closer to the center of town. Great breakfasts! And Sabina and my wife enjoyed swapping pet stories as the Inn's resident pup who's now up in years still makes his way around to greet guests. she even told me (as a bike who rode in) that while she didn't like the noise of motorcyles, that bikers were typically her neatest and cleanest guests :) I hope I met expectations! Lastly, the grounds are tranquil day or night, and the newborn fawn in the garden just made the stay extra special!

I have to question the 1 star rating of the guest from 2005: An arguing couple can ruin an evening at any hotel or B&B. Considering their individual component ratings, a 1 star review seems unfair. I also disagree with the 3 star rating questioning value. Hummingbird is one of the lower priced inns in Scanaetelis, but still with great grounds, rooms and amenities.

Some suggestions we left with Sabina: Ceiling fans would be a good addition. Although the inn has central air, on this warm humid weekend some air circulation in the room above the set house temp would have been good. Still - Sabina gave us a fan for the room and lowered the temperature a bit for our second night there! Also, considering it is wine country, I'd suggest individual refrigerators for each room as opposed to one shared mini-fridge for the entire inn. Guests should also be aware that if you chose a room in the font of the house that the occasional late night truck traffic on US 20 may disturb the lighter sleeper.

Those points asiide, I'd agree with our breakfast mate who has stayed at the inn 3 times.... deffiinitely a repeat if we're back in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hummingbird's last week and we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a crazy schedule as we were in the area for a family event and Sabina was very accomodating and easy to communicate with. The Lilac Room is very spacious, comfortable, and romantic - and not fussy! We met two families with children and another couple during our week's stay and every other guest was charming, intelligent, and good looking. Sabina, the hostess, is a friendly lady and we liked her. Her breakfasts are DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This is a great place! We stayed in the spacious and spotless, yet tastefully decorated, Magnolia room on the second floor. Sabina the innkeeper is very gracious and went out of her way to make sure our stay was pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and my husband and I plan on staying here again the next time we visit the area.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Jagged12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

For our 20th anniversary, my husband and I decided to go to Skaneateles and we are happy we chose the Hummingbird's Home as the place to stay. Warm, welcoming, comfortable and clean, everything we wanted in a B&B. Sabina was friendly and helpful and prepared us a great breakfast every morning. She obviously cares about her guests and tries very hard to make sure they have a great time while they are there. As innkeepers of a ten room inn ourselves, we have VERY high standards. It is hard staying at a place and not comparing everything there to what we would do at our own place. Sabina lived up to our standards in every way. Her home was spotless and provided us with everything we needed to feel as if we were staying with a friend. I highly recommend the Hummingbird's Home to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a comfortable, homely, Inn with a massive plus - a wonderful hostess and a great home made gourmet breakfast.
Stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKFOXY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

A truly delightful bed and breakfast! When we arrived, we were delighted to see that the Inn was even more beautiful than the photos on the website. Hummingbird's Home has a european elegance and charm. The Inn Keeper greeted us warmly and made us feel very welcome, helpfully recommending several wonderful restaurants in Skaneateles. We stayed in the Rose Room which was luxurious and tranquil. The gourmet breakfast in the morning was also superb and exceeded our expectations! We highly recommend staying at the Hummingbird's Home if you are visiting Skaneateles. We will certainly return many times!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KatjaGosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skaneateles hotels
0.8 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
734 reviews
2.4 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
2.2 km away
Lady of the Lake Bed and Breakfast
1.3 km away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4273 W Genesee Street Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9364
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range: $89 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable & elegant home in Skaneateles, village by the lake in Finger Lakes region. Offers warm and inviting atmosphere with gracious hospitality with European touch. Five beautiful rooms all with private baths. Wireless Internet Connection. Healthy & hearty breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing