We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A beautiful property, nice setting, reasonable pricing given proximity to Manhattan and wonderful staff. Wish I'd had an opportunity to enjoy the Fitness Center and pool. My King Study was roomy, very clean and maintained. The breakfast area was exceptional compared to all other Hamptons...high ceiling, tasteful decor and furnishings. It was a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Eel Seattle

I would like to thank you on behalf of our staff for staying with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our property and our service. We hope you felt like you were home away from home as we loved having you here. We do have a fitness center that is open 24 hours, and I regret you were not able to use it, maybe next time though. We also have extended our pool hours for the full week our pool is opened Monday-Friday 5pm until 10pm and Saturday-Sunday 9 am unftil 5pm. Hopefully the next time you come stay with us you will be able to experience these amenties.

Thank you for a great review and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    182
    76
    41
    25
See reviews for
334
128
55
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff was wonderful. The buffet breakfast was delicious and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Dlbi
Thanks for your great review! we have the makings of a great stay for the reasons you have mentioned, and it all thanks to staff they do a wonderful job of keeping every one happy. Thank again for your review and I will make sure our staff gets the credit for their hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My friend and I stayed here the last week of 2011 for New Year's celebrations and to see NYC for the first time. Having driven from out of town, this was an ideal location to stay. The location is in a very quiet, natural area. There is one upscale restaurant at the Hilton Garden Inn about 1/4 mile away, and that is about it for local cuisine. This location is only 20 minutes from the Staten Island Ferry station, which has secure parking for $7/day. With the ferry being free, this was a great hub for the week. Cost was the best of any hotel available one month ahead of New Year's. Beds are a little firm, but I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeeves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your kind response to our Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island prides itself on giving our guests the most enjoyable stay we can. Thank you again for your comments.

Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I travel frequently for both business and pleasure. I've had several recent stays at the Hampton on Staten Island and by far this is one of the best hotels for service, value and cleanliness. Everyone goes out of his or her way to make guests feel special. Rooms are spacious and super clean. The complimentary breakfast is terrific, the workout and business facilities are great.

Special recognition to Lisa in housekeeping, Carolyn, Ben, Nicole and Danielle at the front desk.

Kudos to the manager for assembling a great team. Thanks for a wonderful hotel experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, not on the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Mooline
Thank you so much for your great review! and I will make sure that all names you have mentioned gets a copy of this review. As it shows that all their hard work and hospitality has been noticed and very appreciated. We do hope to continue and build a staff that makes our guest feel such a great experience now and in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This place is the only hotel I have EVER stayed at that is consistently superior. Always clean, always friendly. I am very picky about cleanliness in hotels and this hotel is VERY clean.. always! The staff is very accommodating; always making sure you have what you need. Even the breakfast attendant came around and made sure everyone was okay. At the free breakfast! Which is a huge array of food! I have been to this hotel at least five times and it is consistently the same! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtreelover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Palmtreelover 40
Thank you for such a great review! Our staff is thrilled that we were able to make your stays most comfortable. We love having you here! is the Hampton motto and we are just excited that we were able to live up to the Hampton standards and yours consistently during your stay. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Came back home to find out that I had many bite marks on my forearms - watch out for bedbugs at this hotel. On top of it, the food delivered by the local restaurants is simply atrocious. Have switched to the reataurant at the Hilton next door and ieven this one it's a hit and miss. The worst has to be that I might have brought bedbugs home from this fine establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mardi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear mardi17,
First and foremost I would like to apologize for your experience here at our hotel. Bedbugs have definitely been on the radar especially here in New York for some reason. We do have the Island 's best pest control come out and check frequently just to make sure that this incidence does not happen. So far our reports have been clean with no issues found. I would love it if you can get back with us by calling 718.477.1600 and we can further discuss these bites you have noticed once you have arrived back home.

It is very unfortunate that we could not accomodate you with a satisfying dining experience at our sister property or a number of menu's that we have at our front desk. Should you decided to stay with us again, we could personalize our recommendations to suite your needs and hopefully that will bring about a whole new dining experience. Here in NY we do have to put a grade in a visible area for both any facilitie offereing food, given by the health department during inspections and our staff would be happy to go the extra mile finding you the restuarant that best suites your needs.

Again please give us a call so we can talk further about your stay, dining, and the bites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I recently got married on Staten Island and needed a place for some out of town guests to stay. I called the Hilton Garden Inn and spoke with Meghan Haring who helped me coordinate my entire experience. From setting up a website for my guests to book their rooms, to handing out my Welcome Bags, Meghan was an absolute pleasure to work with!
I didn't actually stay here the night of my wedding but my parents did and here's what my mom had to say about it:
"i believe i can say for everyone that they enjoyed their stay at the hampton inn.. we did not get any complaints. the rooms were comfortable and clean...the dining area for breakfast was roomy and there was a nice variety of food to choose from..also no one rushed us out so we were able to sit and chat with friends we hadnt seen in awhile..the bus transportation was on time but the bus itselfwas disappointing ...we couldnt see out the windows"...
I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great value for anyone to stay in, especially groups.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Lauren F
We want to sincerely thank you for your stay with us. Especially setting up a group for your family during the most joyful of days. We do wish you and your husband many years of happiness. We do hope to see you in the future and duplicate the same feeling your family had experienced. Rest assured we will get this information about the shuttle out to see what we can do to make the travel more visible and the ride more comfortable. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
349 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
1 reviews
2.8 km away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
362 reviews
5.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Address: 1120 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing