We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with even greater staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel with even greater staff.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is beautiful. It has one of the more spacious lobbies I have encountered in my travels along with a really nice koi pond with waterfall (my toddler enjoyed watching the fish). While this is a business hotel, the lobby was so large, with places to lounge and relax, families would possibly find it nice for relaxing and socializing in the evening in they have a large group. It also had a very nice bar and restaurant with prices that I felt were reasonable considering what hotel fare sometimes can go for.

The staff was always very pleasant and informative and everyone I met was happy and cheerful.

The rooms were immaculate with comfortable beds, LCD tv, fridge, microwave, and a European styled shower. One small perk, which for those of you with young children will know can be a blessing, was a coin operated washer and dryer. I found this very unusual for a hotel of this caliber yet can mean the world to parents with a messy child.

The only drawback is that the hotel itself is within walking distance of nothing. There is a diner that we enjoyed a short distance away along with a Wal-mart and grocery store within a mile if you forgot anything. The town of Nanuet is about a 10 minute drive and anything you wish store or restaurant wise can be found there.

Definitely consider this hotel if the price is right. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwb631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Wow!!! Thank you for the genuine comments regarding your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Suffern. My team and I are extremely proud of the hotel and always welcome feedback from our guest. I'm pleased to know your stay was a memorable one and the hotel exceeded your expectations.
When in the area, please keep us in mind for your next home away home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    144
    37
    12
    16
See reviews for
88
91
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stay at my fair share of chain hotels. I use Priceline a lot and I get a variety of brands in my travels.

The Crowne Plaza Suffern is the best hotel I've stayed in that isn't a resort...maybe ever. I'm not sure if it's newly refurbished or what, but it's amazing.

To start... the lobby is expansive and pleasing to the eye. The theme of the hotel is obviously modern. There's lots of whites, with fancy light fixtures. Huge ceiling fans that I've never seen before. It's great.

In the middle of the lobby is a large Koi Pond with a dozen or more huge koi fish. It was very cool to see. Next to the Koi pond is the Koi Lounge. A small little bar with open seating. We had a couple drinks there, it was serviceable.

The lobby has meeting areas and tables, and couches, and televisions everywhere. It's definitely a business hotel and its set up for multiple groups to be able to lounge in the lobby and discuss work.

The hallways also have modern lighting fixtures and truly reminded me of Disney World's brand new Bay Lake Tower resort. Once inside the room, the theme continued. New age chairs and a couch. It definitely worked.

The climate control performed as it should as opposed to most hotels now that let you play with a thermostat but nothing changes in your room. If you wanted it hot, it was hot. If you wanted it cold, it was cold.

There's really nothing negative I can say about the hotel except for two things.

1) If you're not a local looking for a quiet night away or 2) a businessperson working in Northern Rockland County, then I don't know why you'd stay in Suffern. There's nothing really to do. That's something to think about.

Finally, if you have a room on the interior of the hotel, your "window" will be facing a hallway. Not outside. Zero natural light in the morning (or any light at all) is really not conducive to waking up.

All in all, perfect hotel. I can't see it being 3 stars for much longer. It's obviously a 3 1/2 star place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outdoors, and if they're newly refurbished, make sure you ask for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Section1Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
WOW....thank you for the fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. My team and I appreciate the genuine feedback and rave review. It seems the Crowne Plaza Suffern created a warm memory and exceeded your expectations. Again, thank you and hopefully we'll see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
286 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

this crowne plaza was just recently renovated its a real masterpiece, an amazing lobby the staff are very helpful the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while visiting the Crowne Plaza Suffern. My team and I are extremely pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and provided a memorable stay.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Suffern!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I visited the hotel this week for business and it was very nice. I had an issue with the temperature in the room as it was really really cold. The staff there was awesome and they were able to help me sending a technician. They also called several times asking if I wanted to change my room or if there was anything else they can do to make stay even more enjoyable. They were FANTASTIC and made stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Wow...thank you for the geniune comments regarding your recent stay. First, my team and I sincerely apologize for the temperature issue but glad to know it was resolved. I shared your review with the staff and they were thrilled to know that their efforts were recognized.
Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Suffern!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I haven't stayed here since the hotel was renovated. I arrived the weekend of 12-10-11 for a night. I had reserved the room online, the desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The renovations turned out well the hotel looked good. I had a room on the second floor, the elevator was unheated and very cold inside. The room was very nice as was the bed. Everything was clean and fresh. The room was cold so I turned the heat on, the heat ran all night and never shut off, as it was just blowing out warm air and not hot air. That wasn't much of a problem once under the blankets anyway. The bar was nice, although I do miss the old bar, it was unique with it's bi levels. The hotel was not busy, there was no noise and I never even heard a door slam the whole night. The half shower wall in the bathroom was not a good idea because the water splashes all over the floor. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your favorable comments and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay. My team and I sincerely appreciate your business and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Suffern. All the best for a warm holiday and healthy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you're young and doing business in the Rockland County area, like an active late night bar, good Wi-Fi, and don't care that much about noise or room accommodation, this is the place for you. Access to the NYS thruway is excellent and downtown Suffern has an excellent Italian, Spanish, and Mexican restaurant within five minutes from the hotel. They allow dogs. However, if you need quiet for sleeping, a bathtub, a serious workout facility, and attentive staff, then NO, this is not your hotel. Put up my brother, an out-of-town visitor here, and thought the rooms were just average, and the ones facing the Atrium must be impossible with convention/party noise. Would make a decent large wedding space. So, you see, 50/50.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, request an outside - facing room. All suites face inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toughcritic40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Suffern for your brothers "home away from home" while in town and sharing his experience. Although the hotel is quite active I sincerely apologize for any uncontrollable noise issues. My owners and I are in the process of planning a hospitality area for late night guest furthur from the guestrooms which should resolve the issue.. Since all guestrooms have new European showers we are adding bathtubs to three guestrooms as of February 1st for those that request them. Again, my genuine "thank you" for choosing the Crowne Plaza Suffern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

COmmon area lounge/lobby is unbelievably loud in the evenings. Until at least 2 am people can be heard telling and partying in the common area. The music dj or bands from the banquet rooms also filter right in to your room. DO NOT Stay here if you are a lite sleeper and value a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuni71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
The Crowne Plaza Suffern team appreciates the feedback and sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience during your stay. Although most guestrooms do not face the interior lobby we try our best at controlling late evening noise. Our owners have been made aware of the issue and plans are being made to create a new sitting area furthur away from the interior guest rooms. Again, our sincere apology and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
4.2 km away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
4.7 km away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
10.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza, Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza, Suffern

Property: Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Address: 3 Executive Blvd, Suffern, NY 10901-4113 (Formerly Holiday Inn Suffern)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza, Suffern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffern Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center also known as the GEM of Rockland County is situated in a distinctive setting. It features 230 artfully renovated guest rooms and suites, Flagstone's Restaurant The Koi Lounge, a fully equipped 24 hour fitness center, and business center. It features the newest ballrooms in the county making it the perfect location for corporate conventions and meetings, weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, and social events. Whatever the reason for your visit to our hotel, you can enjoy the tranquility of our countryside surroundings with easy access to the excitement of New York City. Not to be forgotten would be a shopping spree at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, with over 200 stores to choose from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza, Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza, Suffern Hotel Suffern
Holiday Inn Suffern
Suffern Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing