We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cockroaches- room 318” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cockroaches- room 318”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

So initially this hotel seemed perfect for what we needed. We were looking for a reasonably priced room for just one night so we could travel into Tuxedo Park for the Forest of Fear. But we really didn't want a sleazy motel either. When we arrived the lobby looked nice and inviting. The staff barely talked but they were being berated by a man who was mad about the price (I noticed he didn't book ahead and was being charged a good deal more than we were charged). Then my friend and I decided to check out our room while my husband got our bags. What we found was room #318 crawling with roaches. As soon as my hubby got up to the room we sent him back down to complain. The staff acted very surprised (although according to other reviews this has been an ongoing problem) and quickly moved us to a room on the other end of the 3rd floor. By this point we were completely skeeved out but didn't know of any other hotels nearby and didn't want to spend loads more money. So we thoroughly inspected room #306 (had the hubby looking under the beds, in the closet, and behind pictures) and didn't find any bugs. So we ended up staying the night in 306 with our bags stacked on the ironing board just to be safe. In the AM we drove off to get breakfast from a diner rather than risk a free breakfast that might be contaminated by roaches. Yuck!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuttergirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    54
    59
    55
    52
See reviews for
103
50
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stopped here after a long night on the road. Only 2 hotels at this stop to choose from and we made the WRONG choice. Way over priced - $119 for 2 queens - very worn and dated. Front desk person was not very friendly and acted like we were a bother. Since it was so late and we had a small child and has been driving for 6 hrs straight we took what we could get.

Room had stains on the walls, shower curtain, pillows and bedding. Beds dipped into the middle and were hard at the edges. Bedding was ripped and stained. Floors were so gross we kept our shoes on the whole time. Floor in the bathroom was so slippery I ended up doing a split and almost falling down. The water in the shower was barely lukewarm. The door had 3 locked on it which didn't scream "safe area".

Elevator was so small we couldn't fit 2 adults, a child and luggage. However, Our room was quiet as it faced the back of the property.

There is a continental breakfast which has juice, bagels and mini muffins which we did not have. We just wanted to get out of there.

2 computers in the lobby but 1 was not working.

I would not suggest this hotel unless its a last resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysterie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Suffern hotels

Longueuil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Reading other review with same problem prompt me into reporting our experience.
Unfriendly staff.
We were sleeping one night transitting the Jersey shore.
Dusty lamps, smelly A/C,dirty furniture, questionable water pressure and drainage in the
shower and most of all multiple cockroach in bathroom and sink area found during the night.
Value was good but i'd rather pay a bit more if it was to make it clean and bugless.
We left very early in the morning and skipped the breakfast area for obvious reason.
We will not return in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 672Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Suffern Howard Johnson was conveniently located off of I 287. It was a good place for us to stay for a family reunion in Northern New Jersey. The rooms were comfortable with good beds and ample space. Our room was clean and well kept up with good A/C although the hallways seemed a little worn. A complimentary breakfast was included but we chose to eat breakfast at a nice Friendly's which was connected to the hotel lobby. The $62 per night price seemed very reasonable for the location and busy season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balto, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a nice hotel-to bad it had bedbugs. Double check the room and the bed before you stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MORMORPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbæk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We just had one night sleep and it was ok. Breakfast was good. the room was ok. there was clean but we had a cochroach in the room in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Looks like they renovated lobby and breakfast are. Hot breakfast is very excellent including scrammbled eggs and hot waffles. Breakfast area looks elegent. Room is nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NY391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.4 km away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
10.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Address: 17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Suffern 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern Hotel Suffern
Howard Johnson Suffern
Suffern Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Suffern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing