We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with wife”

Captain John's Restaurant & Tiki Bar
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Sylvan Beach
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

We were on the way to a 4th of July party we decided to have dinner before. We sat at the bar and ordered drinks. Served promptly and were great. We ordered Utica greens for an appetizer and the showboat for dinner which included broiled haddock, scallops and shrimp along with wild rice. Everything was delicious. Food was hot and Andy the owners son was spot on for service.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank ATMGUY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2017

The food is amazing! We stop here every time we are in Sylvan, in fact they catered our wedding 4 years ago and we come back every anniversary. The lobster bisque is the best! I've tried lobster bisque in Florida and Maine and Captain John's is still the best... My Granddaughter went with us this time and she loved it... Always great food and great service...

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CollyB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

Went on an Saturday evening. Appetizers were ok...steamed clams were good but the shrimp cocktail was a little disappointing....3 jumbo that did not taste fresh. Would not order that again. Ordered fried haddock dinner with one side and prime with lobster for 16.99. Food was good. Service was a little sketchy..nice but didn't come to our table when we were ready for a second glass of wine and she was obviously not busy..avoiding eye contact with our table. Cinderella's and the Spaghetti Factory are still our favorites at the Beach.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

The restaurant is over priced for the quality and taste of their food. The bread was cold and hard. I had the Tuscan Chicken and it was $20.99. The chicken was very bland and did not have any flavor at all. My husband had the NY Strip ($26.99)and he stated it was okay, but nothing that great. Neither meal came with soup or salad. Our waiter, Andy was very curt. He must of overheard us saying he was not very pleasant and he did try to be more friendly, but that did not last long. In watching the waiters and waitress they all seemed to very tense. Not really a nice dining experience and will not return.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank gerri624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

Ok..first the good: the prime rib/lobster special is a good thing, especially since the food was ok and the staff was open and polite also. So far..so good right?

The bad: I dined here with a party of 8, everyone was satisfied overall until we received the bill. Understand, we told the waitress that we would need 2 separate checks before we order our drinks, she understood who was responsible for who and what........

When we received the bills, we noticed that we "automatically" had the 20% gratuity added to our totals??......not 10%, not 15%.....but 20% on both checks...wait, wth??

So...we asked the waitress how and why did she choose what tip we were to give.....automatically?? The answer: we are a party of 6 or more and the 20% gratuity is "automatic" per table regardless if customers want to give this or not. "That's the way it goes", she said. BS!!!!

First of all, 20% of BOTH bills for A party of 6 or more is wrong. If this is "the law" then 10% from each bill would make more sense to total 20% of our party of 6 or more...I'm just saying.

Second: Captain John's overall is far from holding a reputation that would not leave a customer not to question the bogus "automatic gratuity" crap...Hell, people receive options of what to give in damn near any and every restaurant open for business. That place IS NOT that damn serious to issue out a "mandatory 20% tip" due to dining with 6 or more friends or family members. What if we hated to food, service or the dusty pirate decor? Really, get over yourself, time now. We paid the bill and gave the restaurant a total of $23 for the gratuity scam. We decided to go on and donate to the restaurant instead of making a complete scene.....we decided to report it. #blesstheirheart

INFORM your customers of the lame "policy" for ensuring your wait staff receive a little extra change on the side. Maybe they would receive more than 20% gratuity if you didn't force customers to "hook them..or you" up!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Ressiefoxx34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain John's Restaurant & Tiki Bar also viewed

 
Sylvan Beach, NY
 

Been to Captain John's Restaurant & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing