We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great”
Review of Days Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Utica
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had 4 couples traveling thru New York. We picked this hotel becasue it was on our way, close to the thruway, and a reasonable price.

We were very suprised at how nice it was. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, the shower was good (good preasure and plenty of hot water).

The breakfast was OK, the waffles were actually excelent.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artgamble711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

I thought I could handle four nights here since it was $50 cheaper than the Hampton Inn and it was recommended by a local resident, but I was wrong. He told me it was a newer hotel. Newer than what? It was run down. The room was decently clean which is the ONLY reason I didn't high-tail it out of there as soon as I walked through the door. The staff was ridiculously unfriendly and rude. The same man was at the front desk for three days straight in the same clothes, so I can imagine that he is the owner and trying desperately to keep his establishment afloat, but he needs help. The breakfast was a joke. There was barely anything edible. The coffee and the wi-fi were the only saving graces to the aminities this hotel offers. The local resident that originally recommended I stay here mentioned on my last day that they house the wards of the county at that hotel. I'm not sure who all this includes, but it is a little unsettling. The only way I would recommend you stay here, is if you are only staying for one night and really need to save money. I think I would have been able to stand it for one night considering it was decently clean, it was easy to park there, and next to the only decent restaurants in town. It was not quiet though. The walls are very thin between rooms. As far as staying for business, do not. There is only one computer to use that has a note explaining it is not for porn and there is no available printer. They gave me a hard time about asking them to fax things and making copies.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We recently stayed at the Days Inn in Utica. I've never stayed at a Days Inn before, but I'd like to think this is not typical. Our room was not very clean. There were foreign hairs in the shower/tub area. That alone is enough to make me never stay there again. The sheets were worn, the towels were old. This place needs an overhaul.

On the plus side, it was cheap- $73. Late night check in was very quick, less than 5 minutes. The staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nothing flashy or exciting about this Days Inn, but it was quiet at night. The rate was much less than some other local hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Although the Front Desk suggested that it's "just across the bridge" from the Utica train station it is a little more of a hike. I recommend a taxi if you have heavy luggage. It is on a main service road with little charm but with lots of conveniences like a 24 hour convenience store (next door) and several restaurant options nearby. Basically, you could be Anywhere U.S.A. but it is a convenient location if you need to be in Utica.

My room 223 was very well-kept. There didn't look to be one loose-end in site. The heating/ac worked extremely well. My bathroom was nicely sized with basic shampoo, condiitioner, etc..

TV worked well and I had a goodnight sleep. Wake-up call was on-time, too.

Breakfast was a little limited but it was all I needed for a quick start to the day (bagel, juice, coffee, toast and cereal). There was also a free internet terminal in the Lobby.

My experience was a very positive one. I work in a hotel so maybe I look with an extra critical set of eyes but could not fault this property,e specially for just under $67.78 a night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steedappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelchat, Manager at Days Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Thanks for your feedback. It is important for us to improve our service and it is also important for other customers. I apriciate about your discriptive coment you made for our establishment.
Once again thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I got a very clean, comfortable, even pretty room, but the cigarette smoke sort of oozed under the door unless I stuffed newspaper in the opening. The hallways reeked of smoke. Included breakfast was ok. Manager willing to make a deal for longer term stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWFeature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I was looking for and found an inexpensive, clean hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The coffee maker in the room was really good as we tend to drink a lot of coffee and tea. The soaps, shampoos, etc. were not the type I would normally use but I expected that and they served the purpose nicely. Next trip I will not bother to pack my own since these products were quite acceptable. The breakfast, although nothing fancy, was the type of thing I would eat at home so why pay more for a room to have food I wouldn't normally eat anyway? My partner loved the shower thanks to the curved rod - he is claustrophobic in most showers but this one was great for him and I actually bought him a similar rod for his apartment as a Christmas present and he thinks it is great. Judging by other reviews, it appears that our stay was after all the renovations were complete and they spent their money well. I found it to be a clean, comfortable room and good value for the price. It is not a fancy place and I probably would have found it small if I were spending a lot of time in the room during the day, but I was looking for a place to relax after spending the day touring the area and that is what I got. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience that I would repeat if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank put_put9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelchat, Manager at Days Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Thanks for posting your review, Your review will be helpfull for our new customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
541 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
756 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Utica

Address: 150 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Motel 6 Utica
Utica Motel 6
Utica Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing