We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site
Save
Review Highlights
Well kept historic site, with many living history events.

The site is a colonial period house and mill property. Very well kept. It offers many events for... read more

Reviewed December 9, 2018
Mariann G
,
Hudson River Valley, New York
Great historic site

Had a very nice tour of the beautiful 18th c house by a super knowledgeable and entertaining guide... read more

Reviewed September 10, 2018
Fourcutekids
,
West Point, New York
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
11
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great historic site revolutionary war hudson valley day trip tours history
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 18 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2016

House is open Memorial Day thru Labor Day but the grounds are open year round perhaps those that stopped by where on a day when the site was closed. Sadly over the years there have been many cuts to state budgets so these places can't operate year round.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank rpkj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2016

When we drove over to see this site on a Friday in May round 11am, the place was locked and no one was around . everything was empty thought it should have been open. The trails were marked but we wanted the guided tour of the two buildings. A big disappointment.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Very old homestead used as General Knox' Headquarters during the American Revolution. Beautiful grounds - hike the trail to the water - lots of trees, plants, flowers, bushes, foliage. Picnic tables. Nice day trip.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank ritas586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2015

In the SW suburbs of Newburgh (actually Vails Gate) is John Ellison’s 1754 farmhouse that was used by Major General Henry Knox. This is another interesting revolutionary war site in the Newburgh area. There is a gravel entry and small parking lot, but it does not appear to have that many visitors. I didn’t want to wait for the hourly tour, so the park ranger gave me and another couple an early tour of the house (which is not air conditioned and is VERY hot). He was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour. Be sure to walk around the house since the front and back are of different styles. Also, walk down the trail to the woods where you can see an old bridge and the foundation of the old mill. It is peaceful and beautiful.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

Tours were on the hour. We were there at 1:08, all doors locked. Official car outside. I don't know what else to say. We were disappointed.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank kw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews