We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel but can have better attitude” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but can have better attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at intercontinental for 6 nights and 7 days. Lovely hotel, good location (not best as it is not very near to market), great rooms, nice and small beach and amazing pool. Food is good for vegetarians. The only thing it lacks is attitude and approach to clients. We particularly had very bad experience on valentines night at noble house. We found a fly at the bottom of our rice bowl. The chef called ' Vyash' was not only insensitive, but very rude in approach when pointed out. We left our meals incomplete and just left the restaurant. When pointed out to their duty manager, we received no response. Also left feedback with the hotel general manager of the hotel and then Asia pacific in charge, but no response. If senior management can choose to be callous and have indifferent attitude, what approach and attitude can you expect from operational staff. We have traveled to decent places across the world, but never faced such indifference attitude in well rated hotel. Besides their approach, i did rate this hotel as very fine hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Globetraveling,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Balaclava.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    725
    270
    101
    109
See reviews for
642
1,263
37
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. First day, after a very long and tiring trip, we were asked to wait 4 hrs to get a room, as our room was not being allocated.Then, our luggage took 45 mins to follow us to our room. The room still had previous users presence in the bathroom. Stains on the carpet were too obvious. Arrogant staffs at the GR and more than that was at the Noble House. The manager Praveen was very rude, he did not listen what we need to say, acclaiming loudly in front of other guests was insulting to us. But the only good thing we took back when we left, was our wonderful time at the Vedas. A warm welcoming that comes from the heart from Khusboo, personalised service from Jilles, hats off for the kitchen team for finger licking food and big thanks to ashwini for making our candle light dinner, a precious and unforgettable one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear VidyaR958m,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback following your recent stay at the InterContinental Mauritius Resort. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor staff service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

An amazing place and I cherished every moment of the stay. It is a well designed hotel with courteous staff and delicious food. Highly recommended for Indians going to the country as they offer good quality vegetarian food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjunmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Arjunmehta,

Thank you for your taking the time to share with us your feedback on your stay at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Your comments give us valuable feedback and will help us immensely to improve our service delivery and will be passed on to the respective departments.
You can rest assured that we shall do all that is possible to ensure that our services reflect the InterContinental experience that we promise our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for 8 days. Resort is lovely, with impressive pool area and quiet beach areas. Sadly, room cleanliness & service was not at 5 star level. The bare minimum of toiletries provided & some bath towels had seen better days. Room was full of bugs on 1st night and room had not been cleaned just tidied to make it look ok. Bed was smelly and surfaces stained. To be fair reported next day and room was cleaned to better standard. My disappointment was that a room had been given in a less than satisfactory state. Cleaning was hit & miss on a daily basis, no consistency of service. Rooms are furnished beautifully & bathroom heavenly, such a shame the servicing of the rooms puts a damper on things. The resort lacks that 5 star feel, no drinks service offered around the pool, towel cabana not located near the main pool, and other little things that make you feel the staff don't go that extra mile. Buffet restaurant not my thing, too canteen-like and I cannot abide the people who maul the food only to place it back in the serving dishes once they have sniffed at it!! The Maurice restaurant was nice & service so much better for breakfast & dinner. Chinese was lovely, a lot of the menu was not available
on the night We went but what we did order was excellent. Taxis booked through the concierge were a total rip off. About £30 to be taken to a supermarket less than 10 minutes away. Staff lack the customer service of other hotels although Kevin, the head concierge was excellent & made every effort to help us on a number of issues. Joanna in kids club also great swell as young girl from reception who was eager to help. Accommodation manager was rude & obnoxious - not at all pleasant to deal with. On the last 2 days of our holiday the pools had not been cleaned due to the pump & filter blocking during the night. No notice put on the pool and only that I noticed it was looking cloudy and asked they would not have told me. My 3 year old was happily playing up until that point and we retreated to the beach. It took 2 days for it to be fixed and lots of guests had no idea they were swimming in pools that were quite frankly disgusting by the 2nd day with tide marks of dirt surrounding the Walls. Some guests took photos of it, me too. To add to my disappointment of how they look after guests, my 3 year old fell down an open grid that was hidden by grass. The lid was faulty and her leg went straight down which could have broken severely had she fallen forwards. The grid had an iron bar protruding in the base which scraped her skin and luckily that was all. The guests who witnessed the fall were shocked as was I to see the reaction from management who put the lid back on the grid and offered my daughter some ointment for the scrape. No apology - nothing! This was my 2nd to last day and by then I had seen enough of the intercontinental. I was happy to be going home. All in all I would not return to this hotel, it is a 3 star hotel rating and I wanted 5 star, it served it's purpose for us as we just wanted to get away from it all, we
hardly ate in the restaurants and drank on our balcony most nights and sat by pool & beach during the day. Choose another hotel if you are looking for 5 star, I stayed in Awali Heritage on my previous trip which WAS 5 star and a 100% definite for revisiting.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was spacious and decor high standard. Location next to pool and facing be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Lynda M,

Thank you for your taking the time to share with us your feedback on your stay at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Your comments give us valuable feedback and will help us immensely to improve our service delivery and will be passed on to the respective departments.
You can rest assured that we shall do all that is possible to ensure that our services reflect the InterContinental experience that we promise our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in our property soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the IC for 11 nights in October 2011. As a family we generally enjoy a 5 star hotel and this was no different. Check in was fine, although we did have a 3 hour flight delay - obviously to no fault of the hotel - and we would never fly with Air Mauritius again! for an 11 hour flight it is really worth the extra of booking with either BA or Emirates who both seem to have a higher standard of seating and comfort. Anyway, we booked a 2 room family suite. First impressions were nice, rooms were large and spacious and was nice to have a separate room for 2 daughters. Comfy beds, clean, good AC and a large family bathroom - with bath and separate shower which was nice, and a fairly large balcony with sea view. We had the all inclusive package, which from other reviews and looking at the menu prices was a wise move as the costs for drinks and lunches were quite expensive. The restaurant choice was very good, you could choose from an Indian, Thai or a seafood or the buffet restaurant. We didn't go in the buffet restaurant for dinner as we prefer to sit down and be waited on. We were very impressed at the quality and service we received at all 3 of the restaurants and the food was excellent. I would definitely make sure that you choose to eat at one of these restaurants rather than the buffet, and make sure you book them in the morning at breakfast. Breakfast in the buffet restaurant was average, the variety and choice could be improved upon, especially seeing as this is meant to be a 5 star resort. However the food was cooked to a high standard and again the staff in the restaurant were attentive and friendly. Overall the hotel grounds were looked after well, the beach was good there were always deck chairs available and the water sports are a must! Warren and his team were very friendly and good teachers!! We went on the snorkelling trips that they provided, they were good - however we booked the trips outside the hotel which were much better for snorkelling and made a nice day out. We hired a taxi for a few days and were able to explore the island a bit more, it was nice to be able to see more of the towns and we also went to pout louis, although it was quite pricey.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, Mauritius is a completely stunning island and is a nice get away from the package holiday types. We would definitely go back, and would stay at the IC again - although there are so many other nice hotels that it would be nice to try it would be a hard choice!
And a special thank you to all the staff at the hotel, who were exceptionally brilliant and made our stay just that bit better!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear thailandlover22,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback!
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your vacation with us and have taken good memories with you.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Travelled during Chinese New Year, the hotels are usually busy and full during that period, but we expect the service and quality to be constant whatever ....

Room Tip: If you go in winter, you have a heated pool. So if you wish to be near that pool request a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear l3w,

Thank you for your feedback on our property, which will be shared with our team.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we shall do all that is required to ensure that these comments do not reoccur.
We would be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at IC hotel for 3 nights last September. All was pleasant and the staff was very friendly. We even rented a scooter and went to the nearest town for some sightseeing (I do recommend the scooter in order to sight see on one hand and it is much cheaper than the on the other hand).
I loved how the room is decorated!! And the Bathroom is huge!

One more thing to be objective: we found a cockroach in our room, so we had to change rooms.

All in all, if I go to Mauritius again and IC was an option I would not mind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReemDoughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear ReemJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the insect but are pleased to note that all other aspects of your vacation went well and you had a great time here!
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
18.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.6 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing