We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,521)
Filter reviews
3,521 results
Traveller rating
1,901
974
356
141
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,901
974
356
141
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noble house senso restaurant harsh mani chief concierge jacuzzi room presidential suite indian food heated pool the resort manager jean pierre family room main restaurant our honeymoon ocean view special thanks guest relations port louis
Filter
Updating list...
1,028 - 1,033 of 3,521 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2016

We stayed at the intercontinental for our 1st week off a 2 week holiday the ground staff ( bar staff restaurant staff ) were fantastic but overworked too many managers standing around chatting and not interacting with the staff openly arguing in front off guests. There was one manager who warrants a mention but unfortunately whose name eludes me he knew how to conduct the running off the pool restaurant at lunchtime. The standard and quality of food in the buffet was amazing something for everyone and more. Our room was quite dark the dark brown paint on cupboards and shelving didn't help. Standard of cleaning could've off been better, towels were a dingy white therefore didn't have a clean appearance. The beach was fabulous great for young and old alike, the main swimming pool behind the main bar was far too small and shallow for the amount of guests staying, there is another pool away from the main beach/bar area that was mainly used by families with young children. This was our second visit to Mauritius and would certainly stay here again if only for the food.

Room Tip: seaview rooms may be brighter
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidiobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_Mauritius1, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2016

Dear heidiobyrne,

Thank you for your review of our resort and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

To hear that many aspects of your stay were positive will give a great sense of motivation to the entire team. I would also like to thank you for your feedback in regards to some of the issues you experienced. Please know that we take our training and development very seriously at the resort and we will undoubtedly use your thoughts to be incorporated into our future training for our restaurant managers.

We have recently made changes to our food & beverage offerings across our our 5 restaurants as well as our room service options. Your feedback will be shared personally with our Food and beverage manager to highlight the great work from the entire team.

On behalf of the entire team at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again for your second visit very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Jiri Benes
Director of Marketing & Sales
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Slow service, hardly any service at the beach. Staff struggle to understand English, from room service to waiters.
Otherwise not too bad.
In room dining was most problematic.
Was harassed by ants at the pool. Pools a little small. At some point just too many people in there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zazin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_Mauritius1, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear zazin2016,

Thank you for leaving a review of our resort, I am saddened to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, please know that we take the training and development of our team very seriously, with your feedback we will be able to make any relevant changes to improve our service.

On behalf of the entire team and I, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future to highlight the best of our brand and service.

Warmest Regards,

Jiri Benes
Director of Marketing & Sales
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Located on a the beach with great sea breeze and atmosphere. A place to relax and forget about the world. Variety of food. Service was excellent! All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. Would probably come back here next time.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
4  Thank Aviv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_Mauritius1, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear Aviv M,

Thank you for your review of our resort.

I am so pleased to see that so many aspects of your stay with us were so positive and exceeded your expectations; we are constantly making changes to our dining options as well as the resort in general and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Jiri Benes
Director of Marketing & Sales
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016

The restaurant on site Veda was the best thing about this hotel. The staff at Veda were very attentive, catering to our special dietary requirements. In particular Nitesh, Yodisha and Pawan the chef all made us feel right at home. Yodisha practically baby sat my 8 month old son whilst we had our dinner in peace. Nitesh ensured we were comfortable and catered to all our needs not only at the restaurant but on the resort too. Pawan the chef made special baby food for our son. And the food was absolutely mouth watering-fresh and not oily at all.

The chef at the main restaurant Sensa Harish was also very attentive and made dairy free food for our son who is allergic to dairy. Alongside all the waiters who went out their way to look after us even smiling after a 12 hour shift!

Kevin at the concierge was very helpful and also gave us some home made rum! Priya the manager was very helpful in resolving issues we had with our room and giving us tips on what to do and see in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Try get room by the heated pool it's quieter on that side and excellent for families.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Anj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_Mauritius1, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear Anj H,

Thank you for your review of our resort and for sharing your experience with is of your stay.

Thank you for your very kind words regarding our Veda Restaurant team, I can assure you that this will give a great sense of motivation for everyone concerned.
Please know that we will also have your review posted in our Heart of House for Priya, Kevin, Harish, Nitish, Yodish and Pawan to see.

On behalf of the entire team and I we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Jiri Benes
Director of Marketing & Sales
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Immaculate presentation. Beautiful setting. Amazing staff. Too many to mention from managment,concierge,restaurant staff and housekeeping. This is a real hotel of dreams. I feel so lucky to have been able to stay here. Have had the best lunches I've ever had at the Segala restaurant.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_Mauritius1, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear Lindsey H,

Thank you for your very positive review of our resort and for sharing your experience.

Please know that your review will be posted in our Heart of House for the entire team to review.

I am very pleased to see that your dining experience at Segala exceeded your expectations; your feedback will be shared with our new Food & Beverage Manager and also with the restaurant team.

On behalf of the entire team and I we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort in the very near future to hopefully create more lasting memories for you.

Warmest Regards,

Jiri Benes
Director of Marketing & Sales
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews