We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned to SA from a week-long stay at Veranda Paul & Virginie. The hotel accommodation was quite comfortable if rather basic (but what does one really need on a tropical island?). We cannot fault the service by the hotel staff - always friendly - always interested and always willing to help. The aim of our week away was to relax and relax we did - the atmosphere being more than conducive to our purposes. The recreation facilities at the hotel are in good condition and we enjoyed our trips out on the kayaks, pedalos and sailing boats. The views are beautiful - what more can one say? Oh yes... we were on an All Inclusive package which was just as well because stepping outside AI one feels the expensive side of Mauritius - BUT nonetheless we had a fabulous time. One more thing... that beautiful aroma that greets one every time you walk through Reception - now that I wish I could have bottled and brough home with me :-) Thank you Mauritius and Au Revoir!

Room Tip: Ground floors have the noise from the A/C units and less privacy near the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chaanah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    428
    119
    42
    12
See reviews for
113
1,152
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Nice to have tea making facilities in the rooms but one day the maid forgot to leave us more tea bags. No problem, we informed reception of the problem and half an hour later someone brought 4 tea bags! Imagine our surprise at check out, to find that the 4 tea-bags had been charged at 200 rupees per tea-bag! I complained & explained the circumstances and the receptionist called the manager. But he refused to remove the charge!
I have never had an experience like this before. Admittedly the amount was small compared to the total bill, but this was clearly a rip-off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear David A,

We thank you for taking the time to post this comment.

It seems that there has been a misunderstanding regarding your bill. The information we gathered indicate a total amount of 320 rupees for the 4 tea bags including the in-room service. Indeed, and taking into consideration your package, there is no additional surcharge due to the nature of your request.

I would have been happy to meet you personally, if you had requested it. I will be much more than happy to communicate (private messaging) with you personally if you wish.

Your sincerely,
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noulens, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We chose this hotel, after a lot of researching, because it was small, had some good reviews and combined with flights from the UK, via South Africa, it was a very reasonable price. The staff were so welcoming and always helpful and polite. The reception greets you with a wonderful aroma from the spa, open to the sea breezes and smiling faces. Our room was on the 3rd floor which was a good idea as you got the lovely sea views . A standard room, it had been recently refurbished and was comfortable and quite stylish, nice balcony with lots of birdlife to wake you and entertain you. Good size bathroom with good shower, separate loo and 2 basins. The food was interesting, varied and true to Mauritian style was Indian based but light and not spicey. Quite healthy with lots of fish, rice, salads and fruit. Eggs cooked any which way for breakfast. We didn't think an extra £35 or more was worth the seafood or lobster dinner or champagne for a lot of money. It's definitely worth going all inclusive, especially if you like wine with your meal - wine started from £30 per bottle for some very ordinary South African wine! The spa is good, really nice staff, knowledgeable, kind and professional and not overpriced. The beach is small and the sea often was shallow but at no time did we feel croweded or couldn't find a bed to lie on. The gardens are nicely landscaped and well maintained but the 2 swimming pools look nice but are quite shallow. It is definitely worth hiring a car for a day or 2 to see more of the island. The super Botanical Gardens are not far away and can be reached by local bus as can Grand Baie. The bus is an interesting experience. Early October is still their winter and for sunbathing and swimming we found it a bit chilly, ranged from 22 to 25 degrees in the day. For a first visit to Mauritius we were very happy with the P & V and would highly recommend it for a 3*+ hotel.

Room Tip: Standard or Superior rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor to enjoy the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GemmaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the island but first visit to Paul &Virginie Hotel.  This is hotel is beautifully located in a small bay on the north coast of the island.  The hotel has a small private beach which is well maintained offering access to water sports, kayak, sailing boat, pedalo etc.  the rooms are all spacious with large balcony/terrace, the bathrooms have lovely modern fittings and are also an excellent size.

The hotel has two pools and plenty of sitting areas both around the pools and in the grounds of the hotel.  The staff are wonderful and attentive, more than happy to engage in conversation if invited and always helpful.  This hotel has recently had a manager change and he is gradually making some changes all of  which will enhance this lovely hotel.

The hotel is in the village of Grande Gaube and offers you a view of local 
Life within walking distance however a 30 minute taxi drive will take you to the larger town of Grande Baie if you want to see more shops, etc

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bramwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Paul and Viginnie for our honeymoon at the end of September for 14 nights. We had heard this was the best time of year to visit Mauritius and in all honesty while the weather was sometimes wonderful it was not great every day. Unfortunately the location of the hotel was not fantastic for numerous reasons. As the hotel is on the North East point of the Island it is very windy, making the hotel complex a lot cooler than you would expect. They have a wonderful infinity pool but it is more for show than for use as the area it is located is in a particularly windy part of the complex and it was just too cold to get in. In our 14 night stay we only saw 3 couples brave it on separate occasions. Also the transfer to the Hotel is very long, the hotel literature states it takes an hour and a half but you could add another hour onto that easily, especially with the traffic driving through Port Louis. After travelling for almost 24 hours this last stretch is painful … The area of Grand Gaube is not fantastic either and the hotel is amidst a residential area with little to do around the hotel. We hired a car so we could explore the island and this really made our trip. From all the areas we visited we wish we had booked a hotel at Flic en Flac, it was beautiful there. Obviously none of the above is the hotels fault, it is just the location but something to bear in mind when booking.

Our initial impression of the hotel on arrival was good. We were greeted with a refreshing drink, neck and head massage and provided with information about the hotel. The reception area is beautiful. We booked half board but decided to upgrade to AI through the hotel when we arrived as this was cheaper than doing this through our travel agent. We did this for about £45 per person per day. We were AI for the first 4 days and the last 4 days, the rest of the time we were just half board. This worked out very well for us as in the middle days when we had the hire car so we didn’t need to be all inclusive as were rarely at the hotel. Note that not everything is included in the AI package, there are a lot of supplements to pay. A down side top the hotel is that you do feel as though you are constantly being encouraged to spend money beyond the AI package, be that on day trips, in the restaurant, on drinks or the spa.

The food was very good for a four star hotel although half way through the stay the procedure changed. When we arrived lunch was served at the beach restaurant and you could choose from a menu what you would like, including burger and chips or salads. It was really lovely and to a very high standard. Your evening meal was a four course menu and you just chose your main and it was all table service. Again lovely, you felt like you were eating at a romantic restaurant every night. However half way through our stay this changed and lunch began to be served as a buffet in the main restaurant and evening buffets became more frequent, which really was not as nice and you we were pretty sick of buffet by the end. Breakfast was always buffet and very very enjoyable, with eggs cooked fresh to order. Although with the food came the birds and while pretty to look at they were real pests, more than once I saw them perched on the bread board picking away. Needless to say the bread was not cleared after they were shooed so some poor person is likely to have proceeded to eat that bread. The Beach restaurant in the evening was a real treat and definitely worth one visit at least, although expect expensive wine and a hefty supplement to pay.

As a honeymoon couple we were hopeful for a room upgrade as when we booked with Thomsons and the honeymoon package included a room upgrade (subject to availability). We expressed our disappointment when shown to our standard room and were told by guest relations that the matter would be looked into. While waiting for an answer about a room upgrade we enquired as to what the current status was and we were told that as we had switched to AI (i.e spending more) it may now be possible as better package so.. ‘we will see’. We were shocked at this as how much money we were spending should not have had a bearing on if a honeymoon couple got an upgrade, which was in the package from the start. It was either available or not!! This highlighted the hotels emphasis on spend spend spend and this did get irritating by the end. We were advised after a couple of days that it would not be possible as there was ‘no availability’. We disbelieved this as the hotel was not at full capacity, especially during the first week of our stay. However saying this to the hotels credit our standard room was very pleasant and to a good standard for a 3 star hotel, it was clean with a nice bathroom area and good shower. All rooms have sea views, which was lovely. As a honeymoon couple we were treated to a free candle lit meal at the beach restaurant by the sea and that was very good. We didn’t get a fruit basket or champagne but about a week into our stay 2 warm fruit skewers appeared in our room, which was amusing more than anything.

Some of the staff at the hotel did go above and beyond to make your stay very special, they were very friendly and helpful with outstanding customer service. Others it has to be said left a lot to be desired. There were times when we felt ignored and felt as though your age and board status may have had something to do with that.

We often felt invisible when stood at the bar waiting to be served and on one occasion in the restaurant we were totally forgotten about. One couple had three courses in the time it took for us to have one. This sadly happened all too frequently and some of the bar staff in particular were just plain rude in their manner. One night I was drinking out of a certain type of glass and mid drink the barman asked me for my glass. I wondered what on earth he was doing, he then tipped my remaining drink into a different shaped glass and said he needed mine as he had had an order for four margaritas and he did not have enough glasses of a certain shape for all four drinks so took mine. These were margaritas that you had to pay for (even on AI package). So my drink and my custom was less important obviously !!

Avoid the very expensive day trip to the island with Blue Marlin. It is a rickety old boat, cheap odd bits of scooba gear, warm cocktail and not the idyllic Island you would expect. BBQ was lovely though. If you want to see Mauritius get a hire car and a map and enjoy.

All in all would we go back to a Veranda hotel? yes absolutely. Would we go to the Paul and Viginnie? Unfortunately no we would not and that was mainly because of the location. As for a honeymoon hotel, while there was a romantic air to the complex and we had an amazing time we did feel the hotel could have done more to add that special touch to our stay, as after all you only get one honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HappyGoLucky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

At check in we were greeted by Jenny, who is both friendly and competent. It was very late and she did a great job of making the check in painless and quick.

We stayed in a comfort room, which was clean and comfortable...if you are not claustrophobic. We didn't mind and all worked out.

The hotel location is great with a private beach and I didn't experience the local some people mention trying to sell gold necklaces, except bosco and his friend. They seem to have an arrangement with the hotel. We also did the island cruise with them and it was great, but there are other operators using the same island so make sure you haggle a good price.

Biggest disappointment was the food. It was horrible! I was so sick of the bland food we ate out every other night at some local places. Not sure who they are catering for, but it's definitely not your average traveller. Everyone we came across complained! The hotel also charges exorbitant prices for drinks if you are not on AI. At least triple the price of the local shops less than 20m away. If u intend lounging around at the hotel I def advise all
inclusive option. It's 2000 rupees pppd. When you realize a cocktail (which is nout good) costs 300 each you won't think this is pricey. They also charge extra for water, tea and coffee! The shop around the corner stocks almost everything though. In addition there is a little eatery called diSAB....food is delicious although the place looks offbeat.

Overall we had a good stay. It could have been great if the food was more local flavor than no flavor. If you are still deciding and wanna be close to nightlife I'll suggest the sister hotel in grand Baie. Taking a cab at night costs 1300 a return, so staying close is cost saving.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore,India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We visited the hotel in April for our Honeymoon...We were promised a honeymoon package with some goodies but the hotel staff did not provide that...The food was repetitive and boring with no choice...The hotel is very far from the city center and also the rooms weren't that great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naba21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
0.8 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
2.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
8.9 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
62.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing