We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and relaxing resort, great facilities and activities and wonderful staff.”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing resort, great facilities and activities and wonderful staff.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from a 9 night holiday at Lux Grand Gaube. From the moment we arrived we relaxed into the wonderful ambience of the resort. Set on a lovely bay it is picture perfect. Yet there was never a time when we felt this was just another luxury hotel in an exotic destination, there were simply too many unexpected pleasures. A private cinema complete with popcorn, snorkelling, water skiing, yoga, guided walks and cycle rides (Bobo, thanks for sticking with us!) are just a few.
We stayed in a superior room, which was very comfortable with king size bed and nice bathroom. Toiletries are lovely and two bottles of water are provided each day. Beach/ pool towels come with the evening turn-down service so there is no annoying wait each morning for a towel station to open.
There was never a problem in finding a sunbed or parasol, and waiters ensured that we didn't have to move to get a drink.
We were on a half board basis and really enjoyed the food. Breakfast was a feast with an egg chef, a pancake chef, juice being squeezed and fruit prepared at station. Healthy options, fresh bread and a guitarist playing softly. Evening buffets were varied but always had fish, meat and vegetarian options. We had two meals at The Beach restaurant where they served not only excellent fish but also great pizza.
Sporting facilities were good with a golf driving range, excellent tennis courts, a gym and many water sports free of charge.
Sadly for us, we had three days of heavy rain but we were very impressed how the resort swung into an additional programme of daytime indoor activities from board games, table tennis tournaments, extra films for children. All guests had umbrellas and the staff worked endlessly to try and ensure floors stayed dry. Unfortunately the weather meant that some activities, such as the astronomer and a cinema under the stars, had to be cancelled so we will just have to go back again to try these.
Every evening there was different entertainment in the bar and visiting dancers twice a week that were very good. There is also a cocktail party once a week.
We found that all of the staff were helpful, warm and friendly and (thanks to the resort's policy of not tipping individual staff but recommending a single tip at the end of our stay to be shared by all staff) this was very genuine.
But our highest praise must be for Xavier the resident manager who was exemplary in his handling of anything out of the ordinary, from film crews to torrential downpours. His smile never faltered and he ensured he spoke to all the guests each day. He has ensured that nothing is too much trouble for any of his team.
We will undoubtedly return, hopefully later this year when the weather may be a little kinder.
To everyone at Lux Grand Gaube, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,620
    590
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
784
3,018
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Lux* Grande Gaube for 11 nights in April. I should add that we have been fortunate enough to have stayed in some amazing 5 star hotels throughout the world and are extensively travelled; it's fair to say that our expectations are high.

There are many positive comments made by other reviewers about the hotel with which we would agree. For us, the one thing that stood out amongst everything else was the exceptional service which we received from all members of staff. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we came to leave.

Here is a summary of the key points:

Location - the hotel is based in the north west of Mauritius which is renowned for having good beaches. At the time of our visit the weather in the north tends to be the best on the island with plenty of sunshine, a lovely breeze and little rain. Transfer time from the airport to the hotel is approximately 1 hour 15 mins - this will be quicker once the bypass around Port Louis has been completed. The hotel offers a transfer by limousine but we booked our transfer online with www.taxismauritius.com at a cost of Euros 35 (each way).

Rooms - we upgraded to a Superior Ocean View room. The superior rooms are closest to the reception and the main beach and have the best views (as you would expect). The size of the room was adequate and the room was clean although the decor was looking a little tired and in need of modernisation. The complimentary toiletries are of a very good quality.

Restaurants - on the half board option you can either eat in the main restaurant (the Kitchen) which offers a themed buffet or book one of the a la carte restaurants (Karma, The Beach and Abalone) where some of the dishes (i.e tiger prawns, lobster, steak etc) come at a supplement. All of the food was outstanding both in terms of flavour and presentation with a service to match.

Half board/all inclusive - we deliberated at the time of booking as to the choice of dining options. However, on reflection we are glad we booked the half board option. Breakfast is so extensive (as are the evening meals) that we really couldn't have eaten much for lunch and snacks from the local shop at lunchtime were more than adequate (along with the free water, fruit etc).

Drinks - drinks for those on the half board option are not cheap. A pint of Phoenix (excellent locally brewed beer) will set you back approx £6 a pint and cocktails are between £8 and £10. A bottle of wine is approx £30. In comparison, a bottle of a beer from the local shop (see tip below) was 25 MRs (50p). The bars offer a very extensive choice of cocktails and spirits and the standard of all the drinks (especially the coffee) is high.

Activities - the hotel offers a very extensive array of activities which are advertised daily. None of the activities are intrusive nor do they spoil the peace and quiet of the resort (save for the aqua aerobics at the quieter beach - but it only lasts for 30 mins!). There is vast selection of watersports with great attention paid to safety. All of the equipment (including life jackets) is in excellent condition. The guys at the boat house are really friendly and provide an excellent service. They are also happy to provide free tuition. Both my partner and I can now sail a catamaran and water ski thanks to them.

The Beach - as many of the previous reviews have already stated, the sea is tidal (the times of high and low tides are advertised at the boat house). At low tide you cannot swim save at the main beach where there is quite a lot of seaweed but there are 2 decent size pools - the quieter pool being near the Banyan Tree.

Spa - my partner booked a massage with the 'Spa Me'. She thought the service was mediocre and the staff attempted to charge her full price having offered the massage at a special promotional rate.

Trips - some places worth visiting (and not too far from the hotel) include Grande Baie (but not on a Sunday when the shops are closed), Pamplemouses (the botanical gardens) and Goodlands (which has an open air market twice a week).

Some tips:

- if the hotel is full, book the a la carte restaurants as soon as possible at the start of your stay to guarantee your choice of restaurant. Menus for all the restaurants are available to view at reception;
- enjoy fresh coconuts and pineapple (free of charge) which are prepared by a chef every morning at the back of the main beach;
- cold water can be found in what looks like a BBQ amongst the hammocks by the main beach and by the Banyan tree at the quieter beach;
- all of the watersports (kayaking, pedalo, catamaran, water skiing, glass bottom boat, water skiing etc) are free so use them ! The water skiing is limited to 2-3 hours a day and the time changes due to high/low tide. Go skiing around lunchtime to avoid a wait;
- tennis - book tennis courts in advance (1 day max) - the best time of the day to play is 5/6 pm, floodlighting is free of charge and bring your own balls (to avoid being charged);
- use the games room - often not discovered by many guests but located next to the gym. The room is air-conditioned and has 2 pool tables, table tennis and a games machine;
- hire a mountain bike by the tennis courts (max 1 hour) and turn right out of the main entrance and cycle for 10-15 minutes until you come to a local shop on your left called 'Basing Hill'. It stocks everything your local corner shop would stock including a great selection of crisps, peanuts and booze (at a fraction of what the hotel charges);
- check the board outside the Kitchen for a summary of the day's activities (including aqua aerobics, yoga, Tai Chi, painting with an artist etc) as well as a daily weather forecast;
- visit the cinema behind the Kitchen (which is a proper cinema) as well as the cinema beneath the stars (outdoor screen and seating near the Banyan tree);
- hail a taxi from outside the main gate (where the price is cheaper) and practice your haggling skills. Note that having a driver (who will wait for you while you shop/sightsee for say 4-5 hours) will cost around 1,500 MR (approx £34 on current exchange rates). The taxi drivers can also arrange other trips again at a fraction of the cost charged by the hotel;
- try the unusual flavours of sorbet served from a traditional ice cream cart on a bike (its arrival is heralded by a horn to raise you from your sunbed) - flavours include passion fruit and chili, lemon and basil, tamarind and chocolate.

Overall, the hotel has so much to offer and it clearly prides itself on outstanding customer service. We throughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel - so much so that we are already planning on returning in April 2013.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Superior Ocean View rooms for an amazing view when you open your curtains in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Lux Grand Gaube, is nice located resort, with all rooms sea facing, offers absolute privacy. Rooms are spacious with private sit out or balcony. Various restaurant options, with a Beach club. Enjoyed African Folk dance in the evening, with drinks on the beach. Offers wi-fi free in all rooms. Very good services.

Room Tip: Please choose superior rooms , it is lovely view and access to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArpitaChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rørvik, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Lux Grand Gaube - 18 days in March 2012.
The service from the staff was very good; they all were very nice, friendly and helpful - all the time from check-in until departure.
A recommandation: Try a 1-day "private cruise " with Tom - you will meet him by the boat-house!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svein55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our fourth visit to Lux* Grande Gaube in 3 years but, although we had thoroughly enjoyed Legends, this was the first under the new name. It was therefore with some feelings of trepidation that we arrived at the hotel, but we were greatly relieved to find that the nature of its incredibly friendly staff hadn’t changed. We were warmly greeted by Pravina and there was soon a gathering of friends from previous visits wishing to welcome us back. In fact, it seemed more like a family reunion, which highlights the great strength of the hotel – the friendliness of its staff. Pleasingly, there was no change there, nor with the high standard of our customary senior suite.

However, we soon discovered a number of changes that had been made to bring the previous Legends Hotel into the corporate image of the other LUX* hotels. The names of the main restaurants had been changed to the standard ones for the chain – the Beach (ex La Bastide) and the Kitchen (ex the Ginko) – and the bar, renamed from Le Grande Bleu to ‘The Bar’, had been denuded of its decoration. A distinct lack of imagination in the new titles, we felt, and the lack of decoration, which we were told was to enhance the theme of ‘lighter and brighter, did little to engender any personality into the resort; rather, it removed it. Additionally, the previous ‘à la carte’ evenings that had interspersed with themed buffets at the Ginko, sorry ‘The Kitchen’, had been deleted. All meals in that restaurant were now themed buffets, which made them somewhat disappointing in that there was great similarity in the choices from one evening to the next. In fact, apart from the Chinese, Indian and Mauritian buffets, when the meals were significantly different and the servery staff wore appropriate clothing, the only way of telling the theme was to check with reception! A disappointing and retrograde step from the previous high standards.

By far the most notable change, though, was in the dress of the staff. Previously, different coloured tunics had been worn by the various departments, waiters, barstaff, guest relations, etc, with particular colours denoting supervisors. This had made it very easy for guests to locate the right person to solve their requests. Part of the ‘lighter, brighter’ campaign had introduced a completely white outfit for staff, regardless of rank or role, which meant a guest could not readily identify anyone in a supervisory position or a particular department. The staff had suddenly been transformed into an amorphous entity, which almost stripped them of their individuality. It’s small wonder that we found not one of them who was in favour of the new dress.

So, was there anything good in the list of changes? The significant improvement was the introduction of the Café LUX*, a coffee bar in the entrance foyer. Its coffee was excellent and Satish clearly relished his new responsibilities. The idea of a cycling ice cream outlet also seems a good idea but, as we’re incorrigible poolside dwellers, we never used his services, relying on Nalida to be exceptional, as ever.

On the other hand, we couldn’t help but feel that the desire for corporate identity had over ridden common sense and that the drive for ‘lighter, brighter’, while sounding a good strap line, has in essence removed a great deal of the hotel’s personality, making it incredibly bland. If the aim is for the hotels in the chain to be the same, why should guests go to one rather than to another? The answer has to be location and personality. Grande Gaube still has the former, but the new regime is in grave danger of destroying the latter. Perhaps we’re just dinosaurs, but if we do return it will only be because of the staff! Paul Jones has done the hotel no favours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

Booked over Kuoni in switzerland, final tour operator Manta Reisen.
After explaining my the kind of vacation I was looking for, the guy at kuoni gave me 2 option mauritius and maledives.

I went for the Mauritiuforte guy at the agency told me that this is a see paradise,the right place for snorkeling.
The infrastructure is greeatcl, the see is full of weeds, and the seawater is rubbish,you cant even see you feet,nobody goes for a swimm,even the kids stay at the very river.

Don't waste your money,there are some other nice places in the world!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank JDMIreland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went to this hotel in December with my hubby for a holiday. I was not impressed with the decoration of the hotel as ive been previously to a 4 star hotel (La Plantation) which was much cheaper but much more elegant. After doing the paperwork before check-in, the hostess told us that for dinner we should be dressed smartly. We told her that we were unaware of this and she dryly told us " in this case ,you wont be allowed in the restaurant!!!!!" We were of course shocked and asked to see the manager. The General Manager came and he was pretty useless and infact rude to us. He said " would you dress casually to go a 5 star hotel in Paris-Rome?" ..........i wonder how he became a GM when he cannot differentiate between a beach holiday and city holiday!!!!! I even hinted to him that he was being rude but he just smiled..... Were on the verge on leaving the hotel and then he said that they will make an exception for us. Since we had an inclusive package deal ,we just checked in in order to avoid any complications.

Our 2nd disappointment was the Spa, you cannot have access to it at all unless you take a treatment which are horribly expensive.

The 3rd disappointment was the sea....... It was so murky!!! We made a few friends there who have never been to Mauritius before and they thought that all beaches were like this only.... which was very sad because trust me in Mauritius many beaches are out of the world!!!!

On the other side, the food was amazing. The best bit was that everyday they had a new theme of different cuisines of the world including Mauritian cuisine.

Almost all the rooms were sea-facing. The staff(housekeeping,boat house, restaurant and reception) were amazing. They were all so friendly, nice, warm and helpful as well. They kind of compensated for our previous bad experience. A big thank you to all of them.

Room Tip: Make sure to go to these tiny islands around Mauritius.... not to miss is "Catamaran ride to Il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha_1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
62.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
1.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
17.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
3.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
8.1 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing