We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LUX* Grand Gaube
Nearby Hotels
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coin de Mire Attitude(Bain Boeuf)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$142
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,572)
Filter reviews
4,572 results
Traveller rating
3,776
604
129
46
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,776
604
129
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabalonemain beachbeach restaurantour honeymoona la carte restaurantsjean phillipeoutdoor cinemamessage in a bottlecoffee barbanyan restaurantjunior suiteall inclusive packagethe banyan treewater sportsbanyan poolherb gardenisland kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,512 - 2,517 of 4,572 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We went for a week long vacation to Mauritius. We chose Grand Gaube from reviews , locations etc. It was really nice. They work hard to keep the guest happy. With small gestures they turn your vacation to something amazing. Lush and green, extended lawns, gardens.They have drinking water bottles around the campus with signs that say rehydrate. They serve pineapples and coconut on the beach for free. An icecream vendor comes by with old wold charm. Children get lot of pampering. Smiles great you everywhere. Even when it rained for 2 days straight and we felt really trapped., they had a evening cocktail party with local dance and music. Super delighted. Their small red phone booth happily lets you make free international call to inform home. Their cinema hall host good movies and treat you with caramel popcorn, again free. They food choices are bit limited since the buffet is quite expensive and menu at the restaurant is short. But food was good in general. Breakfast spread lacked day to day variety, but the huge spread made up for it, catering from fruit lovers, to vegans to egg mongers. They have a old man strumming guitar by the tables, sometime the lady from reception joined him to sing a spontaneous melody. The huge open lagoon waters is relaxing for swmming or just lazing around. My 3.5 yr old got all the fun of swimming on his own in the sea with no fear of waves. Their free trips on glassbottom boats were nice. But a bit more help on snorkling and diving for amateurs like us would have been nice. We got taxis arranged for trips and they were really very good people, no one tries to ip you off as in other touristic places. The hotel rooms are a bit awkward with open bathrooms and excited kid running around doesn't provide any privacy. Hopefully they change this design for their next renovation plan. Atleast keep some normal bathroom for families and the exotic ones for honeymooners. They have play area to keep the kids and its very welldone. Really thoughtful owners.The spa was a nice treat too. We would love to go back and have another happy stay. thank you team Lux, Grand Gaube

Room Tip: Try to take rooms bit far from the reception, to avoid the noise. Room on the gound floor would be nice too if you have kids who want to play outside in the garden
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel_adiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The facility was really nice. The service was good, but watch out for the cost of incedentals. We paid for our room with breakfast included. Coffee and tea were not included, but a soda cost about $4 American.

The beach was groomed nicely. Something different then American beaches is that they don't groom the water area the same so there was plant life you had to be careful of.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor, just know that everyone can see into your room if you have the curtains open. The walkways are right by the windows.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We chose this holiday for our honeymoon and feel let down. In the first instance August is not really the best time of year to go as it is in the middle of the Mauritian winter (20oC though so beats a UK winter) but it was very very windy with regular rain showers. We were sold this hotel as a five star and I strongly disagree as it was not worthy of that. Unless you are all inclusive the price of food and drinks is astronomical and not worth the money. We were only half board so would recommend all inclusive which I believe was not that much more expensive. The rooms were not the best with old fashioned TVs (not that we watched that much) and only one socket in the room. The room was clean but had a very cold feel to them. On a positive note, I liked the fact that dinner was some nights a sit down meal and other nights a buffet. This forced me to eat things I would not normally eat. As always there was a "fight" for sunbeds on the beach and due to the wind it was important to make sure you got the right spot.

All in all I would not stay at this hotel again as it was overpriced and not worth the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

this is the second time we have visited this hotel , and it wont be the last , i cannot praise the staff enough for there effort to make you feel at home , we were lucky enough to get a upgrade to a top floor suite, brilliant could not have asked for more , as someone who likes a quiet holiday this was perfect, the banyan pool was great , for us, good waiter service, , and loungers, if i could make one suggestion make this area for adults only, there is plenty of facilities for children , so i think the hotel could benefit from advertising a adults only pool, and quiet area
As I said the room was great, the bed was a little hard, we asked at reception was there anything that could be done , 2 days later it was fine i think the guy who cleaned the room, think it was Givondi did something, as reception stated all the mattresses were all the same, again good service.
Food fantastic, the pastries could not be beat. rooms checked on a regular basis 2 or 3 times daily, and turn down service,
last time we were there it was called Legends, as they say they have gone through a re-branding , not quite shure what that means ,but this stay was not up to legends standard , but that would be hard to beat , have stayed in similar all inc, 5 star in the Carribean this place blows them out of the water. when the waiter clears you plate and moves you drink closer so you dont have to reach , i ask you does it get better than that

Room Tip: higher the room the better
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mossykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great place for honeymooners. We paid extra for the "pure discovery package", which is their best all inclusive deal including food, drink, room service, massage, dolphin trips, tennis, cooking class etc. It seemed expensive at first, but we were very happy we took it. We would have ended up paying a lot more without it.

Room Tip: Pay for the Pure discovery package. It's well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Satuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews