We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,035)
Filter reviews
5,035 results
Traveller rating
4,201
634
135
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,201
634
135
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main beach our honeymoon jean phillipe a la carte restaurants beach restaurant outdoor cinema message in a bottle coffee bar the banyan tree junior suite banyan restaurant the palm court water sports all inclusive package banyan pool driving range beach manager
Filter
Updating list...
1,537 - 1,542 of 5,035 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2015

My wife and I stayed for two weeks from the 2nd October. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival.
Our first room was nice, but were moved to a deluxe room because of an air con problem which was excellent.
We found the food to be of a very high standard, including the buffet restaurant. The curries were excellent.
The staff were excellent, helpful and really pleasant. There were a number of staff who stood out, Reedoo, Kumar, Anoop, on the beach, Michael who served the ice cream, and the baristas, apologies we didn't remember their names and lastly Emmanuel who did the tour of the hotel.
The only negatives we were aware of, were the rather high restaurant supplement cost and the very expensive laundry service.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, rsi at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Guests,

“Merci Boucou” as the Mauritian would say. Indeed thank you very much for taking the time to post those few lines on your recent stay at LUX* Grand Gaube.

We are very pleased to read that you had such a great experience with us that you highly recommended on us to the community of Tripadvisor. It was a true pleasure to share your review with our team and mostly with Emmanuel, Reedoo, Kumar, Anoop & Michael who were touched by your compliments.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to LUX* Grand Gaube

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We stayed at the Lux Grand Gaube from 16 to 24 October. The main reason for our stay was my nephew's wedding but we had a few days at the end as a holiday. The wedding was spectacular - we will probably never experience anything like it again. The hotel is amazing and so are the staff. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. Special thanks go to Luvvna, Hemkesh, Sandeep, Kamlesh, Ganesh, Ziad and Sebastian - you guys are a real credit to the hotel.

The only reason for my rating of 4 and not 5 was the quality of the rooms. Although clean and comfortable, they are dated and in need of a full refurbishment.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Itesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Resident Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Ithesh G,

Greetings from a sunny Mauritius and LUX* Grand Gaube!

Thank you for your favorable comment further to your stay with us. The entire team was indeed grateful to be part of such a great celebration and they all enjoyed being of service to you and your relatives and friends.

Lovena, as mentioned by yourself is a massive asset to the GRAND GAUBE team and she oozes out passion when it comes to materializing such events. That you entire party appreciated her services is a compliment that will be passed on to them,

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best regards,

Stephan Anseline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We had lovely relaxing holiday here - beautiful setting, friendly helpful staff, good food & lots to do (if you must) or to watch while you chill on the beach.
Lots of watersports & a lovely spa.
A wedding a day seems to take place too.

Room tip: All rooms have ocean views which are beautiful. If you want adult only, the suites area does not allow kids
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Resident Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire team of LUX* Grand Gaube, I would like to thank you for posting this review.

It is for us the best compliments and it is the perfect example of what we are working for.

It is always very gratifying for us to see that our hard work is resulting in our guest’s satisfaction and recognition.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back in LUX* Grand Gaube soon,

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2015

This is an excellent high quality hotel, with high standards of service. Those fearing this means a formal pompous atmosphere need not worry though. Whilst extremely professional and helpful, all the staff are extremely charming and friendly. This really enhanced our holiday experience. I know it's their job to make us feel comfortable and relaxed, but their nature really felt genuine. The hotel is well designed, so that even though it is fairly large, it never felt crowded or busy. All the facilities are of the standard you would expect from a 5* hotel, and the food at all 4 restaurants was very good. The separate adults only beach and pool area is a nice touch, though the few children present at the resort, all seemed well behaved anyway. Virgin had advised the hotel that we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, and Lux laid on several treats for us (which I won't spoil the surprise for others by mentioning details!). We would definitely revisit this hotel, and I hope my positive review doesn't mean I've generated too much extra interest, so we struggle to get booked in!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
1  Thank Culthero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Resident Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having thought of LUX* Grand Gaube to celebrate your pearl wedding anniversary!

We are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. You have given us the chance to express our innate passion by letting us be of service to you.

We wish both of your many many happy more years and we can only hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future,

Happy wedding anniversary again fro the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2015

I personally really appreciated my stay in this hotel. The service exceeded my expectations, and the view on the Coin de Mire is fascinating. It is however more for relaxing than for party. The overall impression is: "wow".

Room tip: Ask for view on Coin de Mire Island
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Resident Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2015

Dear Christian M,

Greetings from a sunny North Coast!

Thank you for sharing your experience to the benefits of tripadvisor users and readers.

LUX* Grand Gaube send you its sincere gratitude towards these kinds words, we all wish to have the opportunity to serve you soon again,

Best regards,

Stephan Anseline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews