We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
429
650
223
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
650
223
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road self service all inclusive package all inclusive drinks small road tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house filtered water honeymoon stay indian food superior room indian guests three star
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

The staff are very friendly great variety of food for adult as well for children room nice atmosphere kids clud and children playground were great we had water sport free big swimming pool and cool enterainment

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank henushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Henuskha G,

Thanks for this nice review of our property.

We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable experience and that you were very satisfied with the services provided.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at the Casuarina Resort & Spa.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

My partner and I stayed at the Casuarina at the end of September. We were drawn to going here from the brochures showing the quirkiness of the hotel and it didn't disappoint.

It's not a very big hotel, just over 100 rooms but that was part of it's charm. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the towel art was probably the best I've ever seen - to me, that shows the cleaning staff care.

We went all inclusive - local spirits were fine and it's nice to stay in a hotel that use 'proper' mixers - Schweppes, coke and sprite. The food was plentiful and a good choice each day. Lunch choice was lighter than the evening meal. Restaurant manager Steve visited every sitting to check all was okay and couldn't do enough for us.

The only slight downside was that the beach was across the road. It was only a very short walk, but there was nowhere on the beach to get a drink (alcoholic or otherwise). Although you could have taken your own drinks, they would have got warm very quickly. We stayed by the pool most of the holiday and never went without a sunbed.

Veej operates from the beach for trips etc. We did the dolphin spotting on a catamaran. What an amazing day out. We were gone for about 8 hours (loads of food and drink supplied) for about £60 each. Totally recommend this.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be going back. Thanks for a great holiday.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sallyplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear sallyplummer,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our property following your stay in September 2018.

We are so thrilled to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay at our resort and that we were able to meet you expectations.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a later date.

Regards


~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on a B&B basis for our honeymoon; lasting two weeks. We did not book a “top of the range” room or package as we planned to explore the island. My views here come from a B&B only standpoint. Check in was quick and efficient and the room we had was equipped with all we needed for our two weeks. I agree with some comments that the decor is dated, but as we were not in the rooms that often it didn’t really matter. Likewise no room WiFi but as mentioned we didn’t choose an upgraded room package which allows this. The WiFi worked well enough in reception but was patchy elsewhere. Food at breakfast was good and tasty; albeit not too much deviation over the two weeks. The facilities at the resort (pool/gym) seemed to be good and looked impressive. The Boat House they offer (free canoe/windsurfing/pedalos etc) was very good and a welcome addition. Likewise their glass bottomed boat trips twice a day were great fun and a good way to see the reef and fish without paying tour guides. I paid a little extra for a “Romance Dinner” on the beach that they offer each Friday. An incredible dining experience and well worth the money. Four course dinner cooked by a chef from their “exclusive” resort next door. I can’t comment on other elements of the place as we were out and about each day and night; but the bar seemed to be lively most nights. We were given a “gift” for being there on honeymoon which was great; a session in their on site spa and a bottle of local wine. Both put to good use. Proof of your marriage was required though so remember a photo of your certificate if travelling as newlyweds. A slight negative would be that on checkout we were told there was a secure room for our bags and cases but when we came to collect we found them in the open with children playing around them.
All in all though great value for money and would come again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 472edd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Ed D,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to review our property.

We are delighted to learn that your stay as a whole was enjoyable and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a later date.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

wonderful stay among best people. nice room good cleanliness. very nice and tasty food. I enjoyed my holiday beautiful beach and special thanks for the reception team richeeta and ayushi as well as other staff of the hotel. I recommend other to enjoy their stay at casuarina.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ingovoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Ingovoigt,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our property.

We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, in the future.

Cordially yours

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place fantastic location. The hotel is lovely some of the staff are fantastic there is Tara who worked usually at breakfast time she is so lovely and always speaks nothing us too much trouble for her other staff don't even bother to acknowledge you or say hello. Then there is steeve who is one of the restaurant managers he is fantastic he makes his way round the dining room greeting people asking if everything is ok and is there anything he can do for you such a credit to the restaurant shame all the other managers in there aren't the same they just stand there with there arms folded and aren't very welcoming. The boys who serve the drinks at the bar are all very pleasant especially guiness he is always smiling and nothing is too much for him and always wants to help you. The beach is beautiful total paradise the only thing that's let's the beach down is the men who work on there they are either trying to sell u a trip of excursion or bracelets necklaces clothing you name it. They are very pushy and dont take no for an answer we brought something from them just so they left us alone but put us off using the beach as we didn't want to be hassled. Overall great place food in the restaurant is ok not much variety I don't like fish and something's there weren't an meat options so it made it very difficult to have anything so that's the only other improvement. Would come again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank sianw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Sianw90,

Thank you for the review of our property.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as a whole since your review encompassed many of our attributes which clearly define our resort.

We have taken good note of your remark about the restaurant managers and are investigating the matter. As for the beach hawkers, they do not fall under our responsibility.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, in the future.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews