We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,194)
Filter reviews
3,194 results
Traveller rating
2,358
581
170
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,358
581
170
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower family suite indian restaurant tropical junior suite le deck kids club blue ginger beach front water sports tennis courts il corallo main pool a la carte restaurants plunge pool beach hawkers our honeymoon escape package
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 3,194 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2017

The location of this hotel was perfect. A 15min bus ride took us to bustling Grand Baie. A short walk along the beach took us to the village of Trou aux Biches with its numerous restaurants, shops and travel agents. All of this on the most beautiful soft sandy beach. The hotel was stunning with water features. Our villa was spacious with a large balcony overlooking a pool and the largest bathroom I have ever seen.
Unfortunately the hotel is let down by its staff. There is no concierge. When we asked one of the staff where the bus stop was we were told to get a taxi, but we wanted to experience the local transport. When we asked for information about points of interest etc we were directed to a lady sitting at a desk who was a rep for a travel company and wanted to charge us exorbitant amounts for organized coach trips.
All the restaurants except the buffet have to be reserved through the food and beverage desk where they seem to put their rudest members of staff.We were celebrating our 50th anniversary while we were there and wanted to organise something special.but got no help whatsoever. We then requested a special table at one of the restaurants for the day a week in advance and were told we could put our names down but if there was a wedding they would have priority. Fair enough, but when we checked the day before the event were told there was no wedding but the table had been reserved by someone else. we ended up organising our own celebration at another restaurant outside the hotel.
I loved Trou aux Biches but will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in a junior suite which was beautiful. The beach was fantastic and overall the resort was great. The perfect way to relax and end our honeymoon having come from safari in South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Perfect in all ways. Food was excellent, staff were friendly and accommodating, loads of activities if you like but equally quiet if you want to relax. Swimming with dolphins was a great added bonus..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leeaB3936AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Trou aux Biches resort. We stayed in a private villa with outside bath & shower & own pool! We were looked after in a friendly but professional way by Chipper; he was fabulous, we were all very fond of him by the end of our stay. The food in the resort was good but we especially enjoyed eating the Mauritian cuisine & BBQ cooked by Chipper in our own villa.
We booked a trip through the hotel to go out into the bay and had the chance of a life time to swim with dolphins! The kids loved this, even the youngest my little 5 year old hopped in with her vest & mask. The water sports at the hotel were great & readily available as were vests, flippers & masks.
It was very expensive though to eat and drink anything at the hotel which was outside of your package.
A lovely luxurious hotel with friendly staff that we would definitely visit again if we were to return to Mauritius.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous everything: location, rooms (second shower outside under the stars...), food (a chunk of raw tuna which chefs thinly sliced, wow); divine pools, proximity to the beach (right on it) and the gardens!!!!!! People who love palms, stay there to walk the alley of miniature dates or clumps of red Royal palms. Maintained immaculately. Transportation within hotel in golf cars. We had 5 a.m.departure - they served great breakfast just for two of us. All absolutely perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheOneFromNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews