We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palmiste Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour flight to be told we had to wait 3 hours until our room was ready, we waited in reception in winter clothes with just 1 fruit juice offered. The room was better than expected, spacious with a view of the pool BUT the bathroom stank of sewage which was coming from the drain in the shower. We complained and they sent a cleaner who put some bleach down the loo. The bathroom smelt of sewage for 3 weeks, so badly that you had to hold a towel over your nose. Cockroaches scuttled about the floor and one got in to the clothes in the wardrobe. The food was OK but repetitive. The staff at the bar and reception were not very friendly but the lady who cleaned our room was lovely. The final straw was when we had a cyclone warning that never happened and the hotel seemed to totally shut down, very little food and no staff to clean the rooms or even replace towels. We went to another hotel further along the road where everything was running as normal. All in all we had a good holiday but we could not recommend le Palmiste.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    221
    108
    32
    17
See reviews for
93
317
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel, it was by far the best time of my life. The staff are at all times friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms spacious and location great. We arrived late at night and we had a few sandwiches and ice cild drinks waiting for us. By that time the bar were already closed so we spoke to the manager and he asked the bartender to open up just so that we can have a very first cocktail in mauritius..

I loved laying on the sunbed soaking up the sun and the bar tender Kevin occasionally try and get our attention (throwing us with ice lol) to order cocktails. They would play music around the main pool and we would sing along but some of the older crowds didnt like it so they put it off.

Everyday was a new experience, i fell inlove with the hotel overall with Mauritius. I must say when visiting i found that Mauritius is not entirely what they make it out to be on TV or Magazines. Its a poor country, yes its got all the beautiful hotels but who benefits???? I Love this hotel and staff not only for its hospitality or beauty but for the owners looking after the people of mauritius.

One evening a young girl and her father/uncle entertained us at dinner. She had the voice of an angel. The food was delicious, Im from South Africa i work in the Tourism industry and what i have experienced in my own country and in Maurtius i must say i prefer Mauritius above ours. When you would say hi to staff and even ask them how they were doing they would smile and be a bit in shock. you see it shouldnt come just from one way yes they must provide you with a good service but if you have a negative attitude before giving them a chance then obviously your stay wont be pleasant.

I like watching tv and unfortunately all channels were in french but that didnt bother me. I should be sued for wanting to watch tv while im on such an exotic island. The swimming pools were well maintained, im young so i def loved the music the dj entertained us with but the fun didnt end there. on two occasion i went to diff night clubs. Amazing the attention you get when people find out you are from South Africa. We found it funny that the dj is the same person who does the aerobics and all the other activities that happens at the hotel. he always tried to include us when he was busy with a group but we were just plain lazy,

The owner thought for a while that myself and my friend are from mauritius. At first he looked like a very serious guy that wont interact but when he did his inspections he always greeted us with a smile, he even took pictures with us but insisted that we should not load the pics on facebook lol.

As ive mentioned the food was very very good. Its very similar to ours in South Africa, breakfast and supper was included. There were no need for us to eat lunch at the hotel cause i usually had a very big breakfast but i always looked forward to dinner. The pasta with creamy sauce and their curries were the best. The General Manager always interacted with us same with the bartenders located at the restaurant. We were two girls alone traveling for the first time we wanted to have an awesome time and we got just that and more. The rate is very affordable for location and food. The waitresses at breakfast and dinner always looking after our needs. I think we raised a few eyebrows. We ate alot but never gained any weight lol

if you decide to visit this hotel and you read all negative comments on this site rather dont visit. Your stay will not be that pleasant as you will just find wrong with almost everything cause your mind have now already been infected. or maybe you should go, the hotel and staff will show you why its the best option for you and prove those wrong that find fault with almost everything. From Chrisheila and Leonore

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrisheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Excellent value.
Many, if not most of Le Palmiste guests, are repeat visitors.
We have been to this hotel at least six times in the past 3 years. Every visit was a pleasure. We normally take the 2 bedroomed mini-suite around the main pool. Yes, it is noisier, but we like the extra space.
We spend 2 to 3 months per year in Mauritius, so a sea-view is not that important. Le Palmiste is one block away from the best beach in Mauritius. Trou aux Biches.
Chez Popo supermarche is only 200 metres from this hotel, as is the bus stop, pharmacy, ATM, beach, and the best diving centre; Dive dream diving centre. And of course the ocean walk, underwater scooters etc.
We have visited most of the 5 star hotels on the island, and some of them are really super. But if you want an extended holiday, and want to stay in a hotel, and don't mind being one block from the beach, this is the best.
Pro's; very central location, clean spacious rooms, good service, buffets with nice variety. 3 pools. And the staff try to please guests ... very important
Cons; one block from beach. rooms around main pool noisy in season. Very small grounds. Tv in French, no English channels.
Will we return? Oh yes, we are going again in January.

Room Tip: Rooms around reception area pool are better, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvB-CvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Arrived at 11:00 , to be told that the all inclusive deal did not start till 14:00 , and the room would not be ready till then ----indian red tape at its worst.
Swimming pools have a greasy tide mark at the edge composed of peoples body secretions , .[ tip take some ear drops if you intend to use the pool] .
Rooms clean , CNN only english TV channel, lit by energy saving light bulbs , so light is minimal. Water not available on a couple of afternoons
Staff are generaly helpful , but managment have no intrest in resolving any problems,[ like clean the swimming pool, ] food reasonable .
Cafeteria style restaurant , bare feet , shorts , vest ,not a problem. No smoking signs but guests felt free to smoke----great if you are a smoker .Not so good for the rest.
Bar serves some awful cheap spirit if you are on an inclusive deal , and only a couple of cocktails, only sugar free soft drink is water or sometimes diet coke [ tip buy a bottle of duty free for your room].
Entertainment on a couple of nights only .
You have to cross a busy road to reach the beach , take great care if you have children. At night to avoid the beach area at night due to feral dogs and other safety issues.
Small salon at hotel £41 for an 18 min head massage , so london prices + .
Taxis generally will rip you off , unfortunately many of the locals will see you as easy money , but a bus is cheap.
The hotel falls short of a three star with the poor management in place and is over priced ; with the high standards and great deals in place in other parts of the world i can not recomend this hotel of Mauritious

Room Tip: Some of the guests had very noisy air con , ours was fine , so do not hesitate to ask for a move if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dave3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We spent three weeks at Le Palmiste and Spa in Trou aux Biches in Mauritius and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We travelled with Mercury Direct and were very pleased with their service. The weather was magnificent as was our experience of the island.
We had a friendly greeting from Poonam at reception and shortly afterwards were given a welcome drink, which we needed after the 90 minute transfer from the airport.
We got there at 1030 and had to wait until 1230 for our room so had to buy some drinks while waiting. Drinks can be expensive there. We were on All Inclusive but that does not start until 1400 on the day of arrival.
We were in room 210 overlooking the main swimming pool, there are three plus a children’s pool. The room was very big with a double bed and a large bathroom with just a shower. The balcony was also big and like all of them had a Rattan screen surround. This is supposed to be for privacy but I have never seen that before. There were two armchairs with seat cushions and a large glass topped table on the patio. In the bathroom there was only a shower, which worked very well with constant hot water, with a soap dispenser in there, and a bar of soap and a small bottle of body lotion by the sink. There was a fridge in the room and air conditioning.
There is an electronic safe and a CRT television with just BBC World and CNN for us to watch. The BBC channel was only there during the day, not at night.
We unpacked and were glad we brought some of our own hangers as there weren't many in the wardrobe and most of them couldn't be removed which made hanging clothes difficult.
The first day we were there was evidence of mosquitoes so I went to reception and was given an electric mosquito killer with some tablets. The machine had a European plug and on enquiring I was told I would need to purchase an adaptor for €3 to make it work as all the plugs in Mauritius are the same as in the UK. I didn’t buy the adaptor and there was very little activity of the insects during our stay. It was another of those Basil Fawlty moments mentioned in an earlier review. It’s not the cost it’s the principle.
The food overall was quite good and all buffet style with breakfast comprising of fresh fruit, omelette with very good Back Bacon, Chicken Sausages, Baked Beans, Rolls and toast. There were also potatoes, and grilled tomatoes as well as Ham, Cheese, Croissants and cake and freshly made pancakes. The coffee was freshly brewed and quite good. The tea was of a good quality.
Lunch and dinner have a selection of salads, meat and fish main courses and desserts. The fish was mainly Tuna and Dorado as the cost of using small local fish would be too much for a three star hotel. They had themed evenings in the restaurant with Chinese, Indian, Italian, French and Mauritian food available. There was always something to everyone’s taste. At breakfast and lunch Suren and Vanessa saw to our every need and at dinner Babita looked after us like one of her family.
There is a disco at weekends but as it is underground it is not a noise problem. DJ Vijay is the Animation Team and works very hard to provide a range of activities throughout the day and into the night.
There are many tours of the island available but it pays to shop around. The Tour Operators are very expensive.
The beach is four minutes walking time away and is uncrowded and the water is very clean and fairly warm.
The local buses are really great and they are cheap. Taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel is beautifully located .
Pros :- Nice room service, pleasant staff, excellent menus for dinner and lunch, various entertainment programs, A supermarket 'Chez Poppo' @ 2 mins walk from the hotel ,a small eatout place Souvenir on the right on teh hotel .. its awesome... ATM located opp to this hotel.

Public beach is beautiful and watersports available. Bus stop nearby the hotel !!! Thomas Cook exchange near the hotel ( Do not use the Le Palmiste exchange )

Cons: - not many , but yes, monotonous breakfast ,

BUt yes being a honeymoon trip and a first international trip.. We had good memories and would highly recommend this hotel for value for money !!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the ground floor :) also buy water/beer from the supermarket Chez Poppo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jinks_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our 4th visit in 30months and it was better than ever. The food quality is excellent although choice for salads at lunch has decreased. We have never felt happier on holiday than we feel when we are at Le Palmiste. The biggest plus for the hotel is its staff from Raphael down all are so geared to being your friend and to making your stay happy and memorable they cannot do enough for you. If you are looking for a very special place for a wonderful holiday in a paradise location with all your needs catered for look no further friends Le Palmiste is that place. Raphael we shall be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent we have always been delighted with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manutdManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
1.5 km away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.7 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 km away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palmiste Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palmiste Resort & Spa

Property: Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Address: Rte Cotiere, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palmiste Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Palmiste is situated in the most charming facets of Mauritius, the North West, more precisely in the coastal village of Trou aux Biches. Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reveals itself in a very warm atmosphere surrounded by an exotic garden situated at not more than two minutes from the public beach of Trou aux Biches.Distances: 60 Km from the airportHotel Facilities: • 81 rooms • Restaurant • Wifi facilities• Bar & Pool Bar ( Le Ralph`s Bar )• 3 Swimming pools• Meeting room • 1 Kids Pool • Spa, Esthetique, Hammam, Jacuzzi & Sauna• Hairdressing • Tour desk & transport • Reading lounge • Night club Accommodations 81 rooms in 3 categories of rooms:41 Standard roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.28 Superior roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.12 Family rooms Garden and pool view with one double bed and one adjoining two twin beds for 2 kidsAll rooms are equipped with:Telephone with direct international accessIndividual digital safe LCD TV with local and satellite channelsBathrooms with showers Mini bar (upon request)Tea/Coffee,Hair Dryer,Electricity 220-240VElectric shaver pointRestaurants Le Cateau Vert - offering buffet breakfast, lunch a la carte and dinner theme buffets and menus. SPA Le Lotus center is the wellness lounge for relaxation and enjoying the peacefulness .The wellness lounge provide facilities of Sauna, Jacuzzi, and Steam bath and massage treatments .Using only the finest natural ingredients, our attentive and unassuming therapists will help rejuvenate your body and revitalize your mind to fully appreciate your surroundings vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Palmiste
Le Palmiste Mahebourg
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing