We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Two day trek adventure to Toubkal Peak!!! No words to explain how amazing it was!”

Trek in Atlas Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 28 Outdoor Activities in Imlil
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We organize Trekking. Hiking. Dining. Camel ride. Imperial cities. Day trips.Marrakech. Tours. Private tours, guided trekking & walking holidays in Morocco, hiking, Mountain Bike, road cycling, camel ride, horseback riding, surfing, kiteboarding, 4WD expeditions, Atlas Mountains, Sahara desert & Atlantic coast as well as the imperial cities. Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children. We offer private tour around Marrakech.We specialise in giving our customers an insight to Moroccan culture with also beautiful scenery. We tailored our trips according to each customers but a day in the Atlas Mountains more often. Our aim is for travellers to benefit from and unique experience and it is also to share this experience and its benefit with the local villages we regularly stopped a discovery a real cell farmer market,
Reviewed November 14, 2017

The main highlight of our Moroccan trip is the 2 day trek to the Toubkal peak where we reached the Refuge Camp at 3,200m! If you are looking for an adventure in Morocco, then climb Toubkal!! And if you're wondering how to climb it safely, then we highly highly recommend contacting Hassan! He was very organised and genuine and will provide you with excellent guides. He organised a free taxi to pick us up from our accommodation to Imlil where you start your journey. It took us 6 hours to reach the Refuge camp which was 3,200 metres up where we stayed for the night and planned to climb the peak at 4am! Unfortunately we did not manage to climb all the way to the peak as my girlfriend had altitude sickness during the night and couldn't sleep but our guide Mohamed made the right decision for us not to continue as the climb to the peak during the time was very difficult due to the heavy snow and will be dangerous for my girlfriend. Mohamed kept a high spirit and we managed to climb down safely. We are still very happy and very keen in coming back during summer to finish our climb!!!

Tips: If you are climbing during winter, bring loads of thermal layer and extra socks as the base camp is extremely cold!!! Also bring proper hiking boots as the terrain is very difficult. I recommend acclimatising to a higher altitude before climbing as this is the highest peak in North Africa! Hassan will provide you a couple of water bottles to bring so you don't need to bring some. Overall, we are very happy to find Trek in Atlas company!

Thank jerickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Your main highlight of your Morocco trip is the 2 day trek to the Toubkal peak. it's our pleasure to give our trust to our clients when they are with us to be happy and safety.
Thank you very very much for this great experiense

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"healthy food"
in 2 reviews
"reliable guide"
in 2 reviews
"dropped off"
in 3 reviews
"his mother"
in 2 reviews
"berber culture"
in 5 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews
"guide hassan"
in 3 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 3 reviews
"riding camels"
in 2 reviews
"his team"
in 5 reviews
"highest peak"
in 3 reviews
"base camp"
in 3 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 3 reviews
"desert trip"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
"hard work"
in 2 reviews
"jebel toubkal"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 90 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved this trek and would highly recommend! Even when we had to delay by a day due to illness, Hassan reworked the itinary for us and even allowed us to stay at his house!! Beautiful food was cooked for us every evening. From initial emails through to the trip communication was excellent. Our guide on the treks Hamid was fantastic, really knowledgable, fun and we were just at ease in his company the whole time. The Atlas Mountains are incredible and it's an absolute must see on a visit to Morocco.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

it's my pleasure to give our trust to our clients when they are with us and be in safety hands.
Thank you very very much for your visit and hopefully to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Overall a great trip; Hassan was very attentive before we arrived at Imlil, and didn't complain when we were over 2 hours late. We were then handed over to an experienced guide Abdul with us the whole 2 days/1 night. We stayed in the Toubkal Refuge half way up the mountain with lots of other travellers which was a no-frills bunk bed dorm (but fun). Nice simple food. Would generally recommend doing this route - quite physically demanding (but in a good way) and really beautiful at the summit & saddle.

Thank carolyne q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

it's my pleasure to give our trust to our clients when they are with us and be in safety hands.
Thank you very very much for your visit and hopefully to welcome you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

I really can't recommend this experience highly enough; take your hiking boots and be prepared for some hard work but if you get to the top of the Toubkal you'll have an unforgettable holiday story to tell when you get home!

Our guide Mohammed was brilliant, and remained patiently supportive when the going got a little tough. Thanks to his advice and expertise, we made the trek to the summit in the early hours of the morning on day two of the trek, reaching the peak in time for sunrise. Climbing by torchlight was quite an experience, but bearing the cold was worth it for the sight of the sun rising over the mountains (not to mention a welcome relief from climbing in the heat of the day).

The food provided on the trek was plentiful and delicious - far better than most of the meals we had in Marrakech. You certainly won't go hungry, but bring a few dirham so you can buy drinks along the way. There's freshly squeezed orange juice at a few of the stopping points and if you're walking in the heat of the day you'll need it. Take plenty of water too.

Brace yourself for a long day on day two, regardless of when you start. You've got to make it to the summit, then back down and back to the village where it all starts.

A truly memorable experience. Go prepared! You won't regret it.

1  Thank LazRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

it's my pleasure to give our trust to our clients when they are with us and be in safety hands.
Thank you very very much for your visit and hopefully to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience in Morocco, and with Hassan's tour we trekked to the top of Morocco's highest peak, Mt. Toubkal. We did some overnight conditioning hikes around Imlil before the multiday trek to the top. While the mountains weren't as big as some of the mountains in Alaska, they were still amazing nonetheless. The food was spectacular and plentiful, and Hassan was very knowledgeable about the local area. After the trek we went on a multiday roadtrip to the Sahara desert to ride camels. The cherry on top for this trip was Hassan's jovial and easy-going personality. The last day of the trip was seeing the Cascade D'Ouzard, Morocco's highest waterfall. I would definitely recommend Morocco and Hassan.

Thank mechajerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks lot for this honest Review my friend Jeremy, we are so glad that you had an amzing experience with us during your grand trip to Morocco. we hope to welcome you again.... best regards Jeremy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trek in Atlas Day Tours also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Trek in Atlas Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing