We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming and Safe Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Welcoming and Safe Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was booked by our tour company for a 2 night stay before we began our safari experience in Botswana. It is not as conveniently located as the City Lodge which is right on the airport grounds. However, a quick walk through the airport, out the back door and there is a shuttle bus waiting to deliver you after about a 10 minute ride. It is located just off the freeway so, inaccessable to any sites but the front desk staff were very helpful in getting us a taxi to take us to a shopping mall and the next night, to a restaurant. The cab driver gives you his cell # and you call him when ready for the return trip. The hotel is gated with a security guard, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is delicious. Front desk staff was also helpful in recommending a small, local tour company for a day tour of Johannesburg. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed here before and it's a pretty average, overpriced (but aren't all airport hotels?), only-airport-users-use-it-hotel experience, inconveniently located next to NOTHING - but ultimately nothing to really complain about. Basically clean and manageable for overnight layovers (aside from the fact it is a long ride to the hotel in peak hour traffic).

But this time, customer service BOMBED. I phoned to pay ahead for my pre-made booking, since myself and colleagues would be arriving at different times, and as the ultimate "bill settler", I didn't want there to be any confusion as people arrived, possibly thinking that they were responsible to make individual payments upon arrival (which is the custom at Town Lodge). Imagine my surprise when I was told by the curt receptionist answering the phone that this was categorically impossible, because they simply could not under any circumstances take my Visa card number over the phone. :-| Really? Even with my security number and verification upon arrival? She explained that should I desire to pay for our rooms in advance, I would have to "simply" (remember, I'm in transit) -
1. be near a fax or email so that she could send me a form
2. be able/have the facilities to print out said form
3. fill it out
4. attach to the form a copy or scan of the FRONT AND BACK of my credit card (and my I.D.?!?)
5. either then re-scan and email or
6. fax it all back to her.

THEN and only then, would my bill be able to be charged to my Visa card 24 hrs in advance of arriving for our stay.

Right. And when I explained to her I am on field work in a neighbouring developing country with no capability to simply send and receive emails, faxes, print copies of things, etc. and literally IN TRANSIT, she grunted at me. Yes, grunted. Or, more like a "hmmphh!" and something to the effect of "oh well, your problem". Absolutely no desire to help whatsoever. It's all my tough luck and I'll just have to deal with it. Unusually bad attitude and customer service for South African hospitality standards. And at the front desk, the customer's first point of contact, even.
Wow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Germiston hotels

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed at this Lodge a few times and always enjoy it as a professional, business stopover near the airport. The 24 hours check in is great (I like B&Bs but they always want to know when you are arriving - which is not always possible to tell them), the rooms are clean and comfortable, bed is firm, and there is a nice selection of pillows. The bathroom is tiny but adequate and the shower pressure was good. The breakfast is good - a selection of the normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
267 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Close to the airport, about 10 minutes by car, easy to access. Cash payment is up front at check in, for the 1st 15 minutes internet is free, thereafter internet access is really expensive. The room was clean, the shower spacious, the room TV is really small with the remote control fixed to the bedside stand. The breakfast buffet will satisfy most guests. In the afternoon and evening one can relax at the bar and watch the sports channel. Even though the hotel is located along a highway there is not much traffic noise. Adjacent to the hotel's parking lot and accessible with the room key card is the restaurant Rawhide. There are no shops in walking distance. At US$ 110 for the room and another 20 US$ for the breakfast buffet the hotel certainly is not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

was there on transit to home..descent place..clean room..spacious bathroom..good breakfast..and bar prices are so cheap..very good place to stay of you are on transit and wont be going out much..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very close to airport, less than 5 mins drive. Handy as this was the pick up point for Intrepid Tours. Rooms are very small, door to shower wouldn't open. Free wifi for 1st 15 mins. They dont have room service and there are no shops around the place are you are in the midst of their freeway. Reception gives out free muffins, fruit & juice so stock up when you are going on tour to Kruger National Park. Reception staff very accommodating & went out of their way in arranging breakfast for us at 5am - before the kitchen opened.

Room Tip: check that shower doors dont jam
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

It was ok in all dimensions except poor value at R710/night (plus R52 each way for airport shuttle), and the heating in the room didn't work (and morning temp outside was -2 degrees!) Thicker walls than the sister, cheaper Road Lodge so at least i could sleep, but only to wake up as an icycle in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germiston
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
4.5 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
3.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Road Lodge Isando
Road Lodge Isando
#4 of 8 in Germiston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.0 km away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
0.7 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg

Property: Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg
Address: Herman Road | Harmelia, Ext 2, Germiston 1613, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the R24 airport freeway the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways for the northern, eastern, western and central suburbs. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from O.R.Tambo International Airport for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Germiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing