We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
16
39
11
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
39
11
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tugela river private ablutions small shop self catering onsite restaurant cleaned daily royal national park table tennis two night stay views of the mountains sleeper chalet camp sites are views are amazing braai area bird life a wonderful stay camping
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

An absolute favourite resort,situated on a plateau,and visited annually.
Tranquility,ample bird life,beautiful views of the Drakensberg Amphitheatre showing the source of the Tugela River.Distant cocks crowing,dogs barking,cattle grazing at the river's edge down below the resort.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank smirno592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We've stayed twice at Hlalanathi. The last time was during the winter. The chalets have a lovely view over the berg. There is everything you need for a self catering stay in the chalets. Golf course, trampoline, jungle gym for the kids, place to go for walks/ride their bikes.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tinktinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Good views, Good service by everyone at the resort. The golf course could have been in a little better shape, not expecting it to be ups to the standards of like Royal Johannesburg but the greens had a lot of patches with no grass at all.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 525aidenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

I just want to thank the everyone at Hlalanathi. We (and all our guests) had a wonderful experience. The rooms have an absolutely gorgeous mountain view, they were clean, well maintained, spacious and well stocked with everything we needed. Our group thoroughly enjoyed the pool and braai area, as well as the table tennis and trampoline area. There is a water slide almost finished being constructed and it looks like it will be a lot of fun. Everybody was so friendly and accommodating and this made the whole experience so very special.

I would particularly like to give The Oak and Ale Restaurant located at the Resort a big thumbs up. We have now eaten there numerous times and their food is delicious, there service is great and the people who work there are really friendly. Lisa and Geoff went above and beyond for us. We really enjoyed the craft beer and had a wonderful evening at the bar and pool table. Thank you so much for accommodating our very large group and making our stay so enjoyable. It would not have been the same without all your help.

Thank you again! Hope to see you soon.

Room tip: Most Chalets are situated along the edge and have a great view. The four sleepers are particularly spacious.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SamanthaM1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Weekend stay with a group of family and friends. We had a 6 sleeper chalet (3 bedroom) and the views are amazing from all the rooms. Units are spacious and modern with outside braai (BBQ) facilities and the kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering Camp sites are also available. Onsite restaurant with bar available and there is also a restaurant / pizzeria a few kilometres away which we can recommend (Tower of Pizza). Small shop adjacent to the reception which stocks the necessities and a few luxuries etc. The Royal National park is about 20km away and a great place to spend a day outdoors hiking, swimming and game spotting. Can recommend Hlalanathi at a relaxing getaway in the middle of nature

Room tip: Chalet 11 seems to be the most spacious and has a great view (6 sleeper).
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceR1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews