We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hlalanathi Drakensberg Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
US$228
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$273
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$266
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
15
38
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
38
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstugela riversmall shopself cateringonsite restauranttable tennisroyal national parkviews are amazingsleeper chaletcamp sites arebird lifebraai areaviews of the mountainsa wonderful stayhorse ridingcampinggeofffireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

An absolute favourite resort,situated on a plateau,and visited annually.
Tranquility,ample bird life,beautiful views of the Drakensberg Amphitheatre showing the source of the Tugela River.Distant cocks crowing,dogs barking,cattle grazing at the river's edge down below the resort.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We've stayed twice at Hlalanathi. The last time was during the winter. The chalets have a lovely view over the berg. There is everything you need for a self catering stay in the chalets. Golf course, trampoline, jungle gym for the kids, place to go for walks/ride their bikes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tinktinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Good views, Good service by everyone at the resort. The golf course could have been in a little better shape, not expecting it to be ups to the standards of like Royal Johannesburg but the greens had a lot of patches with no grass at all.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 525aidenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I just want to thank the everyone at Hlalanathi. We (and all our guests) had a wonderful experience. The rooms have an absolutely gorgeous mountain view, they were clean, well maintained, spacious and well stocked with everything we needed. Our group thoroughly enjoyed the pool and braai area, as well as the table tennis and trampoline area. There is a water slide almost finished being constructed and it looks like it will be a lot of fun. Everybody was so friendly and accommodating and this made the whole experience so very special.

I would particularly like to give The Oak and Ale Restaurant located at the Resort a big thumbs up. We have now eaten there numerous times and their food is delicious, there service is great and the people who work there are really friendly. Lisa and Geoff went above and beyond for us. We really enjoyed the craft beer and had a wonderful evening at the bar and pool table. Thank you so much for accommodating our very large group and making our stay so enjoyable. It would not have been the same without all your help.

Thank you again! Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Most Chalets are situated along the edge and have a great view. The four sleepers are particularly spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Weekend stay with a group of family and friends. We had a 6 sleeper chalet (3 bedroom) and the views are amazing from all the rooms. Units are spacious and modern with outside braai (BBQ) facilities and the kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering Camp sites are also available. Onsite restaurant with bar available and there is also a restaurant / pizzeria a few kilometres away which we can recommend (Tower of Pizza). Small shop adjacent to the reception which stocks the necessities and a few luxuries etc. The Royal National park is about 20km away and a great place to spend a day outdoors hiking, swimming and game spotting. Can recommend Hlalanathi at a relaxing getaway in the middle of nature

Room Tip: Chalet 11 seems to be the most spacious and has a great view (6 sleeper).
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews