We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in our Trifecta of Stays- this is the Ruaha National Park- Remote and Thrilling!”
Review of Jongomero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jongomero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We spent three nights in this camp and I cannot say enough good things about the entire experience. The warmth of the staff, the excellence of the food and the great surroundings. Theo our guide was phenomenal, we learned so much. Even though the bush was grown we saw a lot of game and enjoyed every minute of this experience. We liked the group lighter lunches and the friendliness of everyone that worked there. Chris and Sam were welcoming and helpful and we very much appreciated Chris' knowledge of many animals of the bush. This was following our stay at Siwandu and before our stay at Ras Kutani- an overall perfect trifecta of an experience. I would recommend the complete combination.

Room Tip: Everything is good here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you so much for your review and your recommendation in combining all three of our camps - as an itinerary they offer wonderful contrasting and varied experiences as well as great value for money!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2015

This is what you get when you combine an eco-friendly lodge with excellent service and top notch location! Jongomero has really done it right...from the initial greeting and orientation, to the rooms themselves (creature comforts in the middle of the Tanzanian bush), to the food and the personal attention & service. We really enjoyed our time here!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Wonderful review - thank you so much! And we are delighted you enjoyed the balance we offer at Jongo!
Karibu tena Kenyaboy
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

This camp was the eight in our month long safari. I guess it was "Save the best to last " From the moment we arrived, we felt a different more intimate feeling in this remote camp in Ruaha compared to the northern Tanzanian circuit. Other reviewers have described the excellent accommodation, dining etc. --with which we totally agree. For us the highlight was the game walk with Chris the camp manager. He has a long experienced career and is very knowledgeable which became apparent when he heard tick birds and suspected a hippo, or buffalo in the bush. Sure enough there was an unsuspecting hippo ahead and he took swift precautionary measures to avoid an ugly situation. Kim our guide on the game drives was also excellent . We would love to return some day.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank superspaintrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Please do return soon! We are delighted you saved the best for last - as you say the southern circuit has a very different feeling from the north - more remote, less well-travelled path and more intimate - karibu tena!
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We spent three nights in the Jongomero camp during November. This place is located in one of the remotest place of Ruaha. The huge tents are very well equipped; a woody and palm roof helps to keep the very hot temperatures of the late dry season acceptable; the food is very good: probably one of the best we had in Africa. With the guide Theophile, we spent very nice moments along the river Ruaha to watch the birds - Birdlife is very well-diversified here at he beginning of the green season. The manager Chris is guiding walking safaris. We spent with him a very nice morning to discover tracks of the animals and an herd of elephants on the way ! The tsetse flies are very agressive and a notable nuisance in some places; the density of mammals is lower than in other places as well. Anyway, Jongomero is an outstanding camp and offers a good balance between outdoor activities and relaxing time in this stunning location !

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you so much for your review of our camp and we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us.
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We have visited Africa several times on safari and this camp is certainly one of the best we have stayed in. Landing at the airstrip in October the area looks unpromising – a sea of dried up bushes. In fact the local landscape is fantastic, with some really beautiful areas around the small rivers and sweet smelling acacia forest.
The camp sits above a dry river bed with elephants and baboons regularly visiting. Highlights include
• Location. This camp is miles from any other. On the very rare occasions you see another vehicle it will be one from the camp
• The central building is very nice and the spacious tents superb, with 24 hour hot water from the solar heated shower.
• A lovely pool overlooking the river bed
• Good food and wines. Unusually this camp does not include drinks in the price (though those on offer were not overpriced)
• Abundance of wildlife and superb birdlife. We started joking that we would not take any more pictures unless they contained at least three species. Many lions and elephants. We also saw cheetah. The animals here are notably more relaxed than in Selous where we had just come from
• Fantastic guiding from Theo – many thanks for making our stay
• A great game walk led by Emiel, the relief camp manager. He was a fount of information and a real character.
Yes there are a few tsetse flies. These were only really an issue when driving near wildlife and not in the camp itself. They laugh at DEET. On the guide’s advice we changed to Mosi-guard and were rarely bitten thereafter. Please don’t let this put you off going. They were a minor inconvenience in an otherwise superb stay. Mosquitos were all but absent.
Overall this camp was the highlight of a great holiday. I would go back in an instant

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaveRyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you so much DaveRyall for your lovely review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in an instant!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My husband and me spent 4 days at Jongomero during a 2 week- southern Tanzania-trip in October 2015 - and even if we have already travelled extensively in Africa, Jongomero was special.
We especially liked
- the welcome with the team singing
- the very nice tents with an amazing number of animals right up front (almost every day a large herd of elephants spent their "lunch break" on the other side of the dry river, noisily shaking the palm trees to get to their beloved palm nuts; furthermore we saw jackals, loads of Impala, monkeys and baboons, heard a bushbaby :-))
- interesting game drives in beautiful landscape and good game sightings
- our very knowledgeable and easygoing guide (thx Leonard!)
- long talks about life and everything with relief manager Emiel, who was simply a delight to meet
- a very serene and interesting game walk with Emiel (and a beautiful breakfast in the bush)
The only thing we could have done without were the really annoying tsetse flies, even though the burning elephant dung helps at least a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Africa-Fangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

We really appreciate you taking time to post and telling us your thoughts on Jongomero - and lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! Please come back and see us again soon!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Jongomero was everything you would want in a camp. Animals surround the tents night and day. The staff are all very friendly and efficient. There were so many elephants around the camp, and others pointed out to us in the evenings. The guides are excellent and will ensure that you get the most from the game drives. The safari walk early in the morning was definitely worth the extra dollars. A fabulous experience overall.

Room Tip: All the bandas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabado113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you Sabado113 for your review - sounds like you enjoyed both drives and walks in Ruaha and we would love to host you again - come abck and see us again soon!

SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jongomero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jongomero

Address: Jongomero, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jongomero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For anyone seeking a true African wilderness experience, a visit to Ruaha National Park is essential. One of Tanzania's wildest parks, Ruaha can only be described as a true unspoiled natural wilderness. Superbly isolated right in the heart of the Ruaha National Park lies Jongomero on the banks of a seasonal sand river which bears the same name. Blending in beautifully with its surroundings the camp is tucked away among some shady riverine vegetation not far from permanent water therefore attracting a large amount of animals into the camp area. Being the only camp situated in this area of the park ensures unmatched privacy and a true wilderness experience. The camp is made up of 8 stunning suites, spaced out along the Jongomero sandriver. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jongomero Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing