We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge(Ruaha National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mdonya Old River Camp(Ruaha National Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mabata Makali lodge(Ruaha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
171
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry river bedwelcome songgame drivesthe riverdry seasontsetse fliesother campsherd of elephantshis teamlong sleevesevery member of stafftented rooms arebeautiful wildernessremote placeelephant dungan excellent guidehis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Jongomero is a fascinating location; our first safari and we were not disappointed. Jaded after our long flight from the UK, we decided to rest rather than plunge into our first game drive at 4pm, We rested in our tent, only to be joined for half an hour by 2 giraffe across the river bed. There were memorable moments when we did go on the game drives, breakfast in the bush, a coffee break surrounded by elephants, prides of lions lazing about, beautiful birds; I could go on. A herd of elephants joined us in the camp one afternoon.
The tents were luxurious, but don't expect to sleep - too many interruptions from local inhabitants. Its 5 and a half hours to local shop but the food is delicious and varied. The staff are warm and friendly and very interesting to talk to. Special mention to our great guide Allen, Elias, George et. al. waiting staff and Sylvana who kept our tent so immaculately.

Room Tip: All tents have a view over the dry river bed.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudge04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Such a brilliant review - thank you for posting your thoughts and stories - and we agree - the armchair safari is ridiculously underrated - sit back in the quiet of Jongo and enjoy the wildlife from the comfort of our lounge or the daybed on your veranda - really is a treat!
Karibuni tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

A great camp in Ruaha N.P. , it is miles from the other camps & as Ruaha is bigger than Wales you do not see any other vehicles apart from those from the camp itself . We had the Land Rover to ourselves or shared with just one other couple & our guide
Theo give us some wonderful animal encounters particularly with Elephants which came close to the Rover ! The tent is great & everything you need is there , we over looked the dry river bed & from our veranda watched 40 Elephants come do to dig for water one afternoon. You get an early morning call with hot chocolate as it was chilly in the mornings & then have a lovely breakfast before your drive . The park itself was beautiful with a nice river that could come out of the Scottish highlands except for the Hippos, & empty of people . Lunch was a communal affair which was very nice while dinner was served on separate tables one night we had ours by the pool which was marvellous & again they look after my wife very well. Sam & Chris run a brilliant camp with happy friendly & efficient staff , a sensational place plus Elephants!!!

Room Tip: Tent 1 with view of river
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Thank you so much Craig for your review and taking the time to share your experiences - we are delighted you loved the wilds Ruaha has to offer and enjoyed the camp as well as the activities, not to mention our glorious ellies!!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016

After a 2 hour flight into the depth of Ruaha National Park,our spirits were a little bit jaded,but not for long.
The welcome we received arriving at the camp was to be greeted by the entire staff,singing, dancing,waving and smiling at us,along with cold towels and even better ,a refreshing drink ,soon brought us back to life!
Normally checking in is a dreary affair,but when we sat down in Sam and Chris's open lounge overlooking the river bed,we were immediately distracted by a variety of wild life ,we knew we had picked a wonderful lodge.
We had Leonard as our guide,and it is their skill and knowledge that determines your Safari success,and we were never disappointed.
We have travelled quite extensively in Africa ,but never seen such a variety of landscapes,from woodland to sensational drives along the Ruaha river still with some water at the height of the dry season ,which attracted so much variety of game.
Our hosts Sam and Chris have so much talent and imagination,that every night we ate under the stars in different locations,and how the food can be so good in this remote area is a credit the Chef and his kitchen.
Sleeping was not a problem on our tastefully furnished tents, all overlooking the river,
and how they found such efficient and helpful staff,who were always smiling and always there to see to our many needs,is a memory that will live with us for ever!!!

Thanks for everything.
Mike ,Lynne,Nick and Joan.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank michaelcudahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of Jongomero - we are thrilled you loved your time with us and enjoyed the food, the staff, the tents, the guides and gorgeous Ruaha! Come back and see us again soon
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016

The only reason I picked Jongomero was because it was the closest camp to the path of the solar eclipse that I planned to see on my 60th birthday trip. I was so wrong. There were so many better reasons to visit Jongomero. The game drives were spectacular and the lodging and food were equally good. The elephants even came to camp to wish me a happy birthday. They munched on the scrubs outside our tent and posed for my birthday card. This camp has individual seating for meals which can be a welcome break from group dining. Before meals though we gathered for drinks. So if you really want to socialize with other visitors and the congenial staff you can. Our guide Prosper was equally good with bird sightings as he was with 4 legged critters. This was a skill that I have found missing on my 5 other trips to the African bush. The landscape around Jongomero was better than other places we visited in Ruaha. Don't worry about the tsese flies. They were at worst a minor nuisance during sundowners. I would definitely return to Jongomero even without a solar eclipse.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the dry riverbed that the game use as a highway.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review of Jongomero - we are thrilled you enjoyed all the aspects of the camp from our glorious location and landscape to our knowledgable guides and professional staff! Thank you for choosing Jongomero for your 60th!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to Jongomero and even better than the first. You arrive to the entire staff singing, Karibu. Our guide Theo, who was our guide for our first visit is now the head guide at the camp. He has a great knowledge of the bush, animals, birds and the entire park. He told us about the local people who had lived in there. Each game drive we would go to a different area. My favorite was having breakfast in the bush every morning, watching the sun rise, and listening to the bush. Great game, elephants,cape buffalo, impala, lion's, and so much more. Chef David can cook for me anytime. His food was great, and the presentation was second to none. The room is big and a great view of the sand river, you never know who is crossing or playing in the sand bed. The staff saw to everything. A Big Big thank you to Kinga and James for clearing the path back to our tent. The camp fire and Dinner on the river bed is really special. Jongomero is my favorite camp in Tanzania. I hope we will be able to return again. Thank you to the entire camp staff for making this a great, again. Kit

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

So lovely to hear Jongomero is your favourite camp in Tanzania! What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your views and we cannot wait to welcome you back the third time!
Karibu tena!
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews