We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge(Ruaha National Park)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mdonya Old River Camp(Ruaha National Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mabata Makali lodge(Ruaha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
169
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome songdry river bedgame drivesthe riverchef daviddry seasonperfect viewtsetse fliesother campsherd of elephantsour honeymoonlong sleevesevery member of stafftented rooms areset footbeautiful wildernesscandlelight dinner
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 179 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights in the camp under the care of Chris and Sam, the camp managers. Being the only camp in this part of the park, you can enjoy the tranquility of the African bush and game drives with barely a sighting of another vehicle. Each game drive was different, with our guide Allan taking the first evening to show us Kariakoo - a "marketplace" of animals teeming with elephants, giraffe, zebra, impala, baboons and vervet monkeys. Over the next few days we saw massive herds of buffalo, hippo, crocodile, waterbuck, eagles, kudu, jackals and warthog. The bird life was abundant. There weren't many big cats when we were in camp, but our guide managed to locate three lions resting up before their next hunt. The Rufiji River provides a lovely backdrop and you are guaranteed to see wildlife coming down to drink.
The camp itself is lovely - small and intimate, well-appointed permanent tents (completely glamping), excellent food and a wonderful staff . Dinner under the stars every evening was really special. As was listening to the animals moving peacefully around the camp at night (elephant?).
Make sure to go out on a walking safari. This was such a great opportunity to get into the bush on foot, accompanied by Chris and a park guide. It is a marvellous experience and very different to being a passenger on a game drive.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank kiwi4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Thank you so much Jenny for your wonderful review of the camp - we are delighted you loved the remote wilderness of Jongomero. For future guests the river is the Great Ruaha - the Rufiji is in Selous Game Reserve next to our sister camp SIwandu! Come and visit both!

Come back and see us again soon
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Beautiful soaring high ceilings to the open plan main reception/bar/lounge area and adjoining dining room, both overlooking the dry river bed.
The roomy full facility tents/suites, under a thatched roof for cool shade, were arranged at intervals along the river bank on either side of the main lodge. A very comfortable bedroom, dressing room and spacious bathroom all enclosed within an insect proofed tent with a spacious and comfortably furnished veranda to the front with views along the dry river bed.
Meals were taken either on the balcony to the dining room or more usually on a riverside terrace or perhaps down on the sand of the dry river bed. Service was outstanding, food was tasty and plentiful.
An exceptional place to stay in the remote wilds of Ruaha National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you so much for your superlative review of your stay at Jongomero - we are delighted you enjoyed the camp and also the park - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you again
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Jongomero is a fascinating location; our first safari and we were not disappointed. Jaded after our long flight from the UK, we decided to rest rather than plunge into our first game drive at 4pm, We rested in our tent, only to be joined for half an hour by 2 giraffe across the river bed. There were memorable moments when we did go on the game drives, breakfast in the bush, a coffee break surrounded by elephants, prides of lions lazing about, beautiful birds; I could go on. A herd of elephants joined us in the camp one afternoon.
The tents were luxurious, but don't expect to sleep - too many interruptions from local inhabitants. Its 5 and a half hours to local shop but the food is delicious and varied. The staff are warm and friendly and very interesting to talk to. Special mention to our great guide Allen, Elias, George et. al. waiting staff and Sylvana who kept our tent so immaculately.

Room Tip: All tents have a view over the dry river bed.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudge04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Such a brilliant review - thank you for posting your thoughts and stories - and we agree - the armchair safari is ridiculously underrated - sit back in the quiet of Jongo and enjoy the wildlife from the comfort of our lounge or the daybed on your veranda - really is a treat!
Karibuni tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

A great camp in Ruaha N.P. , it is miles from the other camps & as Ruaha is bigger than Wales you do not see any other vehicles apart from those from the camp itself . We had the Land Rover to ourselves or shared with just one other couple & our guide
Theo give us some wonderful animal encounters particularly with Elephants which came close to the Rover ! The tent is great & everything you need is there , we over looked the dry river bed & from our veranda watched 40 Elephants come do to dig for water one afternoon. You get an early morning call with hot chocolate as it was chilly in the mornings & then have a lovely breakfast before your drive . The park itself was beautiful with a nice river that could come out of the Scottish highlands except for the Hippos, & empty of people . Lunch was a communal affair which was very nice while dinner was served on separate tables one night we had ours by the pool which was marvellous & again they look after my wife very well. Sam & Chris run a brilliant camp with happy friendly & efficient staff , a sensational place plus Elephants!!!

Room Tip: Tent 1 with view of river
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Thank you so much Craig for your review and taking the time to share your experiences - we are delighted you loved the wilds Ruaha has to offer and enjoyed the camp as well as the activities, not to mention our glorious ellies!!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016

After a 2 hour flight into the depth of Ruaha National Park,our spirits were a little bit jaded,but not for long.
The welcome we received arriving at the camp was to be greeted by the entire staff,singing, dancing,waving and smiling at us,along with cold towels and even better ,a refreshing drink ,soon brought us back to life!
Normally checking in is a dreary affair,but when we sat down in Sam and Chris's open lounge overlooking the river bed,we were immediately distracted by a variety of wild life ,we knew we had picked a wonderful lodge.
We had Leonard as our guide,and it is their skill and knowledge that determines your Safari success,and we were never disappointed.
We have travelled quite extensively in Africa ,but never seen such a variety of landscapes,from woodland to sensational drives along the Ruaha river still with some water at the height of the dry season ,which attracted so much variety of game.
Our hosts Sam and Chris have so much talent and imagination,that every night we ate under the stars in different locations,and how the food can be so good in this remote area is a credit the Chef and his kitchen.
Sleeping was not a problem on our tastefully furnished tents, all overlooking the river,
and how they found such efficient and helpful staff,who were always smiling and always there to see to our many needs,is a memory that will live with us for ever!!!

Thanks for everything.
Mike ,Lynne,Nick and Joan.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank michaelcudahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of Jongomero - we are thrilled you loved your time with us and enjoyed the food, the staff, the tents, the guides and gorgeous Ruaha! Come back and see us again soon
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews