We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Tis all in the detail”
Review of Jongomero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jongomero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Second visit to this magical space. The attention to detail, personal notes of welcome & bedtime stories left on your pillow leave you feeling most pampered. Had the thought to ask a member of staff to refill the drinking water flask before going to lunch ... returned to the tent, remembering that I had forgotten to request water ... blow me down, the flask had already been filled!
Add to that a personalised walking safari, which can leave you truly in awe of your surroundings ... budding shoots after the first rains, migrant birds arriving ... hippos enjoying their pools to speak of a few ...
Chris, the camp manager is wonderfully quick witted and had us laughing out loud when not parting with his wealth of wildlife knowledge ;-)

Room Tip: All the same, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _tracestanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Jongomero - we are delighted you loved your second trip as much as the first and we are already looking forward to the third!
Karibuni tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights in the camp under the care of Chris and Sam, the camp managers. Being the only camp in this part of the park, you can enjoy the tranquility of the African bush and game drives with barely a sighting of another vehicle. Each game drive was different, with our guide Allan taking the first evening to show us Kariakoo - a "marketplace" of animals teeming with elephants, giraffe, zebra, impala, baboons and vervet monkeys. Over the next few days we saw massive herds of buffalo, hippo, crocodile, waterbuck, eagles, kudu, jackals and warthog. The bird life was abundant. There weren't many big cats when we were in camp, but our guide managed to locate three lions resting up before their next hunt. The Rufiji River provides a lovely backdrop and you are guaranteed to see wildlife coming down to drink.
The camp itself is lovely - small and intimate, well-appointed permanent tents (completely glamping), excellent food and a wonderful staff . Dinner under the stars every evening was really special. As was listening to the animals moving peacefully around the camp at night (elephant?).
Make sure to go out on a walking safari. This was such a great opportunity to get into the bush on foot, accompanied by Chris and a park guide. It is a marvellous experience and very different to being a passenger on a game drive.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank kiwi4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Thank you so much Jenny for your wonderful review of the camp - we are delighted you loved the remote wilderness of Jongomero. For future guests the river is the Great Ruaha - the Rufiji is in Selous Game Reserve next to our sister camp SIwandu! Come and visit both!

Come back and see us again soon
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Beautiful soaring high ceilings to the open plan main reception/bar/lounge area and adjoining dining room, both overlooking the dry river bed.
The roomy full facility tents/suites, under a thatched roof for cool shade, were arranged at intervals along the river bank on either side of the main lodge. A very comfortable bedroom, dressing room and spacious bathroom all enclosed within an insect proofed tent with a spacious and comfortably furnished veranda to the front with views along the dry river bed.
Meals were taken either on the balcony to the dining room or more usually on a riverside terrace or perhaps down on the sand of the dry river bed. Service was outstanding, food was tasty and plentiful.
An exceptional place to stay in the remote wilds of Ruaha National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you so much for your superlative review of your stay at Jongomero - we are delighted you enjoyed the camp and also the park - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you again
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Jongomero is a fascinating location; our first safari and we were not disappointed. Jaded after our long flight from the UK, we decided to rest rather than plunge into our first game drive at 4pm, We rested in our tent, only to be joined for half an hour by 2 giraffe across the river bed. There were memorable moments when we did go on the game drives, breakfast in the bush, a coffee break surrounded by elephants, prides of lions lazing about, beautiful birds; I could go on. A herd of elephants joined us in the camp one afternoon.
The tents were luxurious, but don't expect to sleep - too many interruptions from local inhabitants. Its 5 and a half hours to local shop but the food is delicious and varied. The staff are warm and friendly and very interesting to talk to. Special mention to our great guide Allen, Elias, George et. al. waiting staff and Sylvana who kept our tent so immaculately.

Room Tip: All tents have a view over the dry river bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudge04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Such a brilliant review - thank you for posting your thoughts and stories - and we agree - the armchair safari is ridiculously underrated - sit back in the quiet of Jongo and enjoy the wildlife from the comfort of our lounge or the daybed on your veranda - really is a treat!
Karibuni tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A great camp in Ruaha N.P. , it is miles from the other camps & as Ruaha is bigger than Wales you do not see any other vehicles apart from those from the camp itself . We had the Land Rover to ourselves or shared with just one other couple & our guide
Theo give us some wonderful animal encounters particularly with Elephants which came close to the Rover ! The tent is great & everything you need is there , we over looked the dry river bed & from our veranda watched 40 Elephants come do to dig for water one afternoon. You get an early morning call with hot chocolate as it was chilly in the mornings & then have a lovely breakfast before your drive . The park itself was beautiful with a nice river that could come out of the Scottish highlands except for the Hippos, & empty of people . Lunch was a communal affair which was very nice while dinner was served on separate tables one night we had ours by the pool which was marvellous & again they look after my wife very well. Sam & Chris run a brilliant camp with happy friendly & efficient staff , a sensational place plus Elephants!!!

Room Tip: Tent 1 with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you so much Craig for your review and taking the time to share your experiences - we are delighted you loved the wilds Ruaha has to offer and enjoyed the camp as well as the activities, not to mention our glorious ellies!!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

After a 2 hour flight into the depth of Ruaha National Park,our spirits were a little bit jaded,but not for long.
The welcome we received arriving at the camp was to be greeted by the entire staff,singing, dancing,waving and smiling at us,along with cold towels and even better ,a refreshing drink ,soon brought us back to life!
Normally checking in is a dreary affair,but when we sat down in Sam and Chris's open lounge overlooking the river bed,we were immediately distracted by a variety of wild life ,we knew we had picked a wonderful lodge.
We had Leonard as our guide,and it is their skill and knowledge that determines your Safari success,and we were never disappointed.
We have travelled quite extensively in Africa ,but never seen such a variety of landscapes,from woodland to sensational drives along the Ruaha river still with some water at the height of the dry season ,which attracted so much variety of game.
Our hosts Sam and Chris have so much talent and imagination,that every night we ate under the stars in different locations,and how the food can be so good in this remote area is a credit the Chef and his kitchen.
Sleeping was not a problem on our tastefully furnished tents, all overlooking the river,
and how they found such efficient and helpful staff,who were always smiling and always there to see to our many needs,is a memory that will live with us for ever!!!

Thanks for everything.
Mike ,Lynne,Nick and Joan.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank michaelcudahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of Jongomero - we are thrilled you loved your time with us and enjoyed the food, the staff, the tents, the guides and gorgeous Ruaha! Come back and see us again soon
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The only reason I picked Jongomero was because it was the closest camp to the path of the solar eclipse that I planned to see on my 60th birthday trip. I was so wrong. There were so many better reasons to visit Jongomero. The game drives were spectacular and the lodging and food were equally good. The elephants even came to camp to wish me a happy birthday. They munched on the scrubs outside our tent and posed for my birthday card. This camp has individual seating for meals which can be a welcome break from group dining. Before meals though we gathered for drinks. So if you really want to socialize with other visitors and the congenial staff you can. Our guide Prosper was equally good with bird sightings as he was with 4 legged critters. This was a skill that I have found missing on my 5 other trips to the African bush. The landscape around Jongomero was better than other places we visited in Ruaha. Don't worry about the tsese flies. They were at worst a minor nuisance during sundowners. I would definitely return to Jongomero even without a solar eclipse.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the dry riverbed that the game use as a highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review of Jongomero - we are thrilled you enjoyed all the aspects of the camp from our glorious location and landscape to our knowledgable guides and professional staff! Thank you for choosing Jongomero for your 60th!
Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruaha National Park
0.0 km away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
84 reviews
72.1 km away
Mabata Makali lodge
Mabata Makali lodge
#12 of 13 in Ruaha National Park
8 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jongomero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jongomero

Address: Jongomero, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jongomero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For anyone seeking a true African wilderness experience, a visit to Ruaha National Park is essential. One of Tanzania's wildest parks, Ruaha can only be described as a true unspoiled natural wilderness. Superbly isolated right in the heart of the Ruaha National Park lies Jongomero on the banks of a seasonal sand river which bears the same name. Blending in beautifully with its surroundings the camp is tucked away among some shady riverine vegetation not far from permanent water therefore attracting a large amount of animals into the camp area. Being the only camp situated in this area of the park ensures unmatched privacy and a true wilderness experience. The camp is made up of 8 stunning suites, spaced out along the Jongomero sandriver. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jongomero Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing