We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My two friends and I stayed here for two nights in March and loved it. The rooms are spotless, the beds are comfortable and have ample mosquito nets, the showers and bathrooms are nicely tiled, they have free wifi internet, the service is friendly, and the beachfront location is awesome!

People, this is not the Four Seasons. For $100/night, set your expectations accordingly. This place is an excellent value, no question.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    389
    158
    63
    23
See reviews for
260
335
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice pool and option of beach sun loungers however service poor. Had to wait 2 hours for pool towel one day and 30 minutes plus 2 reminders for breakfast eggs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriszena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Not much bad to say about this place...besides the lack of booze, which you can easily access from the bar next door.
Great service, food, atmosphere, location and views. For the price this is the best deal in Stone Town as its the only hotel with beach access.
They can help put you in touch with spice tours and dhow rides with Gladiator, a local Captain.
We stayed for 4 nights and can't wait to return. Room 26 is highly recommended.

They let us check out late the day our flight was leaving and as someone was checking into our room allowed us to shower in another room before we flew out.

Room Tip: Room 26...or any other room ocean side...the higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Grades shall be viewed from an African point and not compared to Europe.

After some weeks in the bush, it was really welcomed to stay some nights in Stown Town. Our room was ok, with AC and LCD-TV, service was good. We used the laundry service, with good result.

The only comments can be the breakfast, but that is no big remark.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokingorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My hubby and I spent two nights in the Tembo hotel this March .The room was very clean and the pool lovely and the laundry service very good .However i was bitten repeatedly at night the only hotel or lodge I stayed in that this occurred in . The mosquito nets had small holes in them and i awoke covered in bites as did several other guests i spoke to If a can of mosquito spray could be left in the rooms it might help .The menu was very diverse ,I was enjoying a portion of dahl and sadly found a lump of very old chewy fish at the bottom. I would have loved to have had some real coffee at breakfast and not the cinnamon flavoured liquid or bitter instant but the buffet was well stocked and the eggs very good .This is a busy hotel popular with budget package groups and is well located for the sights of Stonetown The hawkers peddling goods on the streets never bothered me once i told them politely i was not interested There is a lively restaurant next door for those wanting to drink alcohol as the Tembo hotel is a dry hotel ,not a problem for me but for many other guests

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue the first floor is the best bet as there is no lift ,the rooms facing sideway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahappytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel on the 9th march for one night. Check in was simple although the first room I was allocated I could not lock the door. I was given another room which was clean, however beware of Mosquitos. Breakfast was poor with little choice. If you are looking for a no frills budget hotel then this is fine.

The location is very good although the beach which it's on is next to what appeared to be a small ferry. Stone town itself has so much potential although it's very shabby and needs serious regeneration. You need to be aware you will be continually approached by haukers (sellers) some of which look to be as high as a kite. Would I stay at tempo hotel again...no.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel in Stone town Zanzibar. I really loved this place and the atmosphere. The hotel is right at the beach and the harbour i near by, so there is a lot of activity during the day, but not at all, something that interfear the relaxing feeling on this hotel, and it´s so nice to sit and eat right next to the beach. It´s close to the food market, which is a must to visit and eat. try mr. nutelas pizza.. Loved them and sugarcane juice.. The people in the reception, are helpful, but not very chit chatting types, but the waiters are, if you smile at them and call them by thier name(they have name tag) .. You can see prison island from the hotel and the hotel has genneraly a beautiful view. Only bad thing, is theres stairs, so ask to stay on 1 floor and there are people to help with suitcases and that´s really nice. The breakfast is a buffet and okay.
If I ever get back to Zanzibar, this hotel is a place I would stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanneblomst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.6 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
632 reviews
50.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.3 km away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing