We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$596
Hotels.comUS$591
PricelineUS$596
TravelocityUS$591
Trip.comUS$591
FindHotelUS$685
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
994
154
51
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
994
154
51
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool beach house beautiful hotel indian ocean public beach luxury hotel prison island overlooking the ocean hotel restaurant rooms are spacious walking tour nicolas sunset zanzibar stonetown bakari concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2019

Comfortable room and stop over in Stone Town which was very centrally located. My Husband certainly appreciated the tv in bath lol and what a stunning view from our balcony! Breakfast was lovely and Staff very professional.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NicolasCedro75, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Neny5

Warmest greetings from park Hyatt Zanzibar!
Delighted to read that we were able to provide a great experience.
Hope to welcome you once again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Nicolas Cedro
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2019

Park Hyatt Zanzibar, what can I say...it was spectacular! Hassan was first to greet us and take our bags. We loved the fact that his greeting was to welcome us home. It made us feel really special and after a day of traveling he was so nice! We ordered snacks and beer to be in our room when we got there to celebrate my sister's birthday. Well, they went above and beyond. The snacks were there, beers were chilling with glasses in the fridge as well and to top it off, there was a small birthday cake there for my sister. The suite was, literally, bigger than my condo in Texas(thank you Hyatt points!). The suite had a bath and a half, a separate dressing room, king size bed, rollaway bed in living room, dining table, etc. Then the next morning at breakfast(buffet) the waiter and waitress brought another birthday cake for my sister. Johari and Abdul came out with the cake and sang Happy Birthday. It was so special for my sister and such a surprise! In the evenings, we had cocktails on the patio next to the beach. Deba, the food and beverage manager, was awesome as well as Grace, the Guest Relations Manager. Servers were great and the ambiance was amazing. We also enjoyed the resident cats that came to see us each evening. My sister and I also had massages in the spa which were fantastic. Park Hyatt Zanzibar was the perfect ending to our East Africa vacation.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mishmash0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NicolasCedro75, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Mishmash0718


Warmest greetings from Park Hyatt Zanzibar!
Thank you for taking the time to write us this glowing review. It was a delight to have you stay with us,
Our team Hassan, Grace, Deba Johari Abdul are glad that you had a comfortable stay and that we were able to exceed your expectation with hotel tranquility, food selection and services.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next arrival for another splendid stay at Park Hyatt Zanzibar

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Cedro
Park Hyatt Zanzibar




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Beautiful hotel. Well located near popular tourist sites. Service outstanding. Rooms and bathrooms beautifully decorated. Good breakfast selection. Beautiful infinity pool though pool area requires some maintenance with some of the decking coming loose.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank ladybtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NicolasCedro75, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear SS2482


Warmest greetings from park Hyatt Zanzibar!
Delighted to read that we were able to provide a great experience.
Hope to welcome you once again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Nicolas Cedro
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2019 via mobile

We were promised a bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival as it was our honeymoon but this was not provided. No big deal. The service at the bar / restaurant was worst I have ever experienced in a 5 star hotel. 15 minutes between providing the menu and taking our drinks order. Red wine was being kept on ice so it was served ice cold. Our food took ages to arrive and when it did arrive it did not come with any of our side orders. They had forgotten. Side orders were provided 20 minutes after we finished our main meal. The restaurant was not busy. That evening we rang reception to ask about the sparkling wine and were told they would call us back. No response. We inquired on our way out to dinner and were met with a shrug of the shoulders. When we returned from dinner we asked again and they said they would send it to our room immediately. Unless we inquired again, the hotel staff would have continued to simply ignore us. 1 hour later and it still had not arrived to room. We had to call reception again. The next day we asked for some change at the bar as we only had large notes. We were told no. We asked at the reception and again were told no. This is meant to be a $500/night 5 star hotel but yet they could not handle such a simple request. We had a drink that night in the bar and ordered two glasses of red wine. 6 times the waiter returned to our table to confirm the order. Eventually he advised that the wine was not available so we ordered different wine. Again the red wine was served ice cold despite the hotels website boasting of their prestigious sommeliers. The robes in the room were torn and there was blood on the moaquito net around the bed. Despite all of the above, it is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location with spectacular views. Sadly the service is poor or maybe we simply weren't important enough guests as staff seemed to swarm to certain guests. It may be the most expensive hotel in stone town but definitely not the best. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank R1363YMkevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NicolasCedro75, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear R13633yMkevino

Warmest greetings from Park Hyatt Zanzibar!
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback from your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have you during your visit at our stunning property.
Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused, the comments have been shared with our team as a tool for improvising our services for better guest experience.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your back for an enhanced and pleasant stay at Park Hyatt Zanzibar!

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas Cedro
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2019

The Park Hyatt hotel is located in a great part of Stone Town within easy walking distance to most of the major tourist traps.

The check-in process was smooth, painless and fast and the staff could not do enough for us to get us quickly registered and to our room. Our room was not ready by the time we arrived so we sat in the living room for about an hour until it was, however the staff and management kept us informed of the delay ensuring we were okay.

Upon getting to the room, it was nicely cleaned and apportioned and well appointed. A large master bedroom with a lovely balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean and a large living area with where a rollaway bed was put for our daughter.

The toiletries provided were fantastic and smelled awesome. we could not get enough of them. The bathroom itself was huge and clean and a standalone bathtub which my wife loved along with the bath salts that were provided.

The wifi worked perfectly and we had no problem with it.

The buffet breakfast provided was more than ample with great selections and it looks as though everything is halal. the Living Room is the bar where you can get your favorite tipple.

Only a couple of minor faults which were noted.

The bathroom shower cubicle was fitted with a huge rain shower head which we could not use as the shower cubicle door would not close properly and the first time we used it we flooded the bathroom because of the door not closing properly, so i had to revert to using the hand held spray only. pity.

Secondly, was the taxi the hotel hailed for us to get us back to the airport. Being residents we know that taxi fares are set. When you arrive at the airport there is a huge sign stating how much it will cost you from one location to another. We assumed that the taxi the hotel got us would charge the same amount (30,000 Tsh), however when we got to the airport the driver demanded 60,000 Tsh and when we refused and pointed to the sign with the standard charges, be became abusive and threatening.
Suppose in a way it was our fault for not confirming the cost before we got in, but assumed it was provided by the hotel, that the taxi driver would abide by the stated fare and not fleece us. Lesson learned.

If you have an ocean facing room, be prepared to wake up early with the fishermen returning from night fishing and offloading their catch. As well as kids playing in the surf and sand, it does get very noisy at time, but it adds charm to the place, but just be forewarned.

This is a quality hotel and we will definitely be back again, very soon.

Thank you for a great stay.

Room tip: Overlooking to Ocean
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenwyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NicolasCedro75, General Manager at Park Hyatt Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Dear Kenwyoung

Warmest greetings from park Hyatt Zanzibar!
Delighted to read that we were able to provide a great experience.
Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused, the comments have been shared with our team as a tool for improvising our services for better guest experience.
Hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas Cedro
General Manager
Park Hyatt Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews