We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building, fabulous hosts”
Review of Relais de Mirepoix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais de Mirepoix
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Where to start? The minute you walk through the huge archway into the hotel courtyard you know this place is going to be something special. As the weather was warm the courtyard was being used for the lunch service but there were also some people just having a leisurely glass of wine. The building is typically old French - very high ceilings, huge French doors, tiled floors, shutters, etc. - and just exudes style and sophistication. Our room was huge with double aspect windows and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

The hotel also boasts a restaurant (see separate review), a bar (which serves tapas), the "old kitchen" where you can lounge in a sofa while enjoying one of Ben's brilliant cocktails as well as a swimming pool.

The staff were wonderful and the hosts (Emma and Karl) so very welcoming. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drsgbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Gérant at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

drsgaker. Thank you very much. All at Relais de Mirepoix enjoy what we do and what we offer to our customers and hope that our customers come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

What’s not to love about the Relais de Mirepoix? The hotel is stunning with high ceilings and whilst it’s a beautiful historic building the decor is stylish & modern.

Our suite was huge with a separate lounge, comfiest bed & an elegant bathroom.

Our hosts Emma & Karl gave us the warmest welcomes. Lunch was served in the elegant courtyard & dinner in the grand dining room. The food is outstanding & frankly it was such a pleasure to eat here that we didn’t want to go elsewhere!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Honeymansells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Gérant at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Honeymansells, thank you so much, for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all thrilled that you had a lovely time here in our hotel and enjoyed the cuisine. We hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Mirepoix is one of those out of the way places that is worth exploring. A town centre with shops, bars and restaurants lurking in the shadows of ancient arcades, whose tables spill out on to the sun-drenched square overseen by the spire of a glorious gothic cathedral. Within a couple of hundred metres of this idyllic setting is the Relais de Mirepoix, furtively hidden behind a high front wall and large gates whose elegance would be complete if the front courtyard were paved in slabs and not builder's gravel. The foyer of this 18th century gem is gracious and well preserved from which a grand and wide staircase winds up to the first floor. This is a staircase that princes and princesses would be proud to practice their stately steps.

Our room, (102). consisted of a suite of rooms off a small vestibule, once more hidden behind a pair of grandiose ancient doors: the bedroom, large and tastefully furnished with large comfortable bed, free wifi, TV. The bathroom is equally spacious with double sink, large walk in shower, roll-topped enamelled bath standing into the room in front of a period mantle piece.

The staff were charming from beginning to end; we were welcomed by Emma, a Scot and proprietor of the house who could not be more obliging. Sadly, the dinning room was not open the evening we were there so we were not privileged to taste the creations of Karl, master chef and husband to Emma, but we were pointed to a reputable eatery secreted under the town's arcades. Breakfast was served by a warm local lady and was adequate but not a leap into an exceptional range of memorable delights.

In summary, we loved this town of Mirepoix and its elegant Relais Hotel and shall be back when the dining room is pen. Many thanks for a lovely night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Gérant at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Ted H, thank you. We very much appreciate you taking the time to review Relais de Mirepoix - we do hope you will be back to visit again and to sample the local produce created by Karl. Kindest regards, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

An absolute gem. We did Tapas on Thursday and what tapas, perfect ham, brilliant peppers, lovely mushrooms and patatas bravas. All washed down with a locally brewed beer. Returned on Friday for dinner. Started with gin and tonic, different from any we have had. Locally made tonic, not cheap but lovely and actual juniper, cranberries and hibiscus in the drink. Small menu but lovely choices. My duck could not have been bettered. Ended with a stunning expresso martini. A round of applause for the wine list. All local producers, cleverly chosen and realistically priced. If you are within striking distance of Mirepoix, this is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank john61058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Owner at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear john61058, thank you for taking the time to write your review. All at no8 are delighted you enjoyed all we have to offer and appreciated our concept. Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I stayed at Relais for 3 nights last week to celebrate my high school friend's wedding in Chalabre. Emma runs one of the MOST fantastic, friendly, and welcome inns in the world! Attention to detail is in every aspect of the hotel - from fluffy robes and slippers provided in every room, friendly staff who treat you like family, and an amazing breakfast! I WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wjjhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Owner at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear wjjhd, thank you for your review. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. All at Relais de Mirepoix are delighted to read your review and thank you very much. We enjoyed hosting you as much as you enjoyed staying. We all hope you will all come back soon. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were lucky enough to hold my daughter's wedding reception at this gorgeous hotel on 31st July this year. If any potential brides (or grooms!) out there are searching for a venue here in sunny Southwest France then please look no further than the Relais de Mirepoix. Emma was so helpful from the word go, offering suggestions & advice but also taking all of our ideas on board. She made everything seem so easy & her support was very much appreciated. All members of her team are absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them & they all provided a very professional but smiley service. The Hotel itself is a complete delight, huge bedrooms with very comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms, great pool area & amazing courtyard. The food was incredible & the wedding cake was exactly what my daughter had asked for - absolute perfection. I really cannot rate our experience highly enough & unfortunately TripAdvisor will only let me award 5 stars. Thank you Team Relais for giving us such a wonderful day & providing us with some brilliant memories. Here's to many more happy weddings for you :)

Stayed: July 2017
Thank daisy042017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Owner at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

daisy042017, all at Relais de Mirepoix were delighted to host and help you and your daughter, and of course your new son in law celebrate their wedding here at Relais de Mirepoix. We were all impressed with your planning and organisation, your vision and your flexibility to ensure that we offered a day and a cake that exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Ditto to the other stellar reviews about this property. It's apparent the loving attention to the care of each guest both in the accommodation and restaurant. We met the owners, property managers, bartender, chef... all in a one night's stay! All caring, hands-on, very interested in the care and pampering of the overnight guest as well as its restaurant diners.
The layout of the hotel is superb. Beautiful. Retained the old character while doing tasteful updates. Our room was spacious, high ceilings, lovely updated bathroom including 2 sinks, a clawfoot tub and red floor tiles. Super comfy bed. I slept as if floating on a cloud!
Dining was another splendid experience in a relaxing, appealing atmosphere set in a comfortable room with large windows & carefully selected artwork. Delicious food served as a 3-course meal, each plate as tasteful as it was visually enticing.
If I could give this more than 5-stars, I would.
Thank you so much, Shiaofong and Paieling!!! As well, thanks to Emma, Karl, and Ben for their kind attentions!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heyheypippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisdMirepoix, Owner at Relais de Mirepoix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear heyheypippa, thank you all for taking the time to write a review of Relais de Mirepoix. Everyone of the team here are very passionate about what we do and we are very grateful that you appreciated our dedication and service. We hope you will come back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirepoix
0.1 km away
La Maison des Consuls
La Maison des Consuls
#1 of 6 in Mirepoix
111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#5 of 6 in Mirepoix
69 reviews
35.2 km away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
4.6 km away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
149 reviews
34.7 km away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#3 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de Mirepoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de Mirepoix

Address: 8 rue Marechal Clauzel, 09500, Mirepoix, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Mirepoix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Price Range: $170 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de Mirepoix 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais de Mirepoix is a boutique hotel, restaurant and cocktail bar just off the lively square of the popular bastide town of Mirepoix, Ariege, France. Behind the impressive gates and walls we have a south facing courtyard, swimming pool, beautifully appointed dining room and a small and intimate cocktail, wine and tapas bar. The Relais de Mirepoix is a 3* hotel offering a luxury service to all our guests. The hotel is family run and privately owned business. The Relais de Mirepoix is a centuries old significant manor house which combines a sympathetic, respectful restoration with elegantly appointed furnishings and sophisticated refreshing luxuriously updated bathrooms, bedrooms and suites. Our five bedrooms and three suites, which offer you a separate lounge area, are decorated embracing the features of this stunning 400 year old building, including timber framed walls, antique fabric wall coverings, fireplaces, elegant windows and original tiled floors throughout. We have ensured there are all the amenities you would expect in a boutique hotel including a lift to all floors, wi-fi and air conditioning in the rooms. Both restaurant and bar service are of exceptional quality with locally sourced produce. Each day Karl offers you two or three seasonal choices for each course. « Food is best served when kept simple. My passion is creating menus using world influences using the best quality, seasonal produce of our region. » Karl Lashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais de Mirepoix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing