We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Canton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a let down!”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Romantic adventure turned into a sweat lodge.
Entered our upstairs suite and it was 95 degrees in our room according to the thermostat.
Opps, said our hostess, we forgot to turn on the room air conditioner. At 10:00 pm the very small window air conditioning unit managed to cool the room to 85 degrees. We continued to sit outside in the gazabo through a rain storm because we could not tolerant the heat in the room. By midnight, exhaustion set in and we went to our room which was now down to 80 degrees.
At checkout, we asked for a discount , as we could not use the in room faicitlites, ie: jacuzzi etc. We were told that she could not approve that and would have the owner call us. Called back in a week and the same woman said that she gave him the note. 7 months later still waiting for the call.
As owners, of a Bed and Breakfast, we certainly would take better care of our customers!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tls1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest City, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

we were unsure what to expect as this was our first time in the area and found the manor over the internet. We were very pleasantly suprised when we walked thru the front door, and then to our room, couldn't wipe the smile off my face. Mary is a sweetheart and very helpful as well as "The Lady of the Manor"(she cooks a wonderful breakfast and keeps the manor spotless, and smelling like home) We are very happy to take a chance, and now we will be back at least once a year. Very close to the wineries and Watkins Glen state park too. Can't wait til we return. Thank You Staff at Longhouse Manor!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christison2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavelle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This was our first trip to the region. Wanted to see the state park and the wineries. Happened upon this place over the internet, we never stayed at a B&B before and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and clean, the view was spectacular, and the staff was very friendly. We had the run of the house, it felt like home. Can't even think of anything to complain about!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheriyln3966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were scheduled to stay at their Motel. When we checked in I asked if we could look at the B&B. It was lovely, with wonderful views and everything you could need. The location was great, and great customer service. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkraft9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This is our fifth year coming back to "our" bed and breakfast. Longhouse Manor is like being in your own home. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We use the huge kitchen and very much enjoy the porch overlooking Seneca Lake. We have had great experiences every time we have come to stay here. From the office staff to the lovely lady who cooks our breakfast, everything made for a perfect overnight getaway. We already booked for next year's fall trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Went to the Watkins Glen area for a PT Cruiser event. Friends had suggested the Longhouse Manor. We (North Country PT Cruiser group) were not disappointed in any way. The staff was professional and friendly. Absolutely loved the Manor House and the view was fabulous!! The rooms were decorated beautifully and very clean with plenty of towels! The owner stopped in to say "Hi!" and was very nice and friendly. I can't think of anything negative to say other than our stay was too short. I am looking forward to staying there again next year. If you're looking for a place to stay in the Seneca Lake/Watkins Glen area -- this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilvemypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We spent a weekend during the wine festival and found the rooms to be spacious with a homey decor. We had the large room with a jacuzzi. Rooms were clean with a large open living room dining room and kitchen. Breakfasts were more than adequate from eggs to cereal, fresh fruit, bagels and juice. Staff members were polite and friendly. Pool table /game room was large but some of the furniture needed repaired or replaced.
Some cleaning and repairs on the out side on the house are needed, however we enjoyed the homelike environment. It should be non-smoking even out on the deck though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werfunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
3.6 km away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
4.1 km away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 km away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.3 km away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
0.0 km away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3625 State Route 14, (Route 14 & Abrams Road), Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9709
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Large and comfortable Bed and Breakfast. All rooms have private bathrooms. Beautiful view of Senecia Lake and stocked pond. Very Large living room with 50 inch big screen television, large game room with a pool table, ping pong table, and card table, three porches, two gazebos, heated outdoor swimming pool, putting green. All rooms are mini suites. Room amenities include bath robes, ironing boards and irons, cable television with vcrs, coffee pots, microwave, refrigerators, high speed internet, private phone, Each room has its own sitting area. Great hot breakfast included year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Longhouse Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing