We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent cost -benefits”
Review of Pousada Agua Viva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Agua Viva
Reviewed 9 November 2016

there are two bedrooms in front of the sea, they are perfect, try to book them. the breakfast is the best part of the place. Its not a porsh place but its clean and confortable. Beds are good quality ones.

Room Tip: there are two good ones in front sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2016

I booked my stay at Agua Viva like 6 month ago and I was really not happy receiving a mail from them that they debited already half of my stay! Through you TripAdvisor I believe you should put a warning near the price of the hotel so people can decide what to do. When I arrived one week ago they demanded the rest of the money for whole stay. I was after a journey of 17 hours and tired so I accepted. I book all my trips thru you and this thing never happened to me. The room was ok although I asked er much for facing sea..they didn't have...
The area is full of better places. I wont return to Agua Viva

Room Tip: facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank evagold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is not a trustworthy place, DO NOT STAY HERE! I arrived with 2 friends on New Years Eve 2015 having paid 50% for a triple room in advance from England. I had emailed the owner in English to secure the booking yet when we arrived on NYE there wasn't a triple room available. We weren't told about this in advance or even upon arrival and yet they tried to hide this from us and even wanted to charge a further £220 upon check in before we had seen the non-existent room. Thankfully we didn't pay until we had seen the room otherwise we would have been further conned. We were offered a very poor quality single and twin room instead for the same extortionate rate of £440 but politely refused and asked for a refund. At this point we were told only the owner/ manager Mateus could issue refunds and so we would need to back to see him tomorrow. This was unbelievably frustrating and more importantly, we were now on a very busy island on NYE with nowhere to stay!

To cut a long story short, we returned to Agua Viva on numerous occasions but was told the owner wasn't available to give us a refund and eventually when we dropped in unannounced we found the manager Mateus who was incredibly rude and claimed to not speak any English even though I had already been conversing with him in English via email. To get rid of us, he claimed he had already credited my credit card with the refund but could not provide a receipt or proof. I gave him the benefit of the doubt but I never received a refund and so reported the transaction as fraudulent when it still hadn't shown up 2 weeks later. I've still not got the refund but my bank will re-Imburse me and will take further action. This was an incredibly stressful and frustrating experience which ruined our visit to a beautiful island. NEVER STAY HERE!

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights in an ocean view room. Room was clean, good size, modern and looked new. Lovely to fall asleep listening to the waves breaking on the beach. Love the hammock on the patio!!! Family run business, excellent service. Though none of them speak a word of english, consider yourself forewarned haha! We had no problems understanding each other, and in the end quite enjoyed the games of charades! Good location for beaches. Same goes for bars and restaurants, but far enough that you weren't disturbed by noise late at night. Excellent value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Drex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a lovely little place. We moved here after three days at a much more expensive place - that one had a pool, which was lovely, but too cold to go into.
AguaViva was a few doors down and we had a sea view room for 1/2 the price of the garden view room at the first hotel.
The hosts were fantastic. No english, but we had no trouble communicating. They were kind and helpful.
The room was spotless, the breakfast was simple but plentiful and delicious. It's a simple place but met our needs and with lovely hosts - exceeded our expectations. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margie4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank yonaraalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Apenas dois quartos com diferencial na localização com varanda e vista para o mar, com os nomes de P...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
5.6 km away
Hotel Praia do Encanto
Hotel Praia do Encanto
#17 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
91 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Porto do Zimbo
Hotel Porto do Zimbo
#16 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
118 reviews
1.2 km away
Catavento Praia Hotel
Catavento Praia Hotel
#13 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
639 reviews
0.9 km away
Pousada Passarte
Pousada Passarte
#20 of 129 in Morro de Sao Paulo
136 reviews
0.9 km away
Tia Preta B & B
Tia Preta B & B
#91 of 129 in Morro de Sao Paulo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Agua Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Agua Viva

Address: Rua Terceira Praia, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: $56 - $3,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Agua Viva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Agua Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Agua Viva Morro De Sao Paulo, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing