We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fred E B
Puerto Guadal, Chile

A Sanctuary

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 14, 2019
I travel several times a year between southern Patagonia and Santiago. This is one of the few hotels that I can recommend. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The adjoining restaurant is very good and staff friendly and helpful. It is the best place that I found in the general area and I intend to organize my next trip to include a stay there.
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • Lol.travel
    C$134
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$109
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.2 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$103
    • Priceline
    4.1 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$75
    • Booking.com
    4.5 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Habitación del Departamento 1 o 2 ,dos camas individuales plaza y media
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
    Free Wifi
    Habitación Doble
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    2.3 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      1.9 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Vista desde el interior del Domo
      Earn Trip Coins after your stay
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$311
      • Agoda.com
      71.9 km from Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Osorno
      Reviews (97)
      Filter reviews
      97 results
      Traveller rating
      80
      14
      2
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      80
      14
      2
      0
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 97 reviews
      Reviewed May 9, 2017

      We enjoyed fully our stay in this little paradise that conveniently located in the quiet outskirts of Osorno. The owners are very sweet. The breakfast is delicious. The restaurant on site La ruta del Asador is a Must Go. Rooms large as one might expect in an older, very large home. Highly recommended.

      Date of stay: April 2017
      Thank Agnes E
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

      We arrived tired after an 8 hour journey that should have taken 3, crossing the frontier between Argentina and Chile. The hotel looked rather unprepossessing but the welcome was warm and the rooms they showed us were large and airy with a beautiful view of the garden. After leaving our luggage we went back downstairs and partook of the German Once, a kind of high tea that was very welcome after such a difficult day.

      We drove to the coast one day and found the most pleasant beach at Maicolpue that is hardly on any maps, certainly not on our GPS!
      Breakfast included strong coffee and a raspberry tart overlooking the beautiful garden and Roberto, the proprietor made us feel very welcome.
      We had a very pleasant two night stay and would really recommend this unique hotel if you're ever in Osorno for any reason and want something other than generic accommodation.

      Date of stay: February 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank TatiMowa
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

      Over a coffee at shopping mall decided not to return back to Argentina so scrambled to find a place to stay. Came across this hotel that had a room to sleep 5. On arrival were pleasantly met by the owners who checked us in and showed us to the room which was an extremely spacious and comfortable area with 2 sleeping areas and a bathroom with a living area with another bed. The restaurant next door was closed but they gave us suggestions where to go eat in Osorno. Breakfast in the morning was served at the hotel was was very tasty. The owner also shared some stories about the history of the hotel which had been his family home for 20 years and initially the residence of the mayor of Osorno. The
      Building and its grounds are extremely well kept as well.

      Date of stay: December 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank 244MarkW
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed December 3, 2016

      Based on a TripAdvisor review, my two friends and I chose to stay at Santuario Patagonia. Built in 1949, this former country estate commands a magnificent view of Chilean forests. The dining room, reading room and guest rooms (each with a balcony) overlook lovely gardens teeming with seasonal wildflowers and roses. There is even a small fountain at the base of the tiled deck that extends along the back of the building. A walking path through the forest leads to a lily pond. We shared a room at one end of the corridor (no elevator, so ask for help if you can't carry luggage up the stairs). The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. We arrived after lunch, but before dinner and opted for a light snack in the dining room (onces) which featured tea, cake, breads, meats and cheeses. We also ate there for breakfast (make sure you specify to include it when you make reservations). In addition to fruits, meats, breads and yogurt, fresh made-to-order waffles and eggs are included. We met both Robert and Rosie, the current owners, who clearly take pride in their beautiful former home. Their children, who grew up on the property, now help run the hotel. A delightful experience and a true oasis in Osorno.

      Room tip: Only one floor (upper floor). End room sleeps three. Very quiet.
      Date of stay: November 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Terry I
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

      Pros
      - beautiful rooms with lots of natural light from big windows overlooking the grounds
      - comfy beds & modern bathrooms
      - quiet (no street noise). You can hear the water pipes when someone in the building is showering which is to be expected.
      - beautiful grounds. We were told it was an original family home from the 1940s
      - lovely breakfast outlook & good coffee!
      - good value & you can settle the bill on credit card
      - close to the Ruta Del Asador (same grounds) restaurant which is amazing

      Cons
      - limited English spoken & info provided on check in etc (I'm not sure if the usual hosts were provided
      - the rooms were cold. We had to ask for the heating to be turned on but then they got turned off in the middle of the night & weren't turned back on in the morning :(

      Date of stay: May 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank 665kate
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews