We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I loved everything about this place, from the natural surroundings, to the lack of intruding technology, and all eco-concious materials and supplies. But mostly the incredicley lovable guides and their friendly, caring and accomodating nature. The food was a mix of vegetarian and non-veg which was more than I expected at a jungle lodge since I had bad experience at Peruvian cities hotels. I missed this place already one day after leaving. I never thought I could find so much peace in a place so remote and loud (monkeys/frogs/birds), keeping in mind I have hyperacusis! I loved most the guide Robin's cute animated style of explaining :)

Room Tip: If you fear insects pick rooms with center beds and remember to spray bug repellent two hours on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

The staff are as helpful and friendly as any I've ever seen and the guides are extremely knowledgeable (as well as helpful and friendly, too). The activities and tours they have included in the price were great and the extra available activities well worth it.
The lodge was kept very clean, beds were comfortable and the food was great. There was also a very nice, relaxed atmosphere that helped us to just relax and enjoy.
It truly was an amazing trip - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I loved this place, it's rustic but has all the necessary comforts. The atmosphere is relaxing yet there's so much to see and do. The accomodations are nice and clean, the food was delicious, the cocktails were strong and the guides were super cool.

It's a great experience and the rainforest is so amazing. I have to thank our guides Pedro and Jamie for making the experience so special, their enthusiasm and love for the forest and animals was genuine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpark714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 days/3 nights at the end of our two week tour of Peru with Trip-Peru (highly recommended). It was amazing. We had a great guide, Fino who took us on all of our hikes and other excursions. Fino was so knowledgeable. All he had to do was hear a bird call and he could immediately identify it and show us in the bird book.

We thoroughly enjoyed the rustic nature of this lodge - no power except during mealtimes in the dining room, and kerosene lamps and candles after dark. The food was plentiful and very enjoyable.

I was a little hesitant before going about the 4th side of our room being open to the jungle, but it was a non-issue. Yes, we did get a few moths in the room, but the bed was covered with mosquito net each night by the staff when we left for dinner. It was very charming to return to our room and have light only from the lamps.

We would love to return to Posada Amazonas again if we ever return to Peru.

Room Tip: Some rooms had hot water and some didn't at the time of our stay, so check with the lodge if thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Took my 17 year old daughter to Peru and wanted to experience an "amazon lodge" not too hard-core rustic but not 'american-ized' either. This was neat, clean, with great service and EXCELLENT guides. They are passionate about their Reserve. The food, local and well prepared, satisfied everyone. We were there 3 days and could have used another day. You are truly there with nature as the rooms open to the jungle (bug nets on beds for evenings) and shower curtain-like doors. We had some animals try to make friends (lizard in room and a possible opossum in the evening) but it added to the experience and we now have lots of stories to tell. It's tame enough that my teenager wasn't freaked out but intense enough that we both learned things and had a great time. We were there during the rainy season and it's not that bad. You just prepare for it with raincoats and rainboots (provided). Take a good flashlight. I took a pen-light and my daughter's small strong flashlight was much better, especially for our nightwalk. Met many people from other countries and everyone was friendly and happy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidTraveler703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We visited Posada Amazonas for three nights, not knowing quite what to expect. It was our first time in the Amazon jungle. We found an extremely knowledgeable and helpful guide who was native to the area, a new and well constructed lodge with good food (included) and comfortable bar. What we weren't prepared for was the suffocating heat - and no ceiling fans or other means for cooling down We simply took lots of showers. Although electricity is limited during the day, we managed just fine, and, given the rustic nature of things were happily surprised to find wifi available on a periodic basis. The explorations on the river and within the jungle were great and we saw lots of animals. The lodge is run by people from the local community who are warm and gracious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had an amazing time at Posada last year. Well above my expectations. Great food and lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great overlooking the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
50 km away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
564 reviews
14.4 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
870 reviews
19.2 km away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#3 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
90 reviews
24.6 km away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
132 reviews
5 km away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $529 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing