We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Emilion, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JRMM1987
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Andy was a great host and the three course welcome dinner was excellent. Together with the starter pack included, meant we didn't need to shop as soon as we arrived. The cottage has everything you need and is in the perfect location for visiting the many nearby chateaux and towns. Would have no hesitation in recommending this property. Thanks Andy, hope to see you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great pet friendly gite particularly for one who travels by bike.”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My wife and I who are in our mid and late sixties like to cycle, our stay with Andy provided a great location for us to cycle around the vine yards of the St Emillion area and visit places of interest. The gite is very well equiped and has everything you need for your stay. The welcoming meal together with other goodies were a real treat particularly if you were travelling light. The week with Andy was the start of our extended spring stay in France and got of to a great start.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanLara2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation in an superb location with an oustanding host.”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just returned from a fantastic week staying in Lavender Cottage, which is extremely comfortable and well equipped in all respects. It was a privilege to stay in accommodation, which was not only functional but thoughtfully and tastefully designed. Andrew is a wonderful host, who provided a lovely meal on the first night including vegetarian dishes. He was always on hand with advice and guidance on places to visit and we would definitely recommend his wine tour of the varied local wine chateaux. The eight hours flew by! When we return to the area, we will definitely stay at Vines and Roses again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaT42
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay in Andy and Richard's cottage, and the welcome could not have been friendlier. The cottage is fully equipped with everything required for a holiday away; it was a home from home and the garden and BBQ were used constantly. The free arrival meal was a wonderful treat after too long in Bordeaux airport and the bakes throughout the week from Richard, such as a courgette provencale and apple crumble cake, were fabulous - we've cooked both since getting home! The wine tour with Andy is an absolute must; his knowledge and humour only added to the experience (together with a lovely lunch). St Emilion itself is a dream location as are the surrounding villages, and of course the wine.......... Many thanks Andy and Richard for making us feel so welcome. We hope to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackshee...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous accommodation!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just got back from 2 weeks relaxing at Vines along with our 2 dogs and it was everything we hoped for and more. Our cottage had EVERYTHING we needed and was super secure for our 2 escape artist terriers. We literally opened the gate and walked out into the vineyards, heaven! Perfectly placed with local shops and bistro within walking distance and only a short drive to a huge supermarket. Andy was very helpful and informative about all the local happenings and Richard spoilt our waistlines with his fantastic cakes! We were very lazy and just relaxed but have already booked for 3 weeks next year and are determined to do more exploring of this incredibly beautiful area. Highly, highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautifully decorated and fully equipped”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and comes fully equipped, everything has been thought of. The location is very peaceful, with your own garden and terrace, yet the nearest village is a genuine 10 minutes walk and has a very nice restaurant. The bakery is a genuine 5 minutes drive at another nice village which has more nice restaurant. Large supermarket is a 10 minutes drive away. The hosts are very friendly, extremely helpful and we believe it is extremely good value. We will certainly book again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
“Excellent cottage/apartment/gist near St. Emilion; we loved it.”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I are recently retired and decided that we would like to spend one to two months in the Bordeaux area of France. Impressed with the many favorable reviews for Vines and Roses, we decided that these cottages were worth a closer look. Fortunately, we were in Spain this past October (2016) and would have a chance spend a week at Vines and Roses after our Spain tour ended. This would give us a chance to check facility out personally, and we were glad we did because we had a marvelous stay.

We arrived late at night and a delicious meal awaited us including a lovely bottle of local wine, French bread, cheese, onion soup, and beef bourguignon. It was all delicious. We spent the next week getting to know as much as possible about the area. We found that there are so many things to see, we felt we only had time to scratch the surface in our one week stay. Moreover, Andy was extremely helpful from first to last with excellent local information and a fun sense of humor.

We could not have asked for more from our accommodations. The kitchen was well equipped, the bed was very comfortable, the guidebooks in the cottage were very helpful, and due to a late harvest, the grapes were hanging heavily on the vines only a stone’s throw from the front door. The cottage was well stocked with necessities including some laundry soap that my wife claimed got her clothes the brightest they have ever been. All in all we had a great time and are currently planning our return for a much longer stay.

My wife and I would give Vines and Roses six stars, but five stars is the highest allowed, so our rating will only show as a five. Vines and Roses truly exceeded our expectations.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing