We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mael Holzmann

Bad overall experience

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 12, 2023
The room was nice, although visibly aging. No mini fridge, no safe deposit box, and bad lighting. The main problem was the staff, who clearly doesn’t seem to be trained for 4 stars hotels. They just weren’t nice. No greetings or smile, side eyes whenever you ask even the slightest thing, it’s like they’re annoyed to talk to you. We were told by an employee “I don’t speak French”, our native language, just for them to speak French with his colleague right after. Even Edeka’s employees are nicer than that, which says a lot. We know that European frontline workers aren’t very polite, but this sets the bar very low, especially when compared with countries like the U.S. or Japan. We were regular clients of this hotel and of Europapark, and felt a drop in quality, while prices increased, getting closer to a premium price, closer to Disney’s prices. This hotel doesn’t deserve a 4+⭐️ rating.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: The pool is freezing cold
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$335
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$335
  • Agoda.com
    C$334
  • eDreams
    C$335
0.1 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$178
C$160
  • Moxy Hotels
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Priceline
    C$178
0.2 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$266
  • Expedia.com
    C$266
  • Agoda.com
    C$268
0.8 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$271
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$252
  • Hotels.com
    C$250
  • Agoda.com
    C$251
1.1 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$233
C$190
  • Priceline
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$217
  • Hotels.com
    C$217
1.1 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$287
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$287
  • eDreams
    C$287
  • Vio.com
    C$287
1.0 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
MAISON A RUST
C$168
  • Agoda.com
    C$168
  • eDreams
    C$168
  • Vio.com
    C$168
1.2 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$364
  • Agoda.com
    C$363
  • eDreams
    C$364
  • Vio.com
    C$363
0.8 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #4
C$251
  • Agoda.com
    C$250
1.2 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Site
    C$379
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Hotel Bell Rock Europa-Park
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Rust
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveller rating
1,106
417
92
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,106
417
92
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new england style spirit of st louis europa park fountain show outdoor pool excellent hotel suite kids lighthouse harbourside robes sauna entrance kettle theming
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2023

The bell rock is a nice hotel and the staff at the front desk or reception were excellent and extremely helpful. The hotel in general is a lovely relaxed atmosphere and feeling about it.

We found the breakfast which was in the harbourside restaurant was good with a good variety of options. You could also have a buffet style dinner in this restaurant. The other dining options were more fine dining such as the captains finest or the Michelin star ammolite restaurant which might not be ideal after a day in a theme park with young kids.

We used the spirit of St Louis bar several times which is also in the hotel as you could also get food similar to the a la carte restaurant while being more casual. The only negative was that it takes a long time for drinks to arrive after ordering.

The rooms were clean and to a good standard with nice touches like beds themed as boats for the kids.

All in all a very good hotel with nice pool, good standard rooms, close proximity to Europa park while l still remaining secluded and private with very good staff in general.

Room tip: Restaurants do book up.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tp802016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 8, 2023

We love this hotel with its modern interiour in the New England style- very stylish! SPA and pool area were good albeit not all saunas were open (or only on demand but nobody informed us about it, we found out when standing in front of closed doors). We stayed in the Africa Suite which looked a bit more plain than on their website, but still enjoyed it, especially because it was huge! The separate bedroom for the kids was good, but a bit tight. Breakfast was very good, really enjoyed that, too. Would come again but the price is too high, so we would need to maybe downgrade with the rooms. Staff is very helpful, no matter what is asked it seems. Mrs. Cathy Pfiffer especially stood out to us.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natalieb382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 22, 2022 via mobile

A wonderful theme park hotel, with great service, well sized rooms and great theming. Also a great location to walk to Europa park and with a great shuttle service to Rulantica that picks up just outside the lobby. The breakfast was fantastic. For those that want it, tea and coffee making facilities for the room can be requested.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TheTravelAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 8, 2022

We stayed one night in one of the "Africa suites"; the room was amazing and we specially liked the small, separate bedroom for the kids. The staff was outstanding (we've made an error while booking our tickets to the Europapark the next day and they corrected it free of charge; the next day my wife felt sick and was allowed to stay a bit longer in the room, etc.) and very friendly. We had dinner and breakfast in the Harborside self-service restaurant and were also very satisfied with the quality of the food and the drinks as well as the entertainment possibilities for the little ones. And another time we will even visit also only as a couple including a dinner in the fine dining restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NicolaB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2022

We stayed at the Hotel Bell Rock as a couple having stayed many times before and it never disappoints.

The check in was smooth and the man at the desk was very helpful. The room we stayed in was VERY cleans and was cleaned daily throughout our stay The bathrooms are well equipped and the shower has GREAT water pressure. The only thing the room lacks is a mini fridge. It would be a great addition, especially at the price of the room.

If you travel during summer, keep the window shades down as this did keep the room at a great temperature.

Although it was the french school holidays, we didn’t have a problem getting a space at the pool in the afternoon or a seat at The Spirit of St Louis bar in the evening.

Yes all the staff aren’t fluent in English, but newsflash….this hotel isn’t in England. Having said that, was h and everyone of them were really helpful.

The food at both restaurants are great and the cocktails and drinks in the bar were divine, there’s no pre mixed cocktails here.

All in all a great stay, I can’t knock a point off for the mini fridge but it would be nice.

Can’t wait to visit again 👍

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 969graemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews