We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa, perfectly situated.”

Review of Roz Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from terraced gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
view from terraced gardens
Terrace garden
Front Garden
BBQ and dining area by the pool
front lounge patio
sitting room
sitting room
Sitting room
Dining room
master bedroom
Master Bedroom  view
bedroom 5
Bedroom 3
Aghia Efimia
local beach
Myrtos Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Agia Efimia, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
snowsnow2...
London, United Kingdom
3 reviews
“Beautiful villa, perfectly situated.”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

A beautiful villa, very clean, wonderful facilities, lots of space, large pool. Fantastically situated just a short walk downhill into a largish village with bakery, butchers, lots of restaurants etc. Plus Paradise beach just the other side of the village where you can snorkle. Loads to do nearby. Quiet in May which was wonderful. Would definitly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn P
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely sublime”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I'm really not sure where to start with this review, so I'll start at the beginning! We booked this holiday a long long time ago, when I first put the countdown app on my phone it was something like 540 days away! But I was organizing a holiday involving people coming from Lancashire, Devon, and Chicago, so pre planning was essential! Vicky was so helpful throughout the whole process, working out the best dates for us, recommending a car hire company (Nikos and Katerina, great value and so helpful), it was actually far less stressful organizing than I thought it would be! So, the things you really want to know, this might be a long one....
The villa - the photos don't do it justice, this place is stunning. When we first got there, it was late at night, and we just walked around saying wow to each other. It is so tastefully decorated and beautiful, but it also really feels like a home, which means you just settle in and feel like you live there! (This makes it even harder to leave) There are many areas for people to sit, both in the sun and in the shade, so everyone's catered for. The pool is fabulous, big and very clean. The bedrooms are all lovely, bedroom choice depends on what you need, as we were there for two weeks, we took the first bedroom, which has the biggest en suite. My parents had the biggest room, which has the little balcony, and a big bathroom across the hall. My brother and his girlfriend had the top bedroom which has a small ensuite and a lovely little terrace. My partners son and his friend had the two smaller double bedrooms. We found the beds very comfortable and the air con in all the bedrooms was much appreciated! The villas kitchen has to be the best equipped holiday villa kitchen I have ever encountered, no struggling for extra cutlery or a steak knife! The villa is very private, there is another villa behind it, and a house behind and to the left, but they can't see you at all. The road is not a busy one. There is a great sound system in the villa, so you can listen to music outside by the pool, which is a very nice touch. Or you can have silence apart from the calling of a hawk and the sheep bells as they go up and down the hill each day....
The location - you are about ten minutes walk down the hill to Efimia, and 15 minutes back up. It's very doable, even for oldies (my parents, both in their 60's and struggling with their knees, cheerfully tottered down most nights, and as long as we took it slow and they were fortified by an ice cream and a cocktail beforehand, tottered back up again at the end of the night). To be honest, after you've eaten your own body weight in one of the restaurants, the walk back up the hill in the slightly cooler temperature is very nice. We also saw lizards, and even found a tortoise once night, which we wouldnt have done if we hadn't been meandering down the hill. You can get a taxi very easily back up the hill if needed, the restaurant will call one for you, or they hang around the square, so once you've had your ice cream you can just hop in one. You are spoilt for choice in Efimia, there are many restaurants. You just have to try them and find the ones you like. The two we absolutely loved were Sea Rock Restaurant, and Spiros. Sea Rock is further along the front, it is probably about a 30 minute walk from the villa, but well worth it. The staff are lovely, and the food is delightful. We went 4 times, I had something different each time, and all was spectacular. All of our party of 8 felt the same. The cats are very entertaining, and the view is unrivalled. Spiros is down on the front where the boats are, a bigger menu than Sea Rock, lots of choice, all delicious. Again the staff are very friendly, and the little piece of cake you get at the end of the meal is always delicious and finishes the meal perfectly. Great for people watching too. We ate here 3 times, all wonderful. We also ate at the local, which was okay, and had lunch at To Perasmo, which was nice, I would have liked to try dinner here one night if we'd had more time (and I hadn't been busy scoffing Spetzofai at Spiros....). The bakery on the corner does lovely ice cream, and the one of the nicest pizzas I have ever had. Delicious cakes too. We frequented the supermarket closest to the road down from the villa, with the trolleys outside, we found they had the best selection. And we liked the deli with the glass doors, we got all our bbq meat from there, and cheese. Great salads and taramasalata. I didn't catch his name, but the youngish guy in the white coat was very friendly and helpful. There is a good pharmacy too if you need anything. Fantastic cocktails at 1760, try a Flor de Pasion. Fun fact, this is one of two buildings left standing after the earthquake in 1953. You can see the other from the bar, its a beautiful derelict mansion across the bay with all the shutters closed. It would be amazing if done up (I spent a lot of time peering through the bars and renovating it in my head) but it belongs to a group of cousins who can't decide what to do with it.
Things to do / places to see - you are about 15 minutes from Sami, which we didn't much like, we preferred the slower pace of Efimia. However, on the way to Sami is a lovely free beach, right next to a taverna, on the left of the road. We went several times, great for snorkelling, plenty of parking, and a cold beer when you want one. Also a grassy area if you prefer shade. We recommend you see Fiskardo, about 45 minutes away, it is incredibly beautiful, lots of little shops to wander in and out of. Keep going along the front to Elli's to eat, it is on its own little beach so you can dip your toes while you wait for your delicious food. Then when the heat gets to you, head to Emblisi beach, very close to Fiskardo. Incredible setting (I'm running out of adjectives...) with parking, and a charming little beach shack selling drinks and snacks. I was surprised and delighted to find I had a choice of gins, and I'm pretty sure the sense of extreme happiness I feel when remembering Emblisi is down to the liberally unmeasured g & ts! We saw lots of fish while snorkelling here too. We visited Mellisani and Drogarati caves. Mellisani is very beautiful, and you get to go round it in a boat which was exciting. Go early to miss the coach trips. Drogarati was very interesting but its A LOT of steps. We went to Argostoli, an hour away, to see the turtles, they are definitely worth seeing, they're huge! Get there early-ish, about 10, to get the most turtle viewing time. This was a great hit with the whole family, and led to Tuesday being renamed 'Turtle Tuesday'. We ate at Tzivras, set back from the front, very unfussy, and very Greek. Their Pastitsio was the best I ever had. We visited Assos, about 30 minutes away, which is very pretty but there's not much to it. 4 brave souls walked up the castle, the other 4 (of which I was one) hunted down lunch. We ate at Nefeli Anaits, great food, lovely feta with figs and honey, and a seafood platter. After that we went to Myrtos beach, which I don't really recommend. Out of all the beaches we went to, although pretty, it was the busiest and the hardest to find shade for people that want it. The snorkelling was rubbish too, as it is more sandy the water is very cloudy. We found that one of our favourite things to do was to just climb into the water from any of the sets of steps you find along the sea front in Efimia, rocks to sit on, lovely clear water, lots of fish. We hired a boat from Yellow Boats, some of our group later hired one from Boulevard Boats. They are very similar, but I think they had a better time with Boulevard boats. You take the boat up the coast and can stop at any of the little beaches to swim. It was very nice, but we found it just as nice to grab pizza from the bakery and get in the water at the steps, and far cheaper, but it is an experience!
The team - Amanda, who manages the villa, drops in on you the day after you arrive, or the day of if it is not late, to meet you, check you are okay, answer any questions. She is very nice and very approachable, when we had a problem with the kettle we rang her and within 2 hours a new kettle arrived. So don't hesitate to get in touch with her, she's great. If you are there for more than a week you will probably encounter the cleaners, a very nice lady and gent. They don't speak English but are cheerful and unobtrusive. They do arrive early though, but just get on with it, so if you see him outside cleaning up when you wander out of your bedroom he's not just a random person who has appeared in the garden! A lady also comes by to check all the pool water, she rings the doorbell and is very friendly.
Points to note - get a good map, or bring your sat nav, the island doesnt have loads of roads, but its easy to get lost. We did. A lot.
Beach shoes are a must. If you haven't brought any then the shops on the front sell them for about 9 euros. You get what you pay for, but it was the best 9 euros I ever spent. Unless you have leather feet, the pebbles on the beaches hurt.
There is no need to spend lots of money on wine, the stuff in the plastic bottles is local, and very good. We were very happy you could buy 5 litre bottles of them, definitely worth trying.
Well, I think thats it. Possibly the longest review I have ever written, and there will be things I have forgotten that I should have said, but the most important thing is that this place is heaven, and you should absolutely stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a great & detailed review.... Much Appreciated!! more importantly thank you for mentioning the good
service you had from us; it was great to have you stay. We certainly look forward to your next booking & visit. Once again Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan3Swin...
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great villa but not toddler friendly”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Roz Villa is well presented, comfortable and has everything needed for a great holiday. The only downside is that the split level nature of the villa means there are steps between rooms that make it difficult with a toddler. The pool is great and the garden has lots of nice places to sit. The town is within easy walking distance and is a great place to eat out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for being great guests and for finding time to write the nice comments about our villa. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again should you return to Kefalonia, Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic villa, ideal location”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely villa with all mod cons and a beautiful garden. Just a short walk to the town where there are many tavernas, all overlooking the harbour.

Amanda was there to help with any problems (none) or advice where to visit.

It's our second year at Roz Vila and we have already booked for 2018, we decided to go for a month this time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Ralph, thank you for such a lovely review! We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PumbaLond...
London
1 review
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We travelled to Villa Roz in August. 2 adults and children aged 10, 9 & 7. It was exactly as described. Wonderful gardens, with little secluded terraces. Really nicely decorated. Comfortable beds, powerful showers. All in all very well equipped. A good sized pool, which was well maintained. Perfectly positioned: a 10 minute walk into the port, an hour from Fiskardo & Assos and local beaches within a 10 minute drive. One of the most relaxing fun filled weeks we have had. Completely private not over looked by any other properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect Position - wonderful views
Liked least: the wasps, but all over Kephalonia
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted1232
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa!”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a wonderful week we've just spent at Roz Villa in the pretty harbour village of Agia Efimia in Kefalonia!
Gorgeous villa, full of character, wonderful pool and very pretty gardens. Lovely sitting out areas and so quiet and peaceful and yet walkable to many lovely tavernas on the water's edge - just what we wanted!
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing