We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Personal Paradise in Anacapri” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giardino dell'Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Giardino dell'Arte
Ranked #3 of 37 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Personal Paradise in Anacapri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Il Giardino dell'Arte and had the most magical time. Franco, the owner, and his whole family, went out of their way to make us feel at home. After spending 40+ years working for a luxury hotel in Anacapri, Franco has the island wired and is happy to share his knowledge. Also, his English is impeccable for those who don't speak Italian. Each morning, Rafaella or Aurelia served us the most sumptuous breakfast in their lovely garden where we could peer at the sea in the distance. Great start to any morning. Then Franco would help us set off on adventures. We didn't rent a scooter and did most on foot or bus which was no problem. Anacapri is a special little gem where families congregate and enjoy the summer together. It's more laid back than Capri and offers a kicked back kind of fun. Very relaxing with lots of good hikes. While the B&B doesn't have a pool, Franco was able to make suggestions on where to swim. With such a gorgeous sea all around, that wasn't hard. We really enjoyed swimming at the lighthouse (il Farro) and then showered and changed there for dinner to watch the most magnificent setting sun. Il Giardino was truly the highlight of our trip and we left feeling so warmly about Franco and his entire family! We hope to return soon. As another hotelier said in Capri, "Franco? Sure, everyone knows Franco. He's part of the earth of the island." Vero. I encourage you to visit. PS. There's cable, wifi, minibar, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    46
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
238
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Carrollton, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

This place is like staying at your Granddad's place with a lovely garden. I had a good feeling about Franco from the moment we met him at the port in Capri. He came to pick up my mother, wife and me in his cart and he gave us a nice quick tour of everything between there and the hotel. I was very hot and thirsty from sitting in the sun on the ferry, so Franco shows me to the kitchen at the hotel, opens the fridge and puts two ice cold beers in my hands...instant friend! ;) The garden at the hotel is gorgeous and he obviously puts a lot of work into it. Each room has a private patio where you can sit and enjoy a very quiet and peaceful surrounding. Yes, you can see the neighboring room patios and their guests, but nobody will bother you unless you are feeling sociable and you want to talk. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Everything is done in tile, which i like very much. The only thing that I noticed was some mildew on the wall of the bathroom above the shower, which was probably due to insufficient ventilation, but this was a very small issue to us and I certainly would not call this a show-stopper. The breakfast that is served to you on your patio every morning is quite satisfying and delicious. It is not an American style breakfast, but I found it very filling and tasty. If you still feel peckish, there is a very nice grocery within five minutes walk of the hotel that sells everything from wine, beer, liquor, sandwich meat, bread and anything else you can think of at very reasonable prices. The two ladies who run the grocery will make sandwiches large enough to feed any appetite!

Anacapri is a wonderful place. You can walk anywhere, day or night, and feel very safe. There is much to see all around the island. Franco can arrange a boat ride around the island that is a very nice way to kill a couple of hours...give it a try on a nice sunny day! Don't miss the chair-lift while you are there. I wholeheartedly recommend Il Giardino dell'Arte and Anacapri for a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MD_scubanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Spent a few days at the giardino dell'arte and had an unforgettable holiday, the views from here are incredible, especially at breakfast time and sunset overlooking the Bay of Naples and the neighbouring island Ischia. Rooms are comfortable with excellent facilities and air con, and staying here is a little like staying with your own family, they certainly make you feel at home. The Capri Relax tour round the island in an old fishing boat also shouldnt be missed, a bit more expensive than the larger cheaper boat tours but the best money you'll ever spend. They will even collect you and drop you off at the port saving money on the incredibly expensive taxis. Totally recommended.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We booked directly with Franco the owner - we did not use Capri.net or any other booking site. Franco and his family took great care of us. Picked us up at the ferry and dropped us back there. Stayed 4 days. Anacapri is uncrowded and perfect for a base to use to explore the island. Small kids that cannot swim will only be able to use Marina Piccalo beach or Marina Grande beach - other beaches require good swimming skills. This bed and breakfast had excellent clean rooms, a nice breakfast and easy 10 minute walk to the town of Anacapri.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VooDooTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We absolutely loved this little slice of heaven. Great location about 10 minutes from Anacapri center, great view, great hospitality! Franco and his family made us feel like one of their own for these two days!

The property has a wonderful flower and fruit garden. We plucked and ate peaches, plums, and figs. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKALouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed at the Il Giardino Dell'Arte for just one night (our base was in sorrento for two weeks but this was an extra treat to stay for one night, as it was our Silver Wedding Anniverary). Anacapri is simply stunning and very welcoming. The hotel is absolutely amazing - Franco and his daughter making us feel most welcome and special. Franco was kind enough to collect us from the marina in his van, he made an evening meal reservation for us at the most wonderful restaurant, arranged for flowers to be at the restaurant at my husband's request. His hotel is fabulous - extremely pretty, clean and with brilliant views. The location is very pleasant and an easy stroll to the local piazzas/shops - with gorgeous sea views. We would love to have stayed longer and shall most definitely return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfenbuettel
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I was here with my brother and we simply could not have been more satisfied with our stay. Franco and his family bend over backwards to make their guests feel at home. He is a wealth of information and helpfulness in person. One is spoilt from beginning to end, Franco personally collects his guests from Marina Grande The setting is dreamlike: a magic garden with sea views, each of the 5 lovingly decorated rooms has a private terrace on which breakfast is served. Anacapri is a mere ten minutes on foot through the narrow streets of the oldest part of town. I could write a book recommending this place. We will be returning again...and again .. and again. Thankyou Franco

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.8 km away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.2 km away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
2.4 km away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino dell'Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino dell'Arte

Property: Il Giardino dell'Arte
Address: Via Traversa La Vigna 31b, Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Il Giardino dell'Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Dell'Arte Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing