We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, romantic, memorable”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful, romantic, memorable”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We honeymooned here and loved it! The views were amazing, the hotel staff was great, and the pool was nice! It was great to be a little away from the main part of town, which was still walkable, because we didn't have to deal with so many crowds. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We will love to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
132
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A few very avoidable things let this hotel down badly. The extremely long wait for lunch was negated by the friendly waiter and generous sized portions (the food itself was not particularly special). The room was clean and tidy, but had annoying flickering light bulbs which had to be unscrewed to ensure an undisturbed night’s sleep. The noise from the road wasn’t that bad, neither was the uphill walk to Anacapri for a supper. Breakfast was a real disappointment though, stale juice, a mouldy bread bun, rotten fruit and no cutlery for my cereal although the coffee was sublime. The greatest features about this hotel are the pool and the marvellous view of the sun setting and the constellations – hence the name!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a lovely little hotel on the outskirts of Anacapri, which is definitely better value than some of the other hotels on the island. The furnishings are minimal but very comfortable and the rooms are spotless. We choose a terrace with a seaview but hardly spent any time on the terrace, choosing to be around the pool or in town more.

While the pool area is small, it is never busy and has a great view. The food at the bar area is also very good, while the breakfast does not have many options.

On a side note, I would highly recommend the restaurant at the Caesar Augustus hotel and L'Olivo and would say to avoid Lemon Tree (Da Paulino) as i thought it a over-priced tourist trap.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting capri, however i would note, as others have, that it is a 12 euro cab into anacapri and a 25 euro cab into capri. They do offer a free car service, however this is not always available and stop at about 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was the last stop on our honeymoon and I found a real gem with the Orsa Maggiore. There are 2 towns on the island - Capri and Anacapri. Orsa Maggiore is in Anacapri - only about a 12 minute cab ride from Capri. Both towns are beautiful in their own way. Capri is busier with day trip tourists swarming around and all the designer shops. Anacapri is smaller and more intimate and at night time, its just people staying on the island that are around. The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel. Its decorated in a gorgeous way with lots of little touches. Our room was huge and had a very large terrace with sea view that stretched out to the horizon. They lay on a free shuttle service to take you anywhere on the island which is really handy but cabs are easy to get anyway. Make sure you take the chair lift up to the top of the island from the square in Anacapri - breathtaking! I am a really fussy hotel person and I could not fault this place. Cute, cosy and trendy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We travelled to Anacapri to celebrate a very special birthday. The hotel is a beautiful small hotel with many hidden gems throughout. First, it is visually soothing - everything bathed in soft whites. Second, the room was very clean and always smelled fresh. Third, the pool, solarium (which is hidden but so fun to find) and the spa (again hidden and magical once found) are outstanding. My criticism of the hotel would be 1) staff only sent us to tourist restaurants. There is only a small area for breakfast and no restaurant on site. 2) it is a bit off the main areas, so you need to take the bus anywhere you go. There is a hotel shuttle, but it is VERY limited - it only takes you to Anacapri center or Anacapri bus stop. Nothing else. This hotel is perfect for the newly wed couple. We had a teenager and while it was fun for us as we prefer exclusive small hotels, I think most teenagers would find it too serene. But I loved the fact that it was quiet and dignified.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

lovely, small, very elegant place far away from the "action" of capri (thank god) and also from the considerably smaller town of anacapri. take the bus (hold on!) into capri for the jazz of euro-chic but return to the comfort of OM. they couldn't have been more helpful, have their own pickup van from the ferry (which was a godsend) and can arrange for you to get transportation to the various restaurants on their side of the island. its just a beautiful spot overlooking the water and the italian coast. i think i would probably go bonkers if i stayed on the island for a week but the visuals are astounding and the ambiance magnificent.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed in 5 hotels before this, all in different parts of Italy, all on a budget. We decided because this was our last destination and it was Capri to splurge a little. I searched for a long time to find something that was incredible but still reasonable. We had already decided to rent moped so location was not an issue. When we arrived in Capri it was quite late and their shuttle service was not running so we had to take a very expensive taxi, not ideal, but not a huge deal. Just make sure to come a t a decent hour to take advantage of the free shuttle. We pulled up and just saw bliss. It was a garden oasis, amazing landscaping. We got all checked in at the sleek trendy reception. Then we were brought to our incredible room. We had the only room with out a view from our terrace but that's what we paid for. The room was trendy and well decorated. It had a flat screen Tv, mini bar, closet space, a electronic shade on the windows so from a push of a button you can keep your room pitch black all night and morning and just put it up when you get up, and all the bells and whistles. What was really amazing was the bathroom. It had a very large shower with two shower heads and tiling. It was very nicely decorated and a real treat. The rooms were incredibly clean. After so much traveling all we wanted to do was relax, and Orsa was the perfect place to do that. With it's over flowing pool, pool-side bar and lunch, solarium, cozy sitting areas, and plush gardens, it was hard not to relax. They helped us very much and were there to lend a hand with anything we needed. They had a complimentary car service on hand to shuttle us where every we needed to go. They recommended amazing trendy restaurants, make sure you make a reservation even if they tell you you don't have to because we made that mistake and ended up eating at a terrible restaurant. It was truly an incredible experience staying with them. The location is ideal if you want to do some serious relaxing. It may not be directly in Capri but the shuttle will bring you there. Also, it was right on the road to the Blue Grotto which you can be brought to also. Incase the shuttle isn't always around you should rent mopeds like we did. The roads are scary but it was worth it since the hotel is quite far from the main attractions.
We enjoyed this hotel very much, it was a true island oasis. It is worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFeFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.0 km away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.4 km away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
456 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
1.2 km away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing