We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for our honeymoon last year (August 2010) and still can't quite get over how amazing this hotel was! The room was fantastic, the pool was gorgeous, the view was breathtaking, the food was great, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the complimentary shuttle was perfect for getting up to the centre for dinner... Couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no1_drummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and cannot recommend it enough! Stunning rooms, amazing pool, beautiful continental breakfast, complementary shuttle service, tranquil location and breathtaking views! Definitely one of the best hotels in Anacapri!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thefinnintheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We honeymooned here and loved it! The views were amazing, the hotel staff was great, and the pool was nice! It was great to be a little away from the main part of town, which was still walkable, because we didn't have to deal with so many crowds. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We will love to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A few very avoidable things let this hotel down badly. The extremely long wait for lunch was negated by the friendly waiter and generous sized portions (the food itself was not particularly special). The room was clean and tidy, but had annoying flickering light bulbs which had to be unscrewed to ensure an undisturbed night’s sleep. The noise from the road wasn’t that bad, neither was the uphill walk to Anacapri for a supper. Breakfast was a real disappointment though, stale juice, a mouldy bread bun, rotten fruit and no cutlery for my cereal although the coffee was sublime. The greatest features about this hotel are the pool and the marvellous view of the sun setting and the constellations – hence the name!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheBlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a lovely little hotel on the outskirts of Anacapri, which is definitely better value than some of the other hotels on the island. The furnishings are minimal but very comfortable and the rooms are spotless. We choose a terrace with a seaview but hardly spent any time on the terrace, choosing to be around the pool or in town more.

While the pool area is small, it is never busy and has a great view. The food at the bar area is also very good, while the breakfast does not have many options.

On a side note, I would highly recommend the restaurant at the Caesar Augustus hotel and L'Olivo and would say to avoid Lemon Tree (Da Paulino) as i thought it a over-priced tourist trap.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting capri, however i would note, as others have, that it is a 12 euro cab into anacapri and a 25 euro cab into capri. They do offer a free car service, however this is not always available and stop at about 9pm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was the last stop on our honeymoon and I found a real gem with the Orsa Maggiore. There are 2 towns on the island - Capri and Anacapri. Orsa Maggiore is in Anacapri - only about a 12 minute cab ride from Capri. Both towns are beautiful in their own way. Capri is busier with day trip tourists swarming around and all the designer shops. Anacapri is smaller and more intimate and at night time, its just people staying on the island that are around. The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel. Its decorated in a gorgeous way with lots of little touches. Our room was huge and had a very large terrace with sea view that stretched out to the horizon. They lay on a free shuttle service to take you anywhere on the island which is really handy but cabs are easy to get anyway. Make sure you take the chair lift up to the top of the island from the square in Anacapri - breathtaking! I am a really fussy hotel person and I could not fault this place. Cute, cosy and trendy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We travelled to Anacapri to celebrate a very special birthday. The hotel is a beautiful small hotel with many hidden gems throughout. First, it is visually soothing - everything bathed in soft whites. Second, the room was very clean and always smelled fresh. Third, the pool, solarium (which is hidden but so fun to find) and the spa (again hidden and magical once found) are outstanding. My criticism of the hotel would be 1) staff only sent us to tourist restaurants. There is only a small area for breakfast and no restaurant on site. 2) it is a bit off the main areas, so you need to take the bus anywhere you go. There is a hotel shuttle, but it is VERY limited - it only takes you to Anacapri center or Anacapri bus stop. Nothing else. This hotel is perfect for the newly wed couple. We had a teenager and while it was fun for us as we prefer exclusive small hotels, I think most teenagers would find it too serene. But I loved the fact that it was quiet and dignified.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.4 km away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
991 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
1.0 km away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.7 km away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#9 of 18 in Anacapri
182 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orsa Maggiore

Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range: $324 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing