We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
173
117
43
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
117
43
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus by italian standards marina grande blue grotto swimming pool free shuttle monte solaro friendly hotel chair lift salami location is excellent exploring the island comfy bed family run croissants min walk visiting capri
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 375 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Went for our honeymoon and loved it!
- Amazing staff. Family ran. Sanjiva drove us to and from port (lovely guy). Pasquale runs the pool bar (super friendly) and Fabrizzio was our main guy at the front desk (super helpful and friendly. Helped us book at boat trip which was superb!)
- GREAT location. Highly recommend Anacapri! But this hotel is an amazing location - short walk (3-4 mins) to start of the stores/restaurants, chair lift trip is 5 min walk, bus stop is 5 min walk.
- Pool is amazing! So refreshing and the bar is such a lovely addition
- Rooms are basic but in a good way, also nice and clean
- Breakfast is really nice and always well maintained
- Price is good also!
- Would definitely go back!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank smiff75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

Overall, Hotel Carmencita was nice given the price. The first night, we stayed in a middle room with a photo of a window painted on the wall. However, there was some noisy neighbors so sleeping the first night was a bit rough. The owner provided a half bottle of wine for the second night and our room was one with a window/balcony facing the pool.

Bathrooms were a but small and the curtain frequently stuck to your body. (I'm 5'9" 155 pounds)

The staff was very courteous and there was transportation provided to the hotel from the port. Returning to the port, using the hotel transportation, cost 3.5 euro per person.

I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kihai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

A good decision to stay in Anacapri instead of crowded and touristy Capri.Enhanced further by our decision to stay at Carmencita.

Satish was there to pick us up at Marina Grande and after a quick check in and friendly chat with Fabrizio we were shown up a few steps to our room.The place looks like a home and the room like your bedroom back home.Colourful blue handcrafted tiles,pleasing upholstery, comfy bed give it a very homey homey look.The attached balcony looks out at the swimming pool.The breakfast is good with breads,croissant,coffee,salami- 2 types,and one day excellently prepared eggs with bacon.

The location is excellent...just next to the bus stop and across the street to the beautiful shopping area which has a heady fragrance of sweet smelling flowers.The church with the fabulous tiled flooring, Villa San Michelle,and chairlift a 10 min walk away.

Down the road is Aum Aum a reasonably priced eatery with a wood fired oven which is very popular with the locals.They have a very friendly staff who on request even sing and dance to a popular Italian song with you!

The owners are most helpful and his tip that we go see the blue grotto around 2 pm was priceless.We got to see the grotto in all its splendour and without a wait of even few minutes.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a bigger balcony than the rest.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepalidas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Our ski club stayed here and had a wonderful experience. Fabrizio put out a great spread for our welcome reception on arrival. He and his family worked very hard to make our stay memorable. Staying in Anacapri was a good choice and a great location close to their main Piazza and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ndduquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2017

All hotels will give you a room and a bathroom, bu not so many will give you an experience. I booked 2 rooms at the hotel Carmencita, one for me and my childrean and one for my parents. Signor Francesco came to pick us up at Marina grande with the hotel car and was love at first sight: we spoke about history of the island, places to visit, why to go or not to go in this season to a certain place because of hiw the weather or the sea had been: all these insider advices (which proved to be right) that no travel book or Tourist guide would ever be able to tell.
Family run, Super clean accomodation, cosy rooms (we are in Capri, even cars are small here and property is the most expensive in Italy) . Rooms are well equipped with large window (yahoooooooooooooooooooooo), a balcony, clean and functional bathroom, plenty of towels, air conditioning and flat screen tv.
The window was so big that the room got inundated by light but real thick shutters: ''My house must be open to the sun, to the wind, and the voice of the sea, just like a Greek temple, and light, light, light everywhere!" (A. Munthe).
I saw 2 rooms and the 2 of them have hand decorated floor tiles, with a different pattern for each room, a rarity in today's world. My daughter spent hours drawing again and again these patterns. Emotions!
The location is excellent, 10 meters away from the stop of the buses to everywhere in the island, including the grotta azzurra. Furthermore you cross the street and find a quite new and well kept playground, with local kids. Priceless!
The centre of Anacapri, with shops and restaurants on a pedestrian street, is on the other side of the playground. Villa San Michele, the Monte solaro chairlift are within walking distance; i recommend to have some hand made sandals done by a local skilled artisan, while you visit rpthe Monte Solaro. Unforgettable.
Prices: clearly we were in a low peak-ish season, but was more than reasonable, it also included the transfer from the port, which saved us a rip off from the local taxi drivers. We were also receiving a couple of good espresso at breakfast and the only regret was not to have tasted the limoncello home made by Signor Francesco. We missed the opportubity for an experience.
Breakfast was very good and with a variety of choices, from fruits to Italian salami, from fresh, warm, croissants to bread rolls. We had eggs one day. They were not Plain eggs, but an omelett with some incredibly tasty spice or vegetable, cheese and a bit of bacon or salami: memorable.
I saw some review with a guy complaining about the facts that eggs were not there everyday, again Signor Francesco released some insider information: "dotto' (a title of courtesy in southern Italy) we only do it when we have a good quantity of eggs from our hens"...and again the thin line between supplying a standard service vs providing an experience gets crossed again!
Thanks to Signor Francesco Nd SignorFabrizio for the great opportunity, we will surely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews