We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colossus
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Star Castle(St Mary's)
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Karma St. Martin's(St Martin's)
US$375
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$136
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Success Inn(Sennen Cove)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooners Hotel(Hugh Town)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Rock Hotel(St Mary's)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Atlantic Inn(St Mary's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
103
17
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
17
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bself catering apartmentisles of scillyold townhugh towncomfortable basea lovely place to stayshort walksteep stepscontinental breakfastclose to townquiet locationfriendly welcomehome from homeensuite roommain townabbey gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We only stopped one night in St Mary's after we'd stayed on an off island. We loved this B&B. Carmen was very friendly and helpful, giving us tips and answering any questions we had. But this wasn't at all intrusive. The room was immaculate as was the private bathroom. We had a really good breakfast the next morning before we left. I'd stay here again and recommend to any other travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely talking to you both and we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We stayed at the Colossus for three nights on our first trip to the Isles of Scilly. The location is conveniently close to Hugh Town's harbour and the main town but also a good place from which to set out to the east of St Mary's. Our double room was spacious and bright, with nice decor and an immaculate ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was always highly satisfactory.

Our hostess was warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. She was considerate in dealing with any questions or special requests we had, and also was quick to offer handy and practical tourist tips. She also sells delicious homemade chocolate.

This won't be out last trip to Scilly afer the wonderful stay we had, and the Colossus certainly helped shape the favourable impression we now have of this unique place.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This is our 6th visit to the Scillies but our 1st stay at Colossus. It is situated just out of the main ' town' just off the Old Town Rd and about 5 - 10 minutes walk of the main area. Very restful and quite. Carmen made us most welcome and made sure we knew how to use the facilities including wi-fi. We had the room which had the sole use of the bathroom just across the hall. Bathrobes were provided and we had no problem with the arrangement. Whether you go by boat or fly you can have your luggage delivered which is a great plus. Carmen and Todd are divers and there are great examples of their finds in the breakfast room. We were on the islands this time for birdwatching and the location was excellent to walk to various places on St Marys and only 10 minutes to the boats for the off islands. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Thanks for your kind comments. It would lovely to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Go to the Isles of Scilly, they are lovely.
Go by sea, feel alive
Stay at Colossus, you won't be disappointed.
Visit two or three islands, save others for next time
Book a table at Juliet's, walk the coast path around St Mary's before dinner at sunset.Wow

Room Tip: There are three rooms, one of which is an s/c flat
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TonyBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Thanks for kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

This was our first time on the Isles on Scilly. We didnt know much about the place, what to do or where to eat. However within 20 minutes of being at Colusses Carmen told us everything! She gave us so much advice and information daily which helped us to walk round 6 islands in 4 days!
The accomodation was beautifully decorated with everything you would need. The breakfast was lovely. Everything we wanted. Cereal, juice and the choice of continental, full fry up or scrambled eggs with salmon.

Such a friendly and lovely place with a short walk from the town centre (it is up a hill but we were happy with this!)

Im so sad to be back and cant wait to go again. I would definitely go back to Colossus. Thank you Carmen

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilesy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon - may this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews