We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
109
19
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
19
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering apartment isles of scilly old town hugh town en suit a lovely place to stay steep steps ensuite room short walk great holiday close to town continental breakfast quiet location friendly welcome local knowledge main town home from home
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 130 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2016

We only stopped one night in St Mary's after we'd stayed on an off island. We loved this B&B. Carmen was very friendly and helpful, giving us tips and answering any questions we had. But this wasn't at all intrusive. The room was immaculate as was the private bathroom. We had a really good breakfast the next morning before we left. I'd stay here again and recommend to any other travellers.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely talking to you both and we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2015

We stayed at the Colossus for three nights on our first trip to the Isles of Scilly. The location is conveniently close to Hugh Town's harbour and the main town but also a good place from which to set out to the east of St Mary's. Our double room was spacious and bright, with nice decor and an immaculate ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was always highly satisfactory.

Our hostess was warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. She was considerate in dealing with any questions or special requests we had, and also was quick to offer handy and practical tourist tips. She also sells delicious homemade chocolate.

This won't be out last trip to Scilly afer the wonderful stay we had, and the Colossus certainly helped shape the favourable impression we now have of this unique place.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

This is our 6th visit to the Scillies but our 1st stay at Colossus. It is situated just out of the main ' town' just off the Old Town Rd and about 5 - 10 minutes walk of the main area. Very restful and quite. Carmen made us most welcome and made sure we knew how to use the facilities including wi-fi. We had the room which had the sole use of the bathroom just across the hall. Bathrobes were provided and we had no problem with the arrangement. Whether you go by boat or fly you can have your luggage delivered which is a great plus. Carmen and Todd are divers and there are great examples of their finds in the breakfast room. We were on the islands this time for birdwatching and the location was excellent to walk to various places on St Marys and only 10 minutes to the boats for the off islands. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Thanks for your kind comments. It would lovely to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Go to the Isles of Scilly, they are lovely.
Go by sea, feel alive
Stay at Colossus, you won't be disappointed.
Visit two or three islands, save others for next time
Book a table at Juliet's, walk the coast path around St Mary's before dinner at sunset.Wow

Room tip: There are three rooms, one of which is an s/c flat
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TonyBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Thanks for kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2015

This was our first time on the Isles on Scilly. We didnt know much about the place, what to do or where to eat. However within 20 minutes of being at Colusses Carmen told us everything! She gave us so much advice and information daily which helped us to walk round 6 islands in 4 days!
The accomodation was beautifully decorated with everything you would need. The breakfast was lovely. Everything we wanted. Cereal, juice and the choice of continental, full fry up or scrambled eggs with salmon.

Such a friendly and lovely place with a short walk from the town centre (it is up a hill but we were happy with this!)

Im so sad to be back and cant wait to go again. I would definitely go back to Colossus. Thank you Carmen

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilesy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Sorry for my delayed response to your review. Such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon - may this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews