We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temagami Canoe Trip Outfitting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge
New York City, New York
1 review
“Temagami Canoe Trip Outfitting”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Smoothwater did a great job outfitting our 8 day canoe trip this August, 2014 in Temagami. This is my third time using them over the last 10 years and they're reliable, friendly and priced fairly. They also went above and beyond dropping us off at our starting point and picking us up at the end. This year we also had our food outfitted - Johanna did a great job - very tasty!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I were planing a 3 day camping trip on Temagami before picking up our son from Langskib. Before leaving Toronto we realized that the weather forcast was going to be some of the worst weather the summer has seen with too much cold and rain to enjoy camping. We still wanted to get away from the city and luckily stumbled upon Smoothwater. We wanted a place to stay that would be comfortable and cozy while it poured rain outside and it was exactly that. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The common room was a perfect place to just lay around and read while still being able to look at the beautiful surroundings through the floor to ceiling windows.

The food Johanna made for us for breakfast, and especially dinner, was warm, comforting and absolutely delicious! I own a successful bakery in Toronto so you must believe me when I say that not only was the dinner lovingly prepared but the dessert was to die for! I rarely eat dessert when dining out but I practically licked the plate from Johanna's flourless chocolate cake!

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we were made to feel welcome and at home. We would surely return!

Room Tip: Bear Den for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday which was flawlessly handled by the Smoothwater people. John is a truly delightful gentleman. He showed us all the equipment in detail and provided insightful advice and information for our trip. Johanna did an amazing job in providing and organizing delicious, nutritious meals, easily accommodating our request for a vegetarian menu. In general, she does an incredible job executing her considerable responsibilities, which is especially impressive for such a young woman! Our experience was entirely positive and something we will always remember.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was my third stay at Smoothwater (the first two with my family, this time solo) and I am happy to recommend it. The rooms are clean and comfortable (each with its own name and decor), and the food is wonderful. Smoothwater has been preparing meals using fresh, local ingredients long before it became trendy. Johanna's warm chocolate brownie with walnuts and wild blueberries was to die for! Dinners are at a shared table, and guests come from around the world, which adds to the experience. You can relax in a hammock or by the dock, or ask for advice on local day trips for hiking and canoeing. Thanks to all the hard-working staff!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Sweetwater. Our experience was awesome (except for that weather!) from start to finish. Johanna made delicious meals, including an exceptionally memorable braised leg of lamb for our anniversary dinner, and gave us great daytripping advice. The dinners/breakfasts we had with other guests had a great vibe and there was lots of excellent conversation.

We stayed in Bear Den, a turqoise-painted room with charming cross-stitched portraits and a retro-awesome tapestry. The room was stocked with extra blankets and pillow, and everything was very tidy and neat. We also enjoyed the sauna, which had a very conveniently placed dock close by.

Loon calls were a daily occurrence, and we saw beavers and other animals from the main dock. The abandoned iron/pyrite mine was fun to check out, and there were many other lakes a relatively short portage away.

We would definitely go back. We really enjoyed our time at Smoothwater and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisela_Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Francis responded quickly to my emails and gave the advice we needed to plan our 5 day wilderness canoe trip from Florence Lake, down Lady Evelyn River, past numerous waterfalls, and out at Mowat Landing. We went with the complete outfitting package (equipment & food).

My wife and I arrived at Smoothwater Outfitters Lodge. Our room was clean and tidy. We enjoyed an awesome dinner prepared by Johanna.

John did a great job of carefully reviewing and demonstrating our equipment. Smoothwater included outfitting equipment that we didn't know existed (and wouldn't want to do without again).

Johanna prepared our food plan for the 5 day trip, neatly packaged and labelled everything in our food barrel, and went through the printed menu and gave instructions on how to cook the special foods.

Francis made sure we got to the float plane in Temagami on time, and picked us on time at Mowat Landing at the end of our trip.

We enjoyed another fine meal by Johanna at the lodge, a great night sleep in our room, breakfast in the morning, and then were on our way back home.

The atmosphere at the lodge was warm and friendly. We had a wonderful experience and recommend Smoothwater Outfitters to anyone! Go with the complete package, and sure to tap into Francis' extensive Temagami canoe tripping experience and expert advice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I wanted to incorporate a trip up north to enjoy the fall colours with an activity. We found the perfect pairing! We spent a day at Smoothwater Lodge in Temagami. What a perfect way to spend a few hours. We signed up for the Looking and Cooking with Edibles. Caryn, the owner of Smoothwater took us just steps from the lodge where we walked through the beautiful woods. She was quite knowledgeable on the various plants that we came across. How to identify them and whether or not they are edible. After a few hours we can back with a bounty of goodies. We cooked a lovely lunch together and enjoyed it on her deck. Who knew that you could make pork dumplings seasoned with pine needles! The food, company and setting was outstanding. We came all the way from Toronto and it was definitely worth the trip. We hope to come back again. Thanks Caryn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temagami
12.6 km away
Northland Paradise Lodge
Northland Paradise Lodge
#5 of 11 in Temagami
8 reviews
31.1 km away
Ridgewood Cottages
Ridgewood Cottages
#3 of 11 in Temagami
26 reviews
31.7 km away
Leisure Inn Hotel
Leisure Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haileybury
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Wilson Lake Cottages
Wilson Lake Cottages
#11 of 11 in Temagami
9 reviews
34.5 km away
Edgewater Motel and Campground
Edgewater Motel and Campground
#5 of 8 in Temiskaming Shores
22 reviews
17.9 km away
Frontiersman Motel
Frontiersman Motel
#2 of 2 in Latchford
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge

Property: Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge
Address: 34 Smoothwater Rd, Temagami, Ontario P0H 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Temagami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Temagami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoothwater Outfitters & Lodge Temagami, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing