We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing and luxurious get away from it all”

Review of Mumbles Stays

Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
'Tea Tree' kitchen 'Tea Tree' bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
'Tea Tree' kitchen
'Tea Tree' bathroom
'Tea Tree' verandah
'Tea Tree' master bedroom
'Tea Tree' exterior
Autumn colour from 'Tea Tree' balcony
Sunset over the dam
'Paperbark' interior
'Paperbark' kitchen
'Paperbark' bathroom
'Paperbark' spa
'Paperbark' exterior
Gazebo over the water
The dam at nightfall
Bridge to 'Willows' secluded picnic area
Adorable alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Balingup, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gbd99
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing and luxurious get away from it all”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Modern and beautifully furnished accommodation with quality fittings and equipment throughout. Some very thoughtful touches like chocolates and bubbly on arrival.

A wonderful place to relax, drink good coffee, have a spa or a sauna and play chess in the middle of the lake as the sun goes down.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Thank you for the review; thanks for coming. The chess was only installed on the day of your arrival. We started on some more improvements today - you'll have to come back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montagu31...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic.. peaceful ..exquisite accommodation”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Paperbark .... exquisite accommodation for 2 .... lots of thoughtful extras and great attention to detail. Peaceful surroundings and total quiet ... this is a special place to come to for quality time with your loved one. Hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in
Liked least: Tree hiding light
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
It sounds as though it was worth your long trip :-) Thank you very much; we look forward to seeing you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparklyro...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High standard all round”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Tea Tree for a couple of nights and never felt inclined to leave the place, so peaceful and relaxing. Loved the spa & sauna, just magic! We will be returning here without question to recharge the batteries.
Thank you Rita & Colin for your attention to detail in providing such amazing accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa & Sauna
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thanks folks - we're on "trickle charge" all the time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rtwomey
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home to Brisbane from a visit to WA and spent a couple of days at Mumbles during our travels. What a wonderful surprise! The hosts, Colin & Rita were very hospitable in a non-intrusive way, and the two level apartment was spacious and beautifully furnished. The hosts thought of everything, including a lot of little extras not normally supplied, which made our stay so comfortable and memorable.
We just loved that area around Mumballup, rolling hills and valleys, wonderful for short or long walks and plenty of wineries to visit. Our apartment had great views across a valley from both levels, the upper level even had a large spa, sauna, shower and outdoor table and chairs – as with the rest of the apartment, everything was in top condition.
The property includes two large dams, one with decking over the water, the other with a gazebo for outdoor BBQs. Just lovely for relaxing and observing the wildlife, including four very cute Alpacas.
We have promised ourselves to return for a longer stay next time, and highly recommend Mumbles to anyone visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment and location
Liked least: Having to hand the keys back!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review - glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, when you decide to explore more of what Mumbles and the South West has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B
Byford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Tea Tree for 2 nights. One of the most beautiful places I think we have ever stayed. Peaceful and full of bird life. We had a picnic under the willow trees, guys what a little gem that spot is, a real credit to the owners. Can't wait to come back again and see how the dam has developed. The reeds will make a great habitat for more birds and frogs alike. Would love to see some mood lighting around the spa, maybe some solar fairy lights? Certainly among the top places to stay on my list. Thank you so much Col and Rita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity and peacefulness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Mumbles will never be perfect but we keep trying! The mood lighting for the "Tea Tree" spa has been moving up the list while we finished other projects like the "Willows".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honestrev...
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, romantic & just beautiful.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over the WA Day long weekend for our anniversary & loved every second. From the moment we arrived, Rita & Colin made us feel very welcome, showed us around our accommodation & how everything worked etc. They really have thought of everything you could possibly want/need for a relaxing break away & we couldn't fault the chalet or location at all. Even the lovely touch of Ritas home made aromatherapy sprays & soaps, which were beautiful! It was lovely to have the choice of being inside in the lovely warm living room, out in the private garden, up on the romantic deck in the spa or sauna or even out by one of the two dams on the property both equally as lovely as each other. We've been to a few other places for a relaxing weekend away, but Mumbles certainly beats them all. We both left feeling completely relaxed, hadn't had to worry about a thing the entire weekend... only that we couldn't stay longer! Can't wait for our next visit. Thank you so much, Rita & Colin; Mumbles really is a credit to you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookingfo...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful solitude”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I visited for a rainy weekend and loved the views across the valley while sitting in the hot tub. We took an evening stroll up the Bibbiumun track which runs right by Mumbles. It is a wonderful spot to just relax.

We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing