We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$256
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$256
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$256
Booking.comUS$270
Agoda.comUS$272
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
290
91
25
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
91
25
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smiths beach bedroom ocean view deli cafe on site restaurant the kitchen margaret river walk along the beach stunning beach great pool clothes line living area gas fire luxury stay bunk beds large balcony min walk self contained
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 420 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2021

Great apartments. Helpful reception. Opposite the beach and a wonderful upmarket food store/ restaurant underneath which had limited opening hours but great food. Pool was fabulous. Really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Hofmann, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2021

Dear drgrun,

thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay, indeed we are very fortunate to be across from the beach and I will certainly share your compliments to our colleagues and the restaurant.

We are looking forward having you back at Smiths Beach Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven Hofmann
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2021 via mobile

Had absolute indulgence for over a week in a one bedroom apartment where I needed for nothing.
A big bath, warming aircon, Tele and wine! Hid away and was amazing! Breakfast at Lamont’s … and purchased pre packed meals… and more wine! Occasionally left to go into Dunsborough for a few essentials! Or on the doorstep walks along the beach … If ever you get a chance luxuriate in the king bed with crisp sheets, fluffy towels and if you use the kitchen, everything is provided!!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank susansA4202GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Hofmann, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2021

Dear susansA4202GD,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your long stay at Smiths Beach Resort and your visit to The Margaret River Region.

We strive to be the best accommodation offering in the South West. It fills me with joy that you enjoyed your stay and your overall experience in our special part of the world.

Please come back and visit us soon. You are most welcome.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hofmann
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2021

We have spent a week at Smiths Beach Resort and we cannot fault the property. The rooms are well appointed, large and comfortable. The location is excellent being so close to the beach, surf, lookouts and in the heart of the wine and art region. There is so much to do with only a few minutes driving. Having a restaurant on the property is another bonus.
The beds are very comfortable, the staff are wonderful and the property is very well managed. We will return from New Zealand when there is less risk of being stranded again.

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kiwisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Hofmann, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

Dear Kiwisfly,

Thank you for taking the time to review Smiths Beach Resort following your most recent stay. A review such as yours encourages our entire team to strive for excellence. We value your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon again from New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Steven Hofmann
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2021

I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom beach shack at Smiths Beach Resort. The apartment was very well designed and laid out with good views of the beach. Its very expensive but if you want to get away, this is the place.

Date of stay: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Hofmann, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

Dear Anthony M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a wonderful review about your stay at Smiths Beach Resort!

We all sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to Smiths Beach Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Steven Hofmann
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2021 via mobile

We booked months ago and requested a 2pm check in and a room with ocean views - we received neither. Ok, maybe that wasn’t possible but we can say that the staff here are either very rude or invisible.

We arrived after 2pm and were told our room wasn’t ready, ok, not a problem, could we use a bathroom after travelling a long distance? No, we were refused the use of any bathroom and told to drive up the road to the beach and find the public toilets !!

So not a great start! There was no greeting, welcome to the area, what would you like to see in the area, nothing, just a very cold and impersonal-here’s your key from Reception. They did upgrade us to a an apartment - we didn’t ask, we assume very few people are staying here, hence the upgrade.

Staff in the restaurant and Deli were also rude and indifferent- I’m not sure why?

The room itself was nice, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom was big and beautiful. Was it clean - in places yes, but the concrete stairs were covered in sand. They obviously don’t vacuum the apartments thoroughly in between stays. There was absolutely no view from our apartment- we looked straight into another apartment.

There is no room service, no servicing of your room, at all, and no service at all from staff.

We paid a premium price, no discount, for our stay and we were underwhelmed and very disappointed.

Don’t pay the money, stay somewhere else where you might receive better service, or any service!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 12coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam McWhirter, Owner at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2021

Dear 12coco,
We aim to exceed all guest expectations and our apologies are extended that you did not enjoy your overall experience.
I have reviewed your reservation details and note that you chose to reserve our lead in One Bedroom Beach Shack at the appropriate price and also decided against the option of daily housekeeping at $40 per room per day. We are very clear in how we advertise our Beach Shack product. The Shack is a budget cottage and is separate/next to Smiths Beach Resort. It does not have the same standard as, and is not affiliated with, Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Guests still have access to the resort facilities. All rooms that offer an ocean view have the term ocean view in the room name. As we are clear in our room descriptions, images, virtual tours and videos we find it very strange that you were unaware that you were reserving a room type that did not offer an ocean view.
We noted that you had listed your estimated room arrival time at 2pm. As our standard room check in is from 3pm our apologies are extended that your room was not ready for your occupancy until 2.08 pm and you did not return to collect your room keys until 2.18pm. I was however pleased to learn that you were afforded a complimentary room upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment in the Small Luxury Hotel of the world section of the hotel. During the period of your stay our property was operating at over 74% occupancy and unfortunately we were not in a position to accommodate your request to be complimentary upgraded several room types to Ocean View Villa. These Villa's were selling well over the $1000 rate per night.
My apologies are extended that you were let down by the service afforded to you during your check in experience and also at Lamont's Smiths Beach. Your feedback has been discussed directly with the Guest Relations Manager that assisted you with your check in and your feed back has been provided to Kate Lamont AM the owner of Lamont's Smiths Beach. We normally pride ourselves on our service so your comments are very concerning.
Your housekeeping feedback has been provided to our Executive Housekeeper. Please rest assured that this is not indicative of our usual standards. It was pleasing to learn that you found your villa nice, with a comfortable bed , big and beautiful bathroom. Had you advised that you preferred daily housekeeping we may have provided you with these options to accommodate this preference.
Once again it is disappointing that you did not enjoy your experience. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our special part of the world on your next visit to The Margaret River Region.
Kind Regards,
Adam McWhirter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews